Overviews

Begin your research using one of the databases below that cover a wide range public policy topics, or select another section of this guide to explore topic-specific resources. 

CQ Researcher

Comprehensive coverage of most topics taught in this course.

ProQuest Congressional

Overviews on a range of public policy topics available through CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports. Start by selecting "Search for CRS Reports" and then enter keywords and limit by date.

PolicyFile

PolicyFile covers domestic and international public policy issues. The public policy reports and studies are published by think tanks, university research programs, research organizations.

Google Scholar

Scholarly and academic material.  Use Google Scholar from our web site to facilitate access to Harvard licensed material.

Climate Change

Center for Climate and Energy Solutions (C2ES)

Overviews, facts, and figures relating to climate change. Also includes information on the impact of climate change on businesses.

Climate.gov

A free resource that provides maps, data, news, and analysis about climate change.

EIA: Environment

Data, trends, and analysis covering the impact of climate change on the US.

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change

A joint organization formed by the United Nations Environment Programme and the World Meteorological Organization to assess the environmental and economic impact of climate change.

Education

Academic Search Premier

Multi-disciplinary database that covers a comprehensive collection of education journals and publications.

National Center for Education Statistics

Wide collection of education data and reports for the United States.

U.S. Department of Education: State Contacts

Education policy decisions in the US are typically made at the state level; this site provides you with a list of policy makers for all US States and territories.

Immigration

Harvard Library Immigration Research Guide

Provides recommendations for news, data, journals and free web resources focusing on immigration.

Migration Data Hub

Maps, data and reports on global immigration. Also provide state-level census data for the United States.

New Space

NASA: Office of the Chief Technologist

NASA's Office of the Chief Technologist publishes a number of reports including The Long Space Age: An Economic History of American Space, Emerging Space Report and Public-Private Partnerships for Space Capability Development.

NewSpace Global

One of the first publishers of research and analysis in the new space sector.If your research interests focus on new space, you may want to consider subscribing to NewSpace Global.

SpaceNews

A free online resource that covers "the business and politics of the global space industry." The publication offers a series of newsletters on a variety of topics delivered daily or weekly.

Patent Protection

Inventor Handbook

Published by the Lemelson- MIT Program, a great collection of FAQ's covering a range of topics of interest to inventors and entrepreneurs.

Patent Databases and Tutorial

A Baker Library Fast Answer that highlights top resources and tutorials to support your patent research.

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office: Patent Process Overview

An overview of the US patent application and maintenance process.

Race Relations

ACLU Racial Justice Program

The American Civil Liberties Union publishes reports, articles, and blog posts on many racial justice issues, including race and criminal justice, race and economic justice, and race and inequality in education.

American Race Relations: Global Perspectives 1941-1996

Sourced from the CIA archives, a comprehensive collection of racial justice primary research materials. 

NAACP

The National Association for the Advancement of Colored People provides a great collection of reports and news on racial justice issues. See the "Advocacy and Issues" section of the site to search by topic.

ACLU Racial Justice Program

The American Civil Liberties Union publishes reports, articles, and blog posts on many racial justice issues, including race and criminal justice, race and economic justice, and race and inequality in education.

National Council of La Raza

National Council of La Raza maintains a repository of publications focusing on a range of subjects including the Latino Jobs Report, Investing in the Health of Latino Children and the State of Hispanic America.

Pew Research Center: Race and Ethnicity

Data and anaylsis on a range of topics including discrimination and prejudice and social values.

U.S. Healthcare System

Health Business Fulltext Elite

Journal articles on all non-clinical aspects of health care management.

The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation

Research covering a range of health policy topics including health costs, reform and disparities in care.

National Health Policy Forum

Health Policy Essentials are briefing books published for new Congressional staff members to help them understand current health policy topics.

Taxation

PolicyFile

PolicyFile covers a wide range of domestic and international public policy issues. Select "Search" and use the "Subjects list" to limit your result to taxation documents .

Tax Foundation

A research think tank providing research and analysis at the local, state and federal level .

Tax Policy Center (TPC)

A research center focusing on tax, budget and social policy issues. Tax Facts is a great one-stop source for tax data from a wide range of organizations including the CBO, IRS, Department of Treasury and OECD.