Overviews and Analysis

Bain & Co. Global Private Equity Report

Annual report on the state of the global private equity market.

Ernst & Young Private Equity

Annual Global Private Equity Watch and Global IPO Trends reports.

IBISWorld

IBISWorld publishes reports on industries in the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada and China.

Reports include Venture Capital & Principal Trading in the US and Private Equity, Hedge Funds & Investment Vehicles in the US

McKinsey & Co. Private Equity Insights

Frequent topical reports on the state of PE around the world.

Pratt's Guide to Private Equity Sources

Ref. HG64 .P73 in the Stamps Reading Room.
The introductory chapters provide a useful overview of the VC industry. The international directory includes locations, list of project preferences, type of financing, minimum investment, preferred investment, and contact person.

Private Equity Demystified: An Explanatory Guide

Deals with motivations, risks and rewards of private equity players.

See also books on Private Equity and Venture Capital.

Companies

PE & VC investors by investment criteria (industry, stage, and geography)

Startups: venture-backed, by industry, geography, funding amounts, and rounds

Capital IQ

Data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. 

CB Insights & Industry Analytics

Tracks global venture capital, angel investment, private equity, M&A, and IPO activity related to private companies. Individual account required. 

Pitchbook

 Information on companies, deals, funds, investors and service providers across the private investment lifecycle.

Preqin

Preqin provides access to information on private equity and venture capital companies, funds, and deals.

Thomson ONE

Thomson ONE features market quotes, earnings estimates, financial fundamentals, press releases, transaction data, corporate filings, ownership profiles and research from Thomson Financial.

Careers, Associations and Events

Careers

Holt-MM&K-Buyouts Insider PE/VC Compensation Report

Current trends in design and levels of compensation in the private equity and venture capital industry.

Invest Europe

Includes searchable directory of member companies by business type, company name, and location. Also includes listing of other venture capital associations in the region.

Preqin Private Capital Compensation and Employment Review

Compensation guide detailing employment practices and compensation packages for 106 private equity firms by position. 

Small Business Investor Alliance (SBIA)

A trade association for lower middle market private equity funds and investors. Includes forums, legislation, regulation, legal issues, and resources the small business investment company industry.

See also What resources can I use for networking?

Associations

National Venture Capital Association (NVCA)

National Venture Capital Association provides list of venture capital resources, news and statistics.

Venture Capital & Private Equity Club

HBS Venture Capital & Principal Investment Club
Find out about what skills, knowledge, and experience you need to work in venture capital.

See also Where can I find associations for an industry or profession?

Events

NVCA Events

Programs offered throughout the world on various aspects of private equity from the National Venture Capital Association.

See also How can I find conferences or trade shows for a given industry?

Statistics

Bloomberg

Current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures for both international and domestic markets.

Launch PE<GO> for a menu of private equity screening and industry dashboard functions.

Emerging Markets Private Equity Association

Analyses and statistics on private equity activity in emerging markets.

Also includes a directory of members with links to their websites.

European Private Equity Activity

Comprehensive survey of the European private equity and venture capital industry. Statistics are listed overall and by country. For earlier copies of basic statistics see EVCA Research: Statistics.

FactSet

Platform used to analyze financial data from global equity and fixed income markets. Individual account required. 

M&A, PE/VC and IPO data, PE/VC firm and fund profiles.

PwC MoneyTree Report

A quarterly survey with overviews of venture capital and private equity in the U.S., and statistics by industry, state, and firm.

National Venture Capital Association: Research Resources

Find the latest Yearbook, statistical snapshots, and studies.

Preqin

Preqin provides access to information on private equity and venture capital companies, funds, and deals.

Under 'Purchased Publications' you can find the Preqin Global Private Equity and Venture Capital Report.

Statista

Statista is a searchable database of statistics, studies, dossiers, infographics and more. HBS alumni version available via eBaker. 

Venture Capital & Private Equity Country Attractiveness Index

Created from a research project at the IESE Business School.

Daily News

New York Times DealBook

News on mergers and aquisitions, investment banking, private equity, venture capital, IPOs, and hedge funds. Email notification is available.

PE Hub

Daily news and job postings on private equity, venture capital and buyouts are also available on their website.

VentureWire

News on venture capital fundraising. There is a lag time of a couple of business days.

Journals

Asia Private Equity Review

Reports on private equity investment activities in Asia.

Asian Venture Capital Journal

Venture capital activities in the Asia-Pacific region. Covers fund-raising, investments, exits, and the people behind the deals.

Buyouts

A newsletter for managed buyouts, leveraged acquisitions, and special situations.

Dow Jones Private Equity Analyst

This is one of the main newsletters serving investors and managers of alternative assets.

Journal of Private Equity

Presents research and highlights trends and strategies for private equity investing.

Private Equity International

Daily newsletter on the people, the deals, the funds and the financial trends of the industry. PEI is available through Factiva. To search the publication in Factiva, type rst=prion in the search box or click Source and type in title. Print version available in the Stamps Reading Room in the periodicals section.

Venture Capital Journal

News and analysis of private equity markets.