Getting Started

Disciplined Entrepreneurship: 24 Steps to a Successful Startup

Provides a comprehensive framework for entrepreneurs to develop and execute their business planning.

Entrepreneur's Guide to Business Law

Walks readers through the various stages of starting a business--from start-up and growth to an initial public offering--while highlighting the legal issues that go along with them. 

Startup Owner's Manual

Silicon Valley expert Steve Blank's essential handbook for starting a business.

Books about Entrepreneurship

Search results in Hollis for startup and Entrepreneurship books.

Understand the Market

Industry Reports

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Detailed descriptions of companies, industries, and mutual funds.

Thomson ONE

Thomson ONE features market quotes, earnings estimates, financial fundamentals, press releases, transaction data, corporate filings, ownership profiles and research from Thomson Financial.

Use ThomsonONE to locate industry analyst reports.

Market Research

BCC Research

Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology worldwide.

Frost & Sullivan

Reports and market trends encompassing various technology-, energy-, and manufacturing-related fields.

IBISWorld

IBISWorld publishes reports on industries in the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada and China.

MarketResearch.com Academic

Reports from market research firms covering health care, consumer goods, publishing, manufacturing, and other markets and industries.

Mintel Reports

U.S. consumer market studies and primary and secondary data analysis for topics including food, beverage, apparel, beauty, retail, and travel. Demographic specific reports are also available.  

Passport

Market research reports on consumer products and industries worldwide from Euromonitor International.

 

Identify Funders and Competitors

Using the databases below, you can screen for venture capital firms based on a variety of criteria.  You can also identify competitors by seeing who these firms are funding that are working in a similar space.

Capital IQ

Data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. 

Pitchbook

 Information on companies, deals, funds, investors and service providers across the private investment lifecycle.

CB Insights & Industry Analytics

Tracks global venture capital, angel investment, private equity, M&A, and IPO activity related to private companies. Individual account required. 

Angel Resource Institute

Educational resource on angel investing that publishes a directory of angel investor groups throughout the U.S. and Canada.

 

Pitch Your Idea

Resources for creating & refining pitch decks and business plans.

Get backed : the handbook for creating your pitch deck, raising money, and launching the venture of your dreams

Startup veterans Evan Baehr and Evan Loomis outline how to create a compelling pitch deck and how to plan and execute a fundraising road show that will win financial support for new businesses. 

Startup Secrets: Getting Behind the Perfect Pitch

Michael Skok presentation at the Harvard iLab.  Outlines how to put together the perfect pitch that gets your venture the attention and the funding it deserves. 

Startup Grind Pitch Deck Archive

Get inspired by this collection of pitch decks compiled by Startup Grind.

Boston Startup Events and Resources

Boston Innovation Guide

Events, workshops and courses local to Boston area.

The Capital Network

Fundraising information for entrepreneurs by investor and a listing of local events. 

 

Templates and Forms

Lexis Securities Mosaic

News, laws, and documents concerning the securities industry in the United States as well as M&A and tax-related issues.

Go to Agreements and Model Docs to find templates for starting and running a business, such as articles of incorporation, business leases, employment contracts, etc.

National Venture Capital Association: Model Documents

Industry-embraced set of model legal documents that can be used as a starting point in venture capital financings.

UpCounsel Legal Documents

Free legal documents and templates drafted by UpCounsel Attorneys, including SAFE and other financing documents.

Business Plans Handbook

A collection of sample business plans and templates, as well as a listing of organizations, agencies, and consultants; a glossary of small business terms; and an updated bibliography.

Bplans

Guides and templates on how to write a business plan.

Blogs and News

Advice and perspectives from founders and venture capitalists.

A VC

VC Fred Wilson's blog.

a16z

Podcast from Adreessen Horowitz covering topics relating to technology and business & innovation.

Both Sides of the Table

Startup lessons from entrepreneur-turned-VC Mark Suster.

FeldThoughts

Blog of Brad Feld, managing director at Foundry Group.

First Round Review

Tech startup advice from First Round Capital.

forEntrepreneurs

Startup advice from David Skok.

Rob Go

News and useful advice from NextView Ventures founder Rob Go.

Steve Blank

Blog from entrepreneurial expert Steve Blank.  His site also contains an excellent selection of practical resources & tools.

Angel Invest Boston

A blog and podcast local to Boston startup scene.

How to Start a Start-up

Youtube lecture series hosted by Stanford and facilitated by Y combinator of Silicon Valley