Overviews and Analysis

Factiva

News from national and local newspapers, magazines,  trade publications and transcripts.

Use Factiva to access TechNavio reports. TechNavio reports provide data and analysis on a wide range of entertainment and media markets. The TechNavio collection includes recent market research reports on online video platforms, digital music, digital publishing, and video streaming. See our Fast Answer "Where do I access TechNavio reports?" for a recommended search strategy.

Plunkett's Entertainment & Media Industry Almanac

Ref. TK6630 .P58 in the Stamps Reading Room
Annual publication with analysis of trends affecting film and video, radio and television, cable and satellite, magazine and books, and online publishing. Provides industry contacts, Web sites, and career information. Available in print and online.

Select “Entertainment & Media” for an industry description, market trends, statistics and market analytics.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Detailed descriptions of companies, industries, and mutual funds.

Best for a broad industry overviews. Covers industry trends, forecasts, major players and market share data, key ratios, and statistics. Click on "Industries" in the top navigation bar, and select “Media” or "Broadcasting, Cable & Satellite"; See the Global Industry Surveys link for the “Media- Europe” report.

Vault Online Career Library

In-depth industry guides including internship information, career advice and user-generated content on companies and career issues.

Primarily used for career research, Vault guides are also a good source for industry overviews. Select “Industries and Professions” to find reports on a range of entertainment industries including film, media & entertainment, music, newspapers & magazines, sports, television, and theater. Reports provide an overview, background, structure and outlook for each industry.

Companies

Capital IQ

Data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. 

FactSet

Platform used to analyze financial data from global equity and fixed income markets.

OneSource Global Business Browser

Public and private company and industry information including company profiles, news, business and trade articles, analyst reports, executive profiles, industry intelligence, and financial data.

Thomson ONE

Features market quotes, earnings estimates, financial fundamentals, press releases, transaction data, corporate filings, ownership profiles and research from Thomson Financial.

See also:

Company databases: Which to choose?

How can I create a list of companies by industry, location, and/or size? 

Where can I get lists of fast growing companies?

Statistics

 

Communications Industry Forecast

Ref. P87 .V471 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Forecast relates historical spending patterns with the key market forces driving industry growth in deriving more than 150 revenue, unit, growth, and market share projections for the media and communications industry.

eMarketer

Market data, statistics, and analysis on the Internet, e-business, online marketing, media, and emerging technologies.

Includes international market information for media usage, music, television and publishing. 

Music ID

Historical and current music sales and rankings data from sources including Billboard, Official Chart Company, and GfK Entertainment. The database covers over 30 countries.  

SNL Interactive

News data and analysis about the finance and media industries, primarily within the United States.

Media specific content covers TV Networks, Broadcasting (radio & TV) and Film and TV Programming.

SRDS

Circulation data and advertising rates for publications in the United States. Also provides U.S. lifestyle and market demographics.

Statista

Statista is a searchable database of statistics, studies, dossiers, infographics and more.

Statista covers a wide range of entertainment/media sectors including Books & Publishing; Music; Radio, TV & Film; and Sports. 

See also:

Where can I find data on the music/recording industry? 

News and Journals

Billboard

Keeps music and video retailers, radio programmers, and music fans up to date on what the public is buying.

Broadcasting & Cable

Weekly magazine for the broadcast and cable television, radio, satellite, and interactive multimedia industries.

Business Insider Intelligence

Technology-related news and reports.

Business Insider Intellgence covers Apps and Platforms, Digital Media, Internet of Things (IoT), Payments/E-Commerce and Fintech. Register for an account and sign up for alerts to learn when new reports and analysis are released.

Hollywood Reporter

Includes film, television, cable, music, interactive media, and home video. Delivers breaking news and solid in-depth stories plus box office grosses, TV ratings, video and music charts, and film and TV production charts.

Variety

Covers film, television and cable, home video, music, new media, theater, and finance. Includes Nielsen's television ratings every Tuesday.

Careers, Associations & Events

Careers

MBA Career & Professional Development (CPD)

Career resources for HBS MBA students.

Alumni Career & Professional Development (CPD)

Career resources for HBS Alumni.

Vault Online Career Library

In-depth industry guides including internship information, career advice and user-generated content on companies and career issues.

Select "Guides" tab at the top of the Vault launch page. Select "Media and Entertainment" on the left column to browse a wide range of entertainment sector guides including film, music, publishing and television.

Associations

Motion Picture Association of America

The MPAA and its counterpart, International MPA , represent producers and distributors of motion pictures. Includes a chronology of recent legislation affecting the motion picture industry, and summary statistics on movie viewing.

National Association of Broadcasters

Features sections on legal and regulatory affairs, science and technology, market information such as a 10-year history of Nielsen and Arbitron diary response rates, and current industry news. Members include representatives of radio and television stations and networks; associate members include producers of equipment and programs.

National Cable & Telecommunications Association

Provides historical background describing the cable television industry and links to cable programmers, associations, and trade magazine sites. Members include franchised cable operators, programmers, and cable networks.

Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA)

Aims to protect intellectual property rights and the First Amendment rights of artists. Includes information on technology, legislation, censorship, piracy, Web licensing, and international trade. The Research and Data section contains market data available in pdf format including "Annual Manufactures' Unit Shipments," "Cost of a CD," (CD production), as well "Annual Consumer Purchasing Trends."

Events

American Film Market & Conferences

Industry leaders come from over 70 countries and include acquisition and development executives, agents, attorneys, directors, distributors, festival directors, financiers, film commissioners, producers, writers, and the press.

Film Finance Forum

Created by Winston Baker, the forums are designed to educate equity and debt financiers on the latest trends and strategies for film investing while mitigating risks, provide producers with effective approaches to fundraising, and offer both audiences ways to create great content and generate revenue through various distribution platforms.