Overviews and Analysis

 

Eurostat - Tourism Overview

Annual tourism statistics for European countries including capacity and occupancy of hotels, tourism trips, employment in the tourism industry, etc.

IBISWorld

IBISWorld publishes reports on industries in the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada and China.

Look for reports on topics such as Tourism, and Hotels & Resorts.

Mintel Reports

U.S. consumer market studies and primary and secondary data analysis for topics including food, beverage, apparel, beauty, retail, and travel. Demographic specific reports are also available.  

Passport

Market research reports on consumer products and industries worldwide from Euromonitor International.

In-depth consumer market analysis, statistics, and top industry players in over 200 countries. Select "Travel and Tourism" under Industries.

PricewaterhouseCoopers - Hospitality and Leisure

PwC publishes US Hospitality Directions on a quarterly basis. The reports have a near-term outlook for US hotels with data from leading hotel market data provider, STR Global.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Detailed descriptions of companies, industries, and mutual funds.

Best for a broad industry overview. Click "Industries" drop-down menu for industry surveys. Relevant industries include Airlines; Hotels, Restaurants & Leisure; and Restaurants.

Trends in the Hotel Industry

Ref. TX909.A1 H3 in the Stamps Reading Room
Features in-depth analyses of hotel revenues, expenses, and profits. The data is arrayed in a variety of property type, geographic location, rate, and size categories.

UNWTO Tourism Data Dashboard

This data dashboard from the United Nations World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) provides data on inbound and outbound tourism at the global, regional, and national levels; and tourism contribution to GDP, accommodation capacity and demand, and employment.

Yearbook of Tourism Statistics

Ref. G155 .A1 Y43 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Travel statistics by country.

 

See also this Fast Answer:

Challenges and Opportunities in the Restaurant Industry

Companies

 

Plunkett's Airline, Hotel & Travel Industry Almanac

Ref. G155 .A1 P58 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Annual publication with industry trends, statistics, and company profiles. Coverage is international in scope, but mostly in the U.S.

Travel+Leisure World's Best Awards

Lists the top rated hotels, cruise lines, and spas, and more.

 

See also these Fast Answers:

Company databases: which database to choose?

Target List: screen for companies by industry, location, and size 

Public companies: fast growing

Private companies: fast growing

Careers, Associations and Events

 

American Hotel & Lodging Association (AHLA)

Provides industry news, statistics, and forecasts as well as links to a variety of industry resources and job postings.

European Travel Commission

Publishes an annual European Tourism: Trends & Prospects report.

Hospitality Sales & Marketing Association International

Some industry news and event calendar are freely available.

International Hotel & Restaurant Association (IH&RA)

Organization of national industry associations, institutions, operators, and owners.

National Restaurant Association

Fact sheets, trends and forecasts, and statistics by state.

U.S. Travel Association: Events

Events sponsored by the U. S. Travel Association. Also includes some industry statistics.

Vault Online Career Library

In-depth industry guides including internship information, career advice and user-generated content on companies and career issues. HBS alumni version available via eBaker. 

Hospitality: includes a career guide on hospitality.

World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC)

Provides reports on the travel and tourism industry worldwide.

 

See also this Fast Answer:

Conferences or trade shows

News and Journals

Cornell Hospitality Quarterly

Research articles address new management principles, practical advice, analysis of trends, and recommendations for career development.  

Hospitality Design

Topics include architects, restaurants, interior design, sustainable development and industry trends.

Hospitality Net

A variety of content including hotel industry news, hotel announcements, product descriptions, and event calendar.

HotelNewsNow.com

Hotel industry news including weekly occupancy, average daily rate, and revenue per available room numbers by Smith Travel Research (STR). 

Nation's Restaurant News

News and white papers covering the foodservice industry including restaurants, restaurant chains, marketing, operations, and events.

QSR Magazine

News on the quick service restaurant industry. The QSR 50 reports sales and number of units for the top 50 chains by segment.