Collections

A Web Guide to Photograph Collections

Special Collections photographic collections hold more than 33,000 images of factories, equipment, techniques, processes, and people at work in industrial settings. Researchers will find photographs relating to U.S. industry as well as business operations in Central and South America, Europe, Africa, and Asia, dating from 1855 to the present, including daguerreotypes and stereographs. This guide introduces the major photographic collections.

Lehman Brothers Collection

Part of the Contemporary Archives within Special Collections, the Lehman Brothers Collection, 1868-2007, is a major resource for studying business trends through the lens of investment banking. The archive provides rare access to twentieth-century corporate archives pertaining to business transactions, retail development, globalizing markets, mergers and acquisitions, corporate growth, and the reshaping of American business.

Women, Enterprise and Society: A Guide to Resources in the Business Manuscripts Collection at Baker Library

Produced in 1999, this guide identifies materials in the Special Collections Business Manuscripts Collection that document women's participation in American business and culture from the eighteenth through the twentieth century. Direct links to corresponding catalog records are included with each collection description.

Sunk in Lucre's Sordid Charms: South Sea Bubble Resources in the Kress Collection at Baker Library

A complex network of intersecting financial, legal, political, and cultural factors all contributed to the development of the South Sea Bubble, the eventual collapse of the South Sea Company in 1720, and the financial ruin left in its wake. The South Sea Bubble was one of the first speculative bubbles. This guide provides contextual information about the South Sea Bubble, a detailed index of the South Sea Bubble Collection at Baker Library Special Collections, and links to available digital content.