Biotechnology
- Overviews and Analysis
-
Biotechnology Industry Organization
Features highlights and news on the sector.BioWorld Biotechnology State of the Industry Report
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HD 9999 .B442 B58 in the Stamps Reading Room
This annual publication provides industry analysis, financial data and information on transactions, product development, and stock performance.Ernst & Young Industries: Biotechnology
Current analysis of the industry from strategic, accounting and regulatory perspectives.Frost & Sullivan
Analysis of trends, issues, and markets in biotechnology and other areas.MarketResearch.com Academic
Provides reports from several market research firms. Strong in all aspects of life science, including biotechnology.Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Best for a broad overview. Click on "Industries" in the top navigation bar, and select "Biotechnology" from the "Industry Surveys" drop-down menu.Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering
A repository of the biomedical engineering (BME) knowledge base that integrates engineering, science, biology, computational and informational sciences, psychology, medicine, and health care and defines new concepts within biomedical engineering. Technologies discussed include microsensors and nanosensors, nanophase materials, electrochemical biosensors, microfluidics, orthopedic implant replacements, semiconductor implantable prosthetic devices, substrate arrays of microarrays, and gene-expression profiling. - Regulation
-
International Organizations and Foreign Government Agencies
List maintained by the FDA of international and national food, drug, and health regulatory agencies.Journal of Biolaw and Business
Check Harvard availability
Published monthly. Provides information on specialized areas of law that affect the research, development, and commercialization of biotechnology with an emphasis on the global biotech landscape.NIH Office of Technology Transfer (OTT)
Find information on licensing policies, licensing process, opportunities, presentations and articles, and more.Patent Lens
By CAMBIA, an independent, international non-profit institute. This search engine retrieves biotechnology patents, with links to PDFs from the U.S., Europe, Australia and World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).Patent, Trademark and Copyright Information
Provided by the Boston Public Library.United States Regulatory Agencies Unified Biotechnology
Combined site of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the Environmental Protection Administration, and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. - Companies
-
BioScan
Check Harvard availability
Ref. TP 248.17 .B56 in the Stamps Reading Room
Published bimonthly. Provides global listing of biotech firms, information on facilities, private placements, principal investors, business and R&D strategies, alliances, major products and new products.See also How can I create a list of companies by industry, location, and/or size? and Where can I get lists of fast growing companies?
- Careers, Associations and Events
-
Careers
HBS MBA students please see MBA Career & Professional Development.
HBS Alumni please see Alumni Career & Professional Development.BioSpace
Great career site for biotechnology. Includes industry news, career network, event calendar, career fairs, company profiles and hotbeds; identifies hotbed geographic areas for life science industry.BioWorld Executive Compensation Report
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HD.4965.3.B56.B56 in the Stamps Reading Room
Provides complete salary, bonus, and market capitalization data and rankings of six top-level job titles.FierceBiotech
A network providing news, events, white papers, webinars, and job information.See also What resources can I use for identifying and networking with company employees and other people?
Associations
BayBio
Serves the life science industry in Northern California. Provides services through representatives in South San Francisco and through coalition partners in Washington, DC.BIOCOM
Serves the life sciences community in Southern California, represents over 575 companies.Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO)
Features reports, news, events, and more. Provides advocacy, business development and communications services for more than 1,200 members worldwide.See also Where can I find associations for an industry or profession?
Events
C21 BioVentures
Attracts a targeted audience of senior executives from the biotechnology, pharmaceutical, and venture capital communities.See also How can I find conferences and trade shows for a given industry?
- News and Journals
-
BioIT World
A source of news on technology and strategic innovation in areas of computational drug discovery, genomic analysis, predictive toxicogenomics and adaptive clinical trials.BioMed Central
Indexes journals with articles on all aspects of biomed business and research development. This link provides Harvard authenticated links to search results. Also available free via the Web.Life Sciences Search Engine
This National Center for Biotechnology Information cross-database searching tool includes over 30 databases of articles and/or scientific data sets.Nature Biotechnology
Check Harvard availability
Published monthly. Provides novel biological research papers on the pharmaceutical, medical, agricultural, and environmental sciences.Science-Business eXchange (SciBX)
Provides current analysis of the most promising scientific and technological innovations, often through a business perspective.See also Find articles for databases to search on the topic.
HBS Resources
- HBS Healthcare Initiative
- HBS Working Knowledge: Biotechnology
- HBS Faculty Books on Biotechnology
- HBS Faculty Interested in Biotechnology
Related Guides
- Company, Industry & Career
- Health Care
- Pharmaceuticals
- Medical Devices
- Venture Capital & Private Equity
Custom Search
Search Web sites selected by HBS librarians:
