Information Technology
- Overviews and Analysis
-
Forrester
Provides analysis on the effects of technology on new media, computing, software, networking, telecommunications, and the Internet.Frost & Sullivan Online
Provides in-depth analysis on all aspects of the global technology and communications market. Use "Advanced Search" and "Filter and Display Your Search By Market."Gartner Online Information Resources
Research and analysis focused on many IT-related areas such as networking, wireless, enterprise management, services, outsourcing, servers, and storage.Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Best for a broad overview. Covers commercial services, consumer services, hardware, networking and storage. Click on "Industries" in the top navigation bar, and select from the "Industry Surveys" drop-down menu (starting with "Computers:").More reports selected by HBS librarians and shared on Delicious.
- Companies
-
Rankings
Best Places to Work in IT
Computerworld
Annual feature lets you filter employees by criteria such as number of training days, percent turnover, percent women and percent minorities.CIO 100
Public and private companies are selected among those who applied for the designation based on their innovation and business value in the use of technology.The Future of Tech: Top 100 IT Companies
Business Week
Annual feature in August with articles and interactive rankings. Public companies are selected based on shareholder return, return on equity, total revenues, and revenue growth.Directories
Complete Guide to the Massachusetts Software and Interactive Industry
Published annually by the Massachusetts Software Council. Includes contact information, description of products, services, sales and employment data, hardware platforms, markets and applications, and international distribution.Plunkett's InfoTech Industry Almanac
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HD 9696 .C63 U515126 in the Stamps Reading Room
Annual publication with industry trends and statistics, and company profiles.Plunkett's eCommerce & Internet Business Almanac
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HF 5548.32 .P55 in the Stamps Reading Room
Annual publication with industry trends and statistics, and company profiles.See also How can I create a list of companies by industry, location, and/or size? and Where can I get lists of fast growing companies?
More company lists selected by HBS librarians and shared on Delicious.
NAICS Codes
Knowing the NAICS codes will facilitate searching for companies in the industry from our databases.334 Computer and Electronic Product Manufacturing 5112 Software Publishers 51611 Internet Publishing and Broadcasting 5181 Internet Service Providers and Web Search Portals 5182 Data Processing, Hosting, and Related Services 519 Other Information Services - Careers, Associations and Events
-
Careers
HBS MBA students please see MBA Career & Professional Development.
HBS Alumni please see Alumni Career & Professional Development.From MBA Career Services(HBS only):
Careers in Information Technology
Check Harvard availability
Career T58.5 .W39 2009 in the Stamps Reading Room
Published by Wetfeet. Provides background information on the top IT companies, describes typical positions, and outlines the recruiting process.Computing and Technology Job Listings
A well organized Riley Guide to recruiting, trade, and industry resources.Tech-Engine.com
Searchable database of job openings, employer profiles, resume posting, career advice and tips.See also What resources can I use for identifying and networking with company employees and other people?
More career sites selected by HBS Librarians and shared on Delicious.
Associations
Business Software Alliance (BSA)
Represents the software industry through its international public policy, enforcement, and education programs.Information Technology Association of America (ITAA)
News, security alerts, links to member sites, position papers, and summaries of sponsored studies for a broad spectrum of the IT industry.Information Technology Industry Council (ITIC)
Position papers, press releases, links to members, and some statistical information are available on their Web site.Software & Information Industry Association (SIAA)
Advocates for the software industry and digital content on privacy, intellectual property protection, and other issues. The Web site includes selected articles from its magazine, job postings, press releases, and summaries of their research.See also Where can I find associations for an industry or profession?
Events
Consumer Electronics Show
An annual trade show for the consumer electronics industry.TechWeb Calendar
List of future technology-oriented conferences.See also How can I find conferences and trade shows for a given industry?.
- Statistics
-
Cyberstates: A Complete State-by-State Overview of the High Technology Industry
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HD9696.2 .U62 C9333 in the Stamps Reading Room
Provides state data and charts on high technology venture capital investments, employment, wages, payroll, R&D expenditures and more.Digital Planet: The Global Information Economy
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HD9696 .C6 D4 in the Stamps Reading Room
Spending on hardware, software, services, and communications by country, and within countries by vertical market sector.eMarketer (HU PIN)
Good source for statistics and reports on current topics such as mobile computing, social media, and online consumers.See also Where can I get web traffic statistics for specific Internet sites?
More statistics sources selected by HBS librarians and shared on Delicious.
- News and Journals
-
CIO
Check Harvard availability
Bimonthly magazine targeted to chief information officers and senior executives. The Web site includes an archive of the magazine and special reports such as the CIO 100. Use the site search function.Computer
Check Harvard availability
Published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Provides current research developments, trends, and best practices in computer technology.Computerworld
Check Harvard availability
Trade newspaper for the technology sector. The Web site incudes recent articles, knowledge centers on various topics, and a research section that includes salary surveys, and company rankings.Fast Company
Check Harvard availability
Focuses on innovation and the use of technology in business. The Web site features current and archived articles, RSS and email alerts, and a jobs board.InformationWeek
Check Harvard availability
A technology oriented trade journal. The Web site includes special reports such as the Information Week 500, a salary advisor and research blogs.Technology Review
Check Harvard availability
Published by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Provides profiles of innovation and emerging technologies. The Web site has blogs, discussion boards, RSS and email alerts, and a career section.Technovation
Check Harvard availability.
Scholarly journal on the subject of technological innovation.Wired
Check Harvard availability
Good source for trends in technology. The Web site includes full text of articles, blogs and other news.See also Find articles for databases to search on the topic.
More news sources selected by HBS librarians and shared on Delicious.
HBS Resources
- HBS Working Knowledge: Technology
- HBS Faculty Books on Technology
- HBS Faculty Interested in Information Technology
Related Guides
Custom Search
Search Web sites selected by HBS librarians:
