Overviews and Analysis

BCC Research

Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology worldwide.

Frost & Sullivan

Reports and market trends encompassing various technology-, energy-, and manufacturing-related fields.

Provides analyst reports on trends, issues, and market-related topics in areas of biotechnology, health care devices, medical devices, and more.

MarketResearch.com Academic

Reports from market research firms covering health care, consumer goods, publishing, manufacturing, and other markets and industries.

Market reports cover medical devices, biotechnology, and more.

ScienceDirect

Articles from journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences (including business and management).

Provides current and historical overview articles, including many related to medical devices such as point-of-care devices, diagnostic devices, and other healthcare related devices.

Companies

Capital IQ

Data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. 

Thomson ONE

Features market quotes, earnings estimates, financial fundamentals, press releases, transaction data, corporate filings, ownership profiles and research from Thomson Financial.

Useful for finding industry and company analyst reports in areas of medical devices, biotechnology, and pharmaceutical pipelines.

D&B Global Business Browser

Public and private company and industry information including company profiles, news, business and trade articles, analyst reports, executive profiles, industry intelligence, and financial data.  Formerly known as OneSource Global Business Browser.

FactSet

Platform used to analyze financial data from global equity and fixed income markets. Individual account required. 

Pipeline

ClinicalTrials.gov

A service of the U.S. National Institutes of Health. Contains trials sponsored by the NIH, other federal agencies, and private industry. Studies listed in the database are conducted in 50 states and 157 countries.

It includes information on both drug trials and medical devices trials.

Medical Device Databases

Databases from FDA covering guidance, pre-market approval, notification 501(k)s, registrations, and listings. Most of the databases are updated weekly or monthly.

EU Clinical Trials Register

Allows to search for information on clinical trials in EU member states and European Economic Area and clinical trials which are conducted outside the EU/EEA if they form part of a peadiatric investigation plan. May use Advanced search function for efficient searching.

PubMed

Global database of articles related to medicine, including health care management.

Resource that helps place clinical trials in the context of patients' overall medical care via medical literatures.

Regulation

Medical devices law and regulation answer book

It is a well-thought-out guide to medical devices law and regulation that would otherwise require time consuming and expensive research. The book goes beyond medical device development and approval, covering everything from clinical studies to post-market surveillance to quality system regulation to sales. It also includes chapters on legal issues, such as product liability litigation, preemption, intellectual property issues.

U.S. Food & Drug Administration: Medical Devices: Overview of Device Regulation

U.S. FDA is a medical devices regulatory body for the United States. Provides information on the approval process and related laws and regulations.

European Commission: Medical Devices: Regulatory Framework

Information on the industry and regulatory process in the EU.

Careers, Associations and Events

MBA Career & Professional Development (CPD)

Career resources for HBS MBA students.

Alumni Career & Professional Development (CPD)

Career resources for HBS Alumni.

Vault Online Career Library

In-depth industry guides including internship information, career advice and user-generated content on companies and career issues. HBS alumni version available via eBaker. 

MassMEDIC

Medical device manufacturers and related companies in Massachusetts. The Job Bank provides job listings of the membership companies.

Conference Alerts

Listings of upcoming conferences and events. Searchable by keyword. Free newsletter subscription.

News and Journals

BioCentury Innovations

Weekly publication that provides analysis of the content and commercial potential of scientific and technological innovations across life science literature. (Formerly SciBX.)

Medtech Insight

Tracks and analyzes new developments of medical technologies in surgical, orthopedic, cardiovascular, and other markets.

Medical Device and Diagnostic Industry (MD&DI)

A monthly magazine provides in-depth news. Its feature articles offer authoritative perspectives and provide a valuable reference on the full range of device industry issues.

Medical Device Business Week

Provides information on patent filings, M&A deals, market trends, new product introductions, new contract announcements, and joint ventures.