Find Books, Articles, & More

HOLLIS Overview

HOLLIS, the Harvard Library Catalog, is the library's main search and discovery tool.

HOLLIS searches across the library system’s vast collection of books, full-text articles, journals, maps, multimedia materials, and more. It also searches full-text within many Harvard Library databases.

Although HOLLIS searches within many Harvard databases, most Baker Library databases do not feed into HOLLIS due to the complexity of their content. The Baker Library website also does not search within them. You will need to search within each database directly.

Explore HOLLIS

Getting items from HOLLIS

When full text for a book, book chapter, or journal article is available, you will see an “Online Access” link for the item in HOLLIS.

If full text is not available for an article or book chapter, look for the “Scan & Deliver” link to have the pages scanned and sent to you as a PDF.

If you would like to use a physical item that circulates, you can visit the relevant Harvard Library and get it from the shelf. Or, you can request the item for pick-up at any Harvard Library location by clicking “Request Pickup” in the HOLLIS record. Requested items typically arrive in 1-4 business days.

If an item isn’t available at Harvard Library, you can try to get a copy using Interlibrary Loan.

Borrowing Policies

Baker Library’s circulating collection is available for loan to eligible Harvard ID holders. Please visit the Harvard Library Borrowing page for more information on borrowing policies & procedures.

Harvard Library: Borrow, Renew & Return Library Materials

Proxy Accounts

Faculty may sponsor up to three individuals to perform work on their behalf using a library proxy account. To apply:

  1. Faculty provide details about the intended proxy, including that person’s legal name.

  2. Faculty provide details about themselves.

  3. Faculty agree to take responsibility for the proxy using the library and materials.

  4. Faculty and proxy wait for instructions from library staff to confirm the proxy is eligible to act on behalf of the faculty, including checking out library materials.

Library proxy access to electronic library resources requires both an HBS email address and faculty sponsorship if the individual falls into one of these categories:

  • Contractors, consultants, and less than half time or temporary employees

  • Students or collaborators not affiliated with HBS

Exceptions may apply. Please consult library staff ahead of time for assistance.

Harvard Library Proxy Access Form

Faculty Book Delivery

Faculty may opt-in to have books they have requested via HOLLIS delivered from the library directly to their offices.

Contact infoservices@hbs.edu for information.

Accessing Baker Harvard Depository Items

Some materials at Baker are located at our offsite storage location, the Harvard Depository, and must be requested using a form. Please allow 1-2 business days for retrieval.

Depository Retrieval Request Form