Lehman Brothers Collection - Contemporary Business Archives

Harvard Business School Baker Library Historical Collections

Lehman Brothers Collection

Twentieth-Century Business Archives

European Coal and Steel Community - Lehman Brothers Collection

European Coal and Steel Community

List of Deals

The European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) was founded in 1951 and established as a sovereign entity by the Treaty of April 18, 1951, by France, West Germany, Italy, Belgium, Luxemburg, and the Netherlands to pool the steel and coal resources of its member-states.

The purpose of the ECSC under the treaty was to aid the development of the economies of the member-states through the creation of a common market for coal and steel. The ECSC was the foundation for the development and creation of the European Community, and then the European Union.

The ECSC was the first step taken by European communities following World War II toward integrating political, economic, and technical cooperation. It also provided and facilitated the creation in 1958 of the European Economic Community (EEC), which helped to create the common market for all products other than those covered by the treaty.

Harvard Business School Harvard Business School Baker Library Histrorical Collections