About this Database

Provides detailed information on new issues, mergers and acquisitions, syndicated loans, private equity, and more for the global financial marketplace. Some of the databases in SDC go back to the 1970s. However, it can typically be relied upon to provide comprehensive data for at least the past ten to fifteen years. The database is continuously updated, so you could find that a league table you downloaded a month ago using the same search strategy might come up with different results today. Also, due to the academic nature of HBS research, our subscription excludes data from the past month. For more information see Date Parameter Limitations. Access in Financial Databases Room (FDR).

This database offers:
• Global New Issues- All Equity, All Bonds
• Mergers & Acquisitions - US Targets, Non-US Targets, Joint Ventures/Alliances
• Venture Expert- Official Database of the National Venture Capital Association
• Global Public Finance- US New Issues, Non-US New Issues, Project Finance
• Venture capital (data is also available through Refinitiv Workspace)
• Interface with extensive filtering and reporting capabilities, as well as a variety of standard reports and league tables

SDC Databases not available at Baker Library (i.e., current HBS subscription does not include these):

• Corporate Restructuring -Bankruptcies and Exchange Offers
• Securities Block-Trading Data, Autex/BlockData
• Municipal Refunding Candidates
• Profiles of Municipal Issuers and Players in Municipal Markets
• Corporate Governance- Proxy Fights
• Syndicated Loans
• Poison Pill

 

Access


Related Resources