Biotechnology

BCC Research

Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology worldwide.

​In depth market research on cutting edge technologies including biotechnology.  Select the magnifying glass icon to to limit search by keywords, date, title or abstract.

Biotechnology

This guide points to the best biotech focused resources available to the HBS community. See also the related research guide on Medical Devices, Pharmaceuticals, and Health Care.

Produced by librarians in Baker, the guide suggests top resources by type of information for the biotechnology sector.

MarketResearch.com Academic

Reports from market research firms covering health care, consumer goods, publishing, manufacturing, and other markets and industries.

​Provides market research on biotechnology and related health care sectors including diagnostics, medical devices and pharmaceuticals.

ScienceDirect

Articles from journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences (including business and management).

​Access the full-text of hundreds of scientific journals. Use the Advanced Search feature and select "Medicine and Dentistry" from the Subject drop-down menu. This is an HU resource so you may be required to enter your Harvard Key.

Diagnostics

AccessMedicine

Online collection of medical textbooks. Great source for understanding the standard practice of medicine.

MarketResearch.com Academic

Reports from market research firms covering health care, consumer goods, publishing, manufacturing, and other markets and industries.

Market research database that covers many sectors within the Life Sciences industry. Select "Life Sciences", then select  "Diagnostics" to browse the collection or search by keyword. Note, the results are listed by relevancy, but you may want to click the "Published" link to re-order by date.

PubMed

Global database of articles related to medicine, including health care management.

​The major database for the study and practice of medicine. Limit search to "review article," to find the current state of research on a particular topic. Review articles provide a coherent view of the  latest research on a particular area including advances and discoveries in a specific discipline, disease or therapy. "Limits" link may be found on the front page.

Diseases

AccessMedicine

Online collection of medical textbooks. Great source for understanding the standard practice of medicine.

PubMed

Global database of articles related to medicine, including health care management.

​The major database for the study and practice of medicine. Limit search to "review article," to find the current state of research on a particular topic. Review articles provide a coherent view of the  latest research on a particular area including advances and discoveries in a specific discipline, disease or therapy. "Limits" link may be found on the front page.

Genomics

 

AccessMedicine

Online collection of medical textbooks. Great source for understanding the standard practice of medicine.

Frost & Sullivan

Reports and market trends encompassing various technology-, energy-, and manufacturing-related fields.

Emphasizes science/technology that is ready for commercialization.  Good analysis of latest research and development for biotechnology, diagnostics, medical devices and therapeutics sectors.  Use "Advanced Search" and limit search by keywords in the title, i.e., "genomics." To find the the"Advanced Search" screen, select "Search" from the left column and then select the magnifying glass icon.

MarketResearch.com Academic

Reports from market research firms covering health care, consumer goods, publishing, manufacturing, and other markets and industries.

Market research database that covers many sectors within the Life Sciences industry. Search by keyword to identify reports relating to genomics. Note, the results are listed by relevancy, but you may want to click the "Published" link to re-order by date.

Health Insurance

Health Affairs

A searchable e-journal and provides articles by topic collections and/or thematic issues from countries around the world.

​The leading journal of health policy thought and research—covering both domestic and international spheres. Use "Topics" tab to browse articles on particular subjects, e.g.,"Payment."  

Health Business Fulltext Elite

Journal articles on all non-clinical aspects of health care management.

​Provides access to journal articles on all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care management.  Limit search by keywords in the title, abstract or subject fields.  Use drop-down box to select field and enter keywords, i.e., su=health insurance.

Health Care

The health care industry encompasses a wide spectrum of health-related issues from insurance to public health. This resource guide culls sources with health care-related information, including topics such as scientific developments, HMOs, and health policy issues.

​ Developed by Baker librarians, this guide highlights the top resources within the Harvard collection for health care research. The guide is organized by topics including, health care payers (insurance), ethics, finance and health care providers.  

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Detailed descriptions of companies, industries, and mutual funds.

​For a coherent analysis of the managed care sector, select the industry survey, "Healthcare- " from the drop down menu, Industry Surveys located in the S & P Industry Publications box.  Industry Surveys cover industry trends, forecasts, major players and market share data, key ratios, and statistics. Select the Industries tab to get a selection of the international industry surveys.

Medical Devices

MarketResearch.com Academic

Reports from market research firms covering health care, consumer goods, publishing, manufacturing, and other markets and industries.

Market research database that covers many sectors within the life sciences and health care sectors. Select the "Life Sciences" link to browse reports on the medical devices industry. Search by keyword in title to identify reports relating to a particular device. Note, the results are listed by relevancy, but you may want to click the "Published" link to re-order by date.

Medical Devices

This guide points to the best medical devices focused resources available to the HBS community. See also the related research guide on Biotechnology, Pharmaceuticals, and Health Care.

Produced by librarians in Baker, the guide suggests top resources by type of information for the medical devices sector.

ScienceDirect

Articles from journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences (including business and management).

 Access the full-text of hundreds of scientific journals. Use the Advanced Search feature and select "Medicine and Dentistry" from the Subject drop-down menu. This is an HU resource so you may be required to enter your Harvard Key.

Personalized Medicine

Academic Search Premier

Multi-disciplinary database that covers a comprehensive collection of education journals and publications.

​Great resource for access to personalized medicine articles from across academic disciplines. This is an HU resource, you may be prompted for your Harvard Key.

Frost & Sullivan

Reports and market trends encompassing various technology-, energy-, and manufacturing-related fields.

Emphasizes science/technology that is ready for commercialization. Basic search works well for a search on "personalized medicine".

PubMed

Global database of articles related to medicine, including health care management.

​The major database for the study and practice of medicine. Limit search to "review article," to find the current state of research on a particular topic. Review articles provide a coherent view of the  latest research on a particular area including advances and discoveries in a specific discipline, disease or therapy. "Limits" link may be found on the front page.

Pharmaceuticals

BCC Research

Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology worldwide.

​A database of comprehensive market research and industry reports. Select "Pharmaceuticals" from the "My Categories" drop-down window at the top of the page to browse the current reports or search by keyword.

Frost & Sullivan

Reports and market trends encompassing various technology-, energy-, and manufacturing-related fields.

Good analysis of latest research and development for biotechnology, diagnostics, medical devices, pharmaceuticals and  therapeutics sectors.  Basic search using keywords of specific emerging technology works well. For example, keyword, "radiotherapy" retrieves over 200 reports including many that discuss the radiotherapy market and emerging trends.

MarketResearch.com Academic

Reports from market research firms covering health care, consumer goods, publishing, manufacturing, and other markets and industries.

​Market research database that covers many sectors within the Life Sciences industry. Select "Life Sciences", then select "Pharmaceuticals" to browse the collection or search by keyword. Note, the results are listed by relevancy, but you may want to click the "Published" link to re-order by date.

Pharmaceuticals

This guide points to the best pharmaceuticals focused resources available to the HBS community. See also the related research guide on Biotechnology, Medical Devices, and Health Care.

​Developed by HBS librarians, this guide highlights the top resources within the Harvard collection for pharmaceutical research. The guide is organized by topics including, Regulation, Pipeline/R&D, Drug Information and Prices.

Surgical Procedures

BIOSIS Previews

A comprehensive database for life sciences research. Use the "Advanced Search" feature to create effective search strategies. This is an HU resource so you may be required to enter your Harvard Key.

National Center for Health Statistics

Comprehensive U.S. health statistics. Go to FastStats on the site for statistics on diseases, medical conditions and significant public health topics. 

​Provides access to the National Hospital Discharge Survey, National Survey of Ambulatory Surgery, and Health, United State- all of which provide data about surgeries in the US.

Telemedicine

AccessMedicine

Online collection of medical textbooks. Great source for understanding the standard practice of medicine.

​Includes a concise overview of the evolution of telemedicine in critical care. Use keywords for specific topics or browse clinical and basic science libraries.

BCC Research

Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology worldwide.

​ A database of comprehensive market research and industry reports. Strong coverage of the latest IT applications and developments in health care.  Deep analysis of all factors affecting global markets for particular emerging technologies such as telemedicine. 

Frost & Sullivan

Reports and market trends encompassing various technology-, energy-, and manufacturing-related fields.

​Emphasizes science/technology that is ready for commercialization.  Strong coverage of the latest research and development on information technology applications in health care. For example, search on the keyword "telemedicine" and you will retrieve over 100 reports published in the last 3 years.

Therapeutic Areas

Frost & Sullivan

Reports and market trends encompassing various technology-, energy-, and manufacturing-related fields.

​Good analysis of latest research and development for biotechnology, diagnostics, medical devices, pharmaceuticals and therapeutics sectors.  Basic search using keywords of specific emerging technology works well. For example, keyword, "radiotherapy" retrieves over 200 reports including many that discuss the radiotherapy market and emerging trends.

Medline Plus (Health Topics)

Research health topics by therapeutic area using this Medline collection. Each therapeutic area (whether it be a specific body location/system, disorder/condition or diagnosis/therapy) is described with an overview and information on current research, clinical trials, links to journal articles and organizations specific to that area.

PubMed

Global database of articles related to medicine, including health care management.

​The major database for the study and practice of medicine. Limit search to "review article," to find the current state of research on a particular topic. Review articles provide a coherent view of the  latest research on a particular area including advances and discoveries in a specific discipline, disease or therapy. "Limits" link may be found on the front page.

RadiologyInfo.org

Published by the Radiological Society of North America and the American College of Radiology, this site describes how various x-ray, CT, MRI, ultrasound, radiation therapy and other procedures are performed. The website contains over 115 radiologic procedures and is updated frequently with new information.  It includes a section on Stereotactic Radiosurgery (SRS) and Stereotactic Body Radiotherapy (SBRT). 

ScienceDirect

Articles from journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences (including business and management).

​Access the full-text of hundreds of scientific journals. Use the Advanced Search feature and select "Medicine and Dentistry" from the Subject drop-down menu. This is an HU resource so you may be required to enter your Harvard Key.