Sign in to Baker Library
Data Sources
Sustainability Disclosure Database
Open database from the Global Social Reporting Initiative. Covers all types of sustainability reports, whether GRI-based or otherwise, and relevant information related to the reporting organizations.
Tip: Includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
ESG Data Sources
This section of the Business and the Environment guide provides selected ESG databases available at Baker Library.
Tip: The link takes you to the middle of the section. Must scroll up to see the beginning of the section.
Current Awareness
News Sources
Sustainable Resources for MBAs by HBS Business and Environment Initiative and Katie Kross
Harvard Business School News Room
Provide news and updates related to sustainability
Responsible-Investor.com
News service reporting on responsible investment, ESG (environmental, social, and governance), and sustainable finance.
Elsevier Connect
News, information and features on topic of sustainability.
Conferences/Events
Harvard Center for the Environment: Events
The Harvard University Center for the Environment (HUCE) encourages research and education about the environment and its many interactions with human society.
Materials Research Society
Annual conference is in Boston. Provides cutting edge inventions, new discoveries and applications in materials science.
SEMI
Major global industry association for electronics, manufacturing and design supply chain. Navigate the site for upcoming events.
Now and Next of Sustainability
HBS Business and the Environment
Provides articles about HBS faculty initiative in sustainability.
Tip: Business models, industry trends and all aspects of management in sustainability space.
EMIS (Emerging Markets Information System)
Country and company information on Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and the Middle East.
Tip: Covers all aspects of sustainability and environmental issues and challenges in emerging markets. Including, news articles and market reports.
Frost & Sullivan
Reports and market trends encompassing various technology, energy, and manufacturing-related fields.
Tip: Leading technological development in sustainability and environment (use with Technavio).
Technavio
Reports on a variety of global industries including technology, healthcare, retail, energy, aerospace, and automotive.
Tip: Leading technological development in sustainability and environment (use with Frost & Sullivan).
Sustainability by Industry
Background reading and resources available on sustainability in key industries.
Sustainability in Agriculture and Agribusiness
Sustainability in Construction
Sustainability in Consumer Packaged Goods and Retail
Sustainability in Manufacturing
Sustainability in Transportation
Company and Peer Analysis
Company Databases
Capital IQ
Data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. Includes S&P RatingsDirect.
Tip: Allows screening for clean tech companies, using a combination of search criteria.
Need a Capital IQ overview? Check out our multimedia learning module, Learn with Baker Library - Capital IQ Introduction.
Pitchbook
Information on companies, deals, funds, investors and service providers across the private investment lifecycle.
Tip: Allows screening by Lifestyles of Health and Sustainability, and other verticals such as clean tech.
Preqin
Provides access to information on private equity and venture capital companies, funds, and deals.
Tip: Allows filtering by ESG/Ethos criteria.
Refinitiv Workspace
Features market quotes, earnings estimates, financial fundamentals, press releases, transaction data, corporate filings, ownership profiles and sell-side equity research.
Tip: Look for company ESG reports and analyst reports.
Need a Refinitiv Workspace overview? Check out our multimedia learning module, Learn with Baker Library - Refinitiv Introduction.
ESG Ratings
Tip: News and data related to sustainability.
Morningstar Direct
Multi-currency research platform that provides performance and holdings analyses of investments.
Tip: Identify investment firms in any green space.
MSCI ESG Direct
A suite of environmental, social, and governance (ESG) research and analysis products from MSCI.
Governance and Regulation
MSCI GMI Ratings
Corporate governance data, including corporate governance and ownership, board structure, audit fees, takeover defenses, and executive and director compensation information.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis.
Tip: Search for legal news and business cases related to environment and sustainability.
PAIS index
Literature of economics, environmental studies, international relations, law, and political science.
Check Harvard Availability
Career Development
MBA Career & Professional Development (CPD)
Career resources for HBS MBA students.
Vault
In-depth industry guides including internship information, career advice and user-generated content on companies and career issues.
Google Jobs
Google brings together job postings from across the web.
Environment Jobs
Lists UK and international green jobs.
Idealist Careers
Includes paid jobs and international internship.
United Nations Development Programme: Jobs
Fields include climate and disaster resilience, sustainable development & poverty reduction, management, etc.