Overviews and Analysis

Where can I find restaurant industry profiles and analysis?

 

Clubs in Town & Country

A statistical review of the operating and financial performance of private clubs in North America. Provides information on income from membership dues, food and beverage sales, guest room rentals, and other sources. Expense statistics are presented for the restaurant, golf, utilities, maintenance, clubrooms, and administrative departments.  For older editions, Check Harvard Availability.

Eurostat - Tourism Overview

Annual tourism statistics for European countries including capacity and occupancy of hotels, tourism trips, employment in the tourism industry, etc.

IBISWorld

IBISWorld publishes reports on industries in the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada and China.

Mintel Reports

U.S. consumer market studies and primary and secondary data analysis for topics including food, beverage, apparel, beauty, retail, and travel. Demographic specific reports are also available.  

Passport

Market research reports on consumer products and industries worldwide from Euromonitor International.

In-depth consumer market analysis, statistics, and top industry players in over 200 countries. Select "Travel and Tourism" under Industries.

PricewaterhouseCoopers - Hospitality and Leisure

PwC publishes US Hospitality Directions on a quarterly basis. The reports have a near-term outlook for US hotels with data from leading hotel market data provider, STR Global.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Detailed descriptions of companies, industries, and mutual funds.

Best for a broad industry overview. Click "Industries" drop-down menu for industry surveys. Relevant industries include Airlines; Hotels, Restaurants & Leisure; and Restaurants.

Travel & Tourism Competitiveness Report

The World Economic Forum's Travel and Tourism Competitiveness Index measures “the set of factors and policies that enable the sustainable development of the travel and tourism sector.” Select this title from the list of available Forum reports.

Trends in the Hotel Industry

Ref. TX909.A1 H3 in the Stamps Reading Room
Features in-depth analyses of hotel revenues, expenses, and profits. The data is arrayed in a variety of property type, geographic location, rate, and size categories.

Yearbook of Tourism Statistics

Ref. G155 .A1 Y43 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Travel statistics by country.

Companies

Company databases: Which to choose?

Target List:  How do I create a list of companies by industry, location, and/or size? 

Where can I get lists of fast growing companies?

 

Plunkett's Airline, Hotel & Travel Industry Almanac

Ref. G155 .A1 P58 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Annual publication with industry trends, statistics, and company profiles. Coverage is international in scope, but mostly in the U.S.

Travel+Leisure World's Best Awards

Lists the top rated hotels, cruise lines, and spas, and more.

 

Careers, Associations and Events

How can I find conferences and trade shows for a given industry?

 

American Hotel & Lodging Association (AHLA)

Provides industry news, statistics, and forecasts as well as links to a variety of industry resources and job postings.

European Travel Commission

Publishes an annual European Tourism: Trends & Prospects report.

Hospitality Sales & Marketing Association International

The web site includes news on the industry. Once can sign up for a 60 day trial with full access to research and resources.

International Hotel & Restaurant Association (IH&RA)

Organization of national industry associations, institutions, operators, and owners.

National Restaurant Association

Fact sheets, trends and forecasts, and statistics by state.

U.S. Travel Association: Events

Events sponsored by the U. S. Travel Association. Also includes some industry statistics.

Vault Online Career Library

In-depth industry guides including internship information, career advice and user-generated content on companies and career issues. HBS alumni version available via eBaker. 

Hospitality: includes a career guide on hospitality.

World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC)

Provides reports on the travel and tourism industry worldwide.

 

News and Journals

Cornell Hospitality Quarterly

Research articles address new management principles, practical advice, analysis of trends, and recommendations for career development.  

Hospitality Design

Topics include architects, restaurants, interior design, sustainable development and industry trend.

Hospitality Net

Hotel industry news, weekly hotel data, and free market reports.

HotelNewsNow.com

Hotel industry news including weekly occupancy, average daily rate, and revenue per available room numbers by Smith Travel Research (STR). 

Nation's Restaurant News

News and white papers covering the foodservice industry including restaurants, restaurant chains, marketing, operations, and events.

QSR Magazine

News on the quick service restaurant industry. The QSR 50 reports sales and number of units for the top 50 chains by segment.