Forecasts

Economist Intelligence Unit

In-depth country and selected industry analysis and data

Industry, demographic, and economic data and forecasts. Click on the Data Services link.

Passport

Market research reports on consumer products and industries worldwide from Euromonitor International.

Provides forecast data aggregated from International Financial Statistics, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, and Eurostat.

Survey of Professional Forecasters

A quarterly survey of macroeconomic U.S. forecasts. Started in 1968 by the American Statistical Association and the National Bureau of Economic Research and now conducted by the Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia.

Conference Board

Reports on key issues in business management and economics, news and analysis of economic topics, and annual surveys for executive compensation and corporate contributions.

The monthly Economics Watch offers long-range and short-range forecasts from The Conference Board's economic research team. Locate the most recent reports by scrolling down past the latest indicators.

Bloomberg

Current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures for both international and domestic markets.

Provides two year economic forecasts of data items for 42 countries. Type "ECFC" and press the GO key.

Congressional Budget Office: Budget and Economic Outlook

Provides U.S. economic projection and historical reports and presentations by CBO directors and staff.

Historical Data

FRASER: Federal Reserve Archive

Provides historical banking and economic data from the founding of the Federal Reserve Bank dating back to approximately 1913.

Ibbotson SBBI Classic Yearbook: Market Results for Stocks, Bonds, Bills, and Inflation

Ref. HG4501 .S7949 2009 in the Stamps Reading Room.
The history of returns on U.S. capital markets from 1926 to present described in overviews, tables, and graphs. Published annually.

Global Financial Data

Comprehensive economic and financial time-series database covering 150 countries and 6,500 different data series

Historical financial database of long-term total return data on stocks, bonds, and bills from every major market in the world dating back to 1900.

Historical Statistics of the United States

Statistics from Colonial times to present including characteristics, vital statistics, migration, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, governance, and international relations. Tables may be downloaded for use in spreadsheets and other applications.

Industry Statistics

Statista

Statista is a searchable database of statistics, studies, dossiers, infographics and more.

A statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform, Statista provides access to quantitative facts and infographics by market sector.

Labor and Trade

International Labour Organization

The International Labor Organization (ILO) is one of the best sources for employment data for countries around the world. Currently its data is located in two datasets, Laborsta and ILOStat. Laborsta will eventually be replaced by ILOStat. However, not all datapoints available in Laborsta have been migrated to ILOStat.

Trade Profiles

World Trade Organization
Overviews of a country's trade situation provided by the WTO.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)

U.S. Department of Labor
Covers employment, compensation, living and working conditions, as well as a listing of additional regional resources. Allows creation of customized tables.

United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics

Annual international trade data by commodity and trading partner.

Limited data are available for free at UN Comtrade.

Risk Measures

Doing Business: Measuring Business Regulations

In-depth risk analysis and data on doing business in over 180 countries. A service provided by the World Bank.

IMD World Competitiveness Online

Country profiles and competitiveness rankings on criteria related to domestic economy, international trade, international investment, government efficiency, business efficiency, and infrastructure.

CountryData.com

Political risk data with over 75 country risk-related variables including political, social, economic, financial, and government stability.

Standard & Poor's Global Credit Portal

Formerly known as Standard & Poor's Ratings Direct. Research on bond issues from around the world, including public finance and structured finance issues.

Provides credit ratings for sovereign debt issues with detailed reports explaining these credit recommendations. Includes a 14-year archive.

Contains a variety of financial ratings such as exchange rate stability, corruption, external and internal conflict, investment profile, and observance of law and order.

U.S. Data

FedStats

Gives access to the full range of statistics and information produced by over 100 agencies of the U.S. government.

Sperling's BestPlaces

Provides data on cost of living, crime, etc. for major cities in the U.S.

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Statistics for the U.S. with selected data for regions, divisions, states, metropolitan areas, cities, and foreign countries from reports and records of government and private agencies. Covers a wide range of U.S. statistical data and provides original sources. You can find the Statistical Abstracts from 1880-2010 here.

United States Census Bureau

Includes mapping and data extraction tools for social, demographic, and economic statistics mainly for the U.S. The Business & Industry page offers a wide range of statistics on the economy, companies, and specific industries.

IHS Global Insight

Comprehensive coverage of U.S. financial, economic, and industry data.

Offers a great variety of economic, industry, and historical statistics. Sources include trade associations, Wards (automobiles), the Conference Board and University of Michigan (consumer sentiment), and the U.S. Census Bureau, Bureau of Economic Analysis, Bureau of Labor Statistics, and Federal Reserve.