Overviews and Analysis

BCC Research

Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology worldwide.

Has good health care and related technologies coverage.

Consumer-Driven Health Care: Implications for Providers, Payers, and Policymakers

Professor Regina Herzlinger documents how the consumer-driven health care movement is being implemented and its impact on insurers, providers, new intermediaries, and governments.

European Commission - Public Health

Health data and reports covering the European Union.

Frost & Sullivan

Reports and market trends encompassing various technology-, energy-, and manufacturing-related fields.

Includes market and technology reports on the health care sector.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Library includes Sage Handbook of Healthcare: Global Policies, Business Opportunities, Scientific Developments and general background on other health care related e-reference books. (Select the Medicine section.)

Globalization and Health

Provides articles on health care issues and challenges in specific countries and globally.

Health Affairs

A searchable e-journal and provides articles by topic collections and/or thematic issues from countries around the world.

Plunkett Research

Market research, industry trends and statistics, company profiles, and tables for public and private companies.  

Search for Plunkett's Health Care Industry Almanac.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Detailed descriptions of companies, industries, and mutual funds.

Health care industry reports and profile from CFRA. 

WHO World Health Report

Published annually by the World Health Organization. Reports are international in scope and focus on specific health-related trends and issues.

 

 

Ethics

BMC Medical Ethics

An open access, peer-reviewed journal.

Finance

Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)

Measures patient-level health data from local, state, and national data collection organizations (including hospitals, clinics, emergency departments and physician's offices.

In Vivo: The Business & Medicine Report

Monthly publication that includes industry trends and analysis, interviews with analysts and executives, and information on deals and regulatory issues for the the biopharma, medtech, and diagnostics sectors.

International Journal of Health Care Finance and Economics

Academic articles on health care finance from an international perspective.

Health Care Delivery

Health Business Fulltext Elite

Journal articles on all non-clinical aspects of health care management.

Find articles from academic and industry journals covering various aspects of health care delivery, including topics such as organizational dynamics in hospitals, and error prevention.

PubMed

Global database of articles related to medicine, including health care management.

ScienceDirect

Articles from journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences (including business and management).

Find articles from professional and academic journals on various health care delivery topics. Suggested search terms include: "health care AND delivery process." Limit terms to Abstract, Title, Keywords. Modify the search accordingly.

 

Health Care Payers (Insurance)

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)

CMS content includes reports, newsletters, data and publications relating to health care coverage in the U.S.

Health Plan Facts, Trends and Data

Includes a directory of plans by state.

HMO/PPO Directory

Profiles of U.S. managed health care organizations arranged by state.

State Health Facts

Published by the Kaiser Family Foundation. Provides state-level health financing, health costs and budgets, and health coverage data.

Weiss Ratings' Guide to Health Insurers

A quarterly compilation of health insurance company ratings and analyses.

Health Care Providers

American Hospital Association (AHA)

National organization of 37,000 individual members and approximately 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, and other providers.

Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care

Monitors the distribution and use of medical resources throughout the United States.

Health Care Analysis: An International Journal of Health Care Philosophy and Policy

Publishes articles on health care education, health care professional practice, and all areas of health care systems and provisions.

Health Resources and Services Administration

Statistics on workplace supply and demand, malpractice payments, and adverse actions. 

Hospital Statistics

Published by the American Hospital Association (AHA), a good comparative source for US hospital data, including a 5-year trends for most indicators. Also includes historical data (1946-2006) for some indicators.

Medical Group Management Association

Focuses on important topics in private practice management including business operations, quality care, and risk management.

Policy and Regulation

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Formerly known as the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research, this organization provides access to data, for both researchers and consumers, about the U.S. health care system.

National Conference of State Legislatures - Health

Access to reports, articles, and legislation on various health care topics. 

National Institutes of Health: Office of Technology Transfer

Find information on policies, licensing, royalties, and process.

OECD Health Policy Studies

Reports, working papers and data on international health policy issues. Use "physician" as a search term for quick access to the relevant publications.

PAHO Publications

Analysis of health care system and issues in Central and South American countries.

Careers, Associations and Events

American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE)

An international professional society of more than 30,000 health care executives who lead hospitals, health care systems and other health care organizations.

America's Health Insurance Plans (AHIP)

National association representing nearly 1,300 member companies providing health insurance coverage to more than 200 million Americans.

American Hospital Association (AHA)

National organization of 37,000 individual members and approximately 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, and other providers.

Congress on Healthcare Leadership

Annual conference seminars on many health care-related topics. An employment referral service is also available.

FierceHealthcare

Provides news, events, whitepapers, webinars, and jobs on health care industries.

Statistics

American Hospital Association Survey Databases

 A comprehensive census of U.S. hospitals based on a survey conducted by the American Hospital Association.

Bloomberg

Current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures for both international and domestic markets.

BI <GO> for North American hospital facility data, news, and analytics.

CDC - Hospital Utilization

Statistics on inpatient care, outpatient care, and hospital emergency department care. 

Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook

Brings together from a variety of sources data on many medical conditions.

National Center for Health Statistics

Comprehensive U.S. health statistics. Go to FastStats on the site for statistics on diseases, medical conditions and significant public health topics. 

OECD iLibrary

Country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Alumni version available via eBaker. 

Provides access to global comparative data about health expenditures and financing, and health care systems. Select the "Statistics" tab on the top of the page, and then select "OECD Health Data" under the "Databases" column.

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research

Provides data and reports from public opinion surveys. Surveys include questions on how patients view their medical care, their health insurance coverage, and their views on the medical community. Strong U.S. focus, but does include a growing collection of international surveys.

World Development Indicators

Statistics from the World Bank for almost 600 development indicators, dating as far back as 1960.

Includes international statistics relating to health care and public health.

World Health Organization (WHO)

A great starting place for locating data on international health care as well as analysis of global trends and issues.