Industry and Market Research

How do I find investment analysts' reports?

Where can I find rankings of financial institutions?

How can I get a list of deals by investment bank?

 

IBISWorld

IBISWorld publishes reports on industries in the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada and China.

See Investment Banking & Securities Dealing in the US

Mergerstat Review

Ref. HD 2741 .M48 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Annual statistics and information on publicly announces mergers, acquisitions, an divestitures. Provides statistical analysis of activity and data by industry and geography and includes twenty-five years of summary statistics and largest announcements in history.

S&P Global Market Intelligence

News, data, transactions, filings and analysis covering financial, real estate, insurance, energy, media, consumer and industrial industries. Individual account required. Formerly known as SNL Interactive. 

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Detailed descriptions of companies, industries, and mutual funds.

Best place to go for a broad overview of an industry. See the section "Capital Markets" in the Industries section.

Companies

Investment bank league tables

 

Capital IQ

Data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. 

List of Investment Banks

A convenient list with links to the Wikipedia entries. The entries generally link to the banks' Web sites.

Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association (SIFMA)

SIFMA is a trade association for securities firms. Site includes a list of members with links to their home pages, articles, and issue briefs.

Careers, Associations and Events

Bloomberg

Current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures for both international and domestic markets.

Search for jobs in many parts of the financial sector by title and geographic location. Type "JOBS" and hit the GO button.

CFA Institute

Certifying organization for Chartered Financial Analysts (CFA). Much of the site is limited to members, but includes information on educational programs and events.

CFA Institute Events

Annual conference and other professional programs offered throughout the world by Chartered Financial Analysts Institute.

Financial Industry Regulatory Authority: Conferences & Events

Information on annual conference and other educational programs.

Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association (SIFMA)

SIFMA is a trade association for securities firms. Site includes a list of members with links to their home pages, articles, and issue briefs.

Vault Online Career Library

In-depth industry guides including internship information, career advice and user-generated content on companies and career issues. HBS alumni version available via eBaker. 

Industries & Professions: information on careers and interviewing in investment banking.

 

News and Journals

American Banker

US and international industry news and research on regional banking, mortgages, investments, credit cards, regulators, profiles of banks, and commentary.

Buyouts

Bimonthly newsletter for managed buyouts, leveraged acquisitions, and special situations. Quarterly coverage of deals, funds raised, and league tables.

Financial Times: Investment Banking

Collection of analysis and news from the Financial Times.

Journal of Banking & Finance

Scholarly research on global financial institutions.

Journal of Portfolio Management

Journal of Portfolio Management is one major institutional investing journals and its research is focused on asset allocation, performance measurement, market trends, risk management, and portfolio optimization. Published quarterly.

Mergers & Acquisitions

Monthly publication reporting on pending deals and corporate restructuring. Lists deal announcements and completed deals by industry. Good for overviews of M&A's by industry and topic. February issue includes league tables and summary of previous year's M&A deals.

Wall Street Journal

WSJ.com accounts are now available to current Harvard University faculty, staff and students.