Overviews and Analysis

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Detailed descriptions of companies, industries, and mutual funds.

Best place to go for a broad overview of an industry. See the sections on "Capital Markets" and "Consumer Finance" in the Industries section.

Mergerstat Review

Ref. HD 2741 .M48 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Annual statistics and information on publicly announces mergers, acquisitions, an divestitures. Provides statistical analysis of activity and data by industry and geography and includes twenty-five years of summary statistics and largest announcements in history.

See also:

How do I find investment analysts' reports?

Where can I find rankings of financial institutions?

Where can I find investment bank league tables?

How can I get a list of deals by investment bank?

Companies

America's Corporate Finance Directory

Ref. HG 4057 .A167 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Annual profiles of large-cap U.S. public and private companies and large subsidiaries of foreign companies. Information includes key executives, financial data, and listings of outside service firms. Index included for individuals by financial responsibility.

Directory of M & A Intermediaries

Ref. HD 2746.5 .D495 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Annual directory of investment banks, business brokers, law firms, and other intermediaries worldwide. Contains articles on the current state of the mergers and acquisitions sector and rankings.

List of Investment Banks

A convenient list with links to the Wikipedia entries. The entries generally link to the banks' Web sites.

Standard & Poor's Security Dealers of North America

Ref. HG4907 .S42 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Semiannual directory of brokers, distributors, underwriters, and dealers listed geographically. Includes separate listing for foreign offices, discontinued firms, and major worldwide exchanges and associations.

Directory of Pension Funds and Their Investment Managers

Ref. HG 4509 .D56 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Annual directory of funds and investment managers. Includes rankings by assets and funds under management. Investment managers are listed by type of activity.

Careers, Associations and Events

Investment Adviser Association

Membership includes investment advisor firms that work with a wide range of institutional and individual clients. ICAA promotes and represents the profession before legislative and regulatory bodies.

Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association (SIFMA)

SIFMA is a trade association for securities firms. Site includes a list of members with links to their home pages, articles, and issue briefs.

Vault Online Career Library

In-depth industry guides including internship information, career advice and user-generated content on companies and career issues. HBS alumni version available via eBaker. 

Industries & Professions: information on careers and interviewing in leveraged finance, investment banking, investment management, private wealth management, and sales and trading.

Bloomberg

Current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures for both international and domestic markets.

Search for jobs in many parts of the financial sector by title and geographic location. Type "JOBS" and hit the GO button.

CFA Institute

Certifying organization for Chartered Financial Analysts (CFA). Much of the site is limited to members, but includes information on educational programs and events.

CFA Institute Events

Annual conference and other professional programs offered throughout the world by Chartered Financial Analysts Institute.

Financial Industry Regulatory Authority: Conferences & Events

Information on annual conference and other educational programs.

Global Association of Risk Professionals

Much of the site is limited to members, but includes information on events and jobs.

Glocap

Locate investment professional positions in private equity, leveraged buyout, venture capital, hedge fund and asset management firms, from analyst to general partner. Jobs in all parts of the U.S., Canada, and in major cities in Europe and Asia.

News and Journals

Institutional Investor.com

International finance research and information, including team rankings, league tables, rankings on deals, hedge funds, asset management, and securities firms.

U.S. and International editions provide news from the financial and investment services industry. Includes rankings often referenced by professionals in the financial sector. For Rankings, follow the "Publications" link for either edition, then look for the link to "Rankings Archive."

Investment Dealers' Digest

Weekly articles on issues of interest to the industry as well as listings of new equity and debt issues and securities in registration. Reports many league tables and rankings often referenced by professionals in the financial sector.

Journal of Portfolio Management

Journal of Portfolio Management is one major institutional investing journals and its research is focused on asset allocation, performance measurement, market trends, risk management, and portfolio optimization. Published quarterly.

Pensions & Investments

Biweekly publication for the money management sector covering funds, markets, technology, and regulation. Includes annual listings such as The P&I 1,000 Largest Retirement Plans by total assets and an archive of the Databook for various year-end rankings.

Financial Times: Investment Banking

Collection of analysis and news from the Financial Times.

Mergers & Acquisitions

Monthly publication reporting on pending deals and corporate restructuring. Lists deal announcements and completed deals by industry. Good for overviews of M&A's by industry and topic. February issue includes league tables and summary of previous year's M&A deals.

Buyouts

Bimonthly newsletter for managed buyouts, leveraged acquisitions, and special situations. Quarterly coverage of deals, funds raised, and league tables.