About this Database
Contains five databases providing accounting data for bank holding companies, commercial banks, savings banks, and savings and loans institutions. The source of the data comes from the required regulatory forms filed for supervising purposes. Please see the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago website for more information.
The Commercial Bank Database, from the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago (FRB Chicago), contains data of all banks filing the Report of Condition and Income (named "Call Report") that are regulated by the Federal Reserve System, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), and the Comptroller of the Currency. These reports include balance sheet, income statements, risk-based capital measures and off-balance sheet data. The Commercial Bank Database has data available quarterly from 1976. The time range is broader than the RIS database (described below). It includes basically commercial banks and savings banks. It does not have data from savings institutions (e.g. S&L associations) that file the Thrift Financial Report (TFR) with the Office of Thrift Supervision (OTS).
The Bank Holding Companies Database, from the FRB Chicago, collects financial data from bank holding companies included in the FRY-9 reports. The bank holding companies may include parent, blank and nonblank entities. These reports contain balance sheet, income information, risk-based capital measures and additional supporting schedules. The FR Y-9 filing initiated in 1978, but this Database has data available quarterly from 1986.
The FDIC/OTS Deposit Database collects deposit data on each office of every FDIC-insured bank and savings association. Data are collected annually (as of June 30) and are available from 1994. The FDIC takes data from all FDIC-insured commercial banks, savings banks and U.S. branches of foreign banks. The OTS collects deposit data from all savings associations.
The Merger Description Database from the FRB Chicago provides acquisition/merger data and other useful records about circumstances under which a financial institution ceased to exist. It provides information about the survivor and non-survivor entity, dates and merging codes from 1986.
The Research Information System (RIS) Database, from the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), contains financial data and history of all entities filing the Call Report and some savings institutions filing the OTS Thrift Financial Report (TFR). These reports include balance sheet, income statements and off-balance sheet data. The entities that file these reports include commercial banks, savings banks, or savings and loans (The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation Database). This data was collected from 1984 to 1998 and contains structure data, financial time series data, complex derived integers data, ratio data and merger history data. Different from the Commercial Bank Database, it contains data for S&L institutions and derived data.