Investment, Finance and Capital Markets

CRE Finance Council (CREFC)

Site includes industry statistics, research and news. Much of the site requires membership to view, but some research reports and industry statistics are available.

European Mortgage Federation

EMF Hypostate has statistical data for housing and mortgage markets in Europe and beyond. Includes house transactions, house prices, total dwelling stock, and housing completions. 

Mortgage Bankers Association

Includes research, reports and insight on the real estate finance industry. Although some information is for members only, most of their Research and Economics section is available to the public.

IHS Global Insight

Mortgage Market Statistical Annual

Ref. HG 4655.M67 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Statistical data on the mortgage and asset securities marketplace. Volume I covers the primary market on originations, purchases, and sales. Volume II covers mortgage-related securities markets.

National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts

Produces the global and domestic indices for publicly-owned real estate, the national trade association for REITs, and publicly-traded real estate companies.

National Council of Real Estate Investment Fiduciaries

Produces the NCREIF Property Index (NPI), used as an industry benchmark to compare an investor's own returns against the industry average. Includes indexes of returns by region and property type.

National Real Estate Investor

Covers office, industrial, retail, multi-family, hotel, mixed-use and senior sectors as well as brokerage, property management, the environment and international. The website has full text of articles and current news.

Preqin Global Real Estate Report

Ref. HD 1361.P74 in the Stamps Reading Room.

Annual report that combines data with analysis and commentary from Preqin analysts and expert contributors from across the private equity real estate world to give an overview and outlook on the industry. 

PwC Real Estate Investor Survey

Quarterly analysis of various sectors of the real estate market (e.g., retail, warehouse, apartment) and markets in major U.S. cities based on investor surveys.

S&P Global Market Intelligence

News, data, transactions, filings and analysis covering financial, real estate, insurance, energy, media, consumer and industrial industries. Individual account required. Formerly known as SNL Interactive. 

See 'Properties' tab for data such as real estate deals by type of property, green energy properties, and general real estate data by city, state, country, or region.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Detailed descriptions of companies, industries, and mutual funds.

S&P's REIT Industry Survey provides a good overview of real estate investment trusts.

Construction and Development

Buildings.com

Online magazine of trends, transactions, and people in the construction industry.

Lincoln Institute of Land Policy

The tools section has data on land and property values, property taxation, and university development. Also includes information on land trusts, and visual tools for planning population density.

Urban Land Institute (ULI)

Publishes reports on emerging land use trends and issues. Many of the reports are available at Harvard.

US Census Bureau - New Residential Construction

Data on construction spending, new home sales, housing starts, vacancy rates, and home-ownership.

​​

Market Conditions

Bloomberg

Current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures for both international and domestic markets.

BI <GO> for real estate and REIT industry data, news, and analysis.

Cushman & Wakefield Reports

Reports on sub-sector market conditions, often at the city level. Strong international coverage.

Emerging Trends in Real Estate: Asia Pacific

Ref. HD841 .E44 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Annual publication that assesses real estate conditions. The current editions are available online from the Urban Land Institute (in the page of the specific edition).

Emerging Trends in Real Estate: Europe

Ref. HD581.A1 E44 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Annual publications that assess real estate conditions. The current editions are available online from the Urban Land Institute (in the page for the specific edition).

Emerging Trends in Real Estate: North America

Ref. HD1361 .E44 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Annual publicaton that assesses real estate conditions. The current editions are available online from the Urban Land Institute (in the page of the specific edition).

IBISWorld

IBISWorld publishes reports on industries in the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada and China.

JLL:Worldwide Research

Brief reports on market conditions around the globe.

Knight Frank Research

Reports on specific residential and commercial markets as well as some global reports

Commercial and Industrial

AEW Capital Management

Real estate investment management reports covering North America, Europe, and Asia.

Colliers International

Housing market reports, office market reports, retail market reports, industrial market reports.

Income/Expense Analysis: Office Buildings

Ref. HD7287.6.U5 I623 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Analyses of office building operating revenues and expenses for major metropolitan areas and regions in both the United States and Canada. The income and expense data is presented in dollars per square foot for over fifty specific categories, broken out by building size, building height, and building rental range.

NAIOP Commercial Real Estate Development Association

For developers and owners of industrial, office, and related commercial real estate throughout North America. The Research and Publications section features reports on topics such as economic impacts of commercial real estate, space demand forecasts, and compensation reports.

Savillis

Commercial and residential real estate reports by country or region, and office real estate reports for US cities.

Society of Industrial and Office Realtors (SIOR)

National organization of realtors specializing in industrial and office real estate. Includes a Commercial Real Estate Index with quarterly trends in the commercial real estate market.

Residential

Expense Analysis, Condominiums, Cooperatives, & Planned Unit Developments

Ref. HD7287.67.U5 E96 in the Stamps Reading Room

Tracks utility, maintenance, insurance, tax, and amenity expenses. Metropolitan, regional and national statistics are grouped according to association, apartment and building type (high-rise, low-rise, or townhouse).

HUD User

Extensive data and reports including local U.S. residential real estate market conditions.

Income/Expense Analysis: Conventional Apartments

Ref. HD7287.6.U5 I62 in the Stamps Reading Room

Tracks utility, maintenance, insurance, tax, and amenity expenses. Metropolitan, regional and national statistics are grouped according to association, apartment and building type (high-rise, low-rise, or townhouse).

Joint Center for Housing Studies of Harvard University

Studies and data on domestic housing.

Careers, Associations and Events

American Real Estate Society (ARES)

For real estate professionals, researchers, and academics. Includes a jobs page geared to academics.

BOMA International Career Center

From the Building Owners and Managers Association. Search for jobs by keyword and/or location.

CRE Finance Council Events

Hosts events in the U.S. and abroad.

Dodge Data and Analytics: Careers

A place where job seekers can post resumes and search for jobs.

National Association of Realtors

Topical sections include government affairs, research, law and policy, technology, and education. The Research and Statistics section has data and reports on commercial, residential, international sectors as well as on the business and technology of realtors.

REALTORS Conference & Expo

Annual meeting of the National Association of Realtors

News and Journals

Commercial Property Executive

Commercial real estate industry news.

Real Estate Issues

Semi-annual publication of the Counselors of Real Estate examines issues and trends in the current real estate environment.