Overviews and Analysis

U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)

Provides data and research on the environment and energy sources including the Annual Energy Outlook and the International Energy Outlook.

International Energy Agency

Publishes research and data on energy security, economic development, and environmental protection. Select the "Topics" tab to access data by subject. Free access to some publications and executive summary of reports by country or topic.

BCC Research

Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology worldwide.

Energy is one of the industry sectors covered.

Frost & Sullivan

Reports and market trends encompassing various technology-, energy-, and manufacturing-related fields.

Market and technology analysis including oil, gas, solar, wind, biofuel, and other energy sources.

World Energy Outlook

Covers all sectors of the industry, providing current data and forecasts on demand and consumption.

Petroleum (Oil and Gas)

International Petroleum Encyclopedia

Ref HD 9560.5 I59 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Includes information on petroleum drilling, production, pipelines, and refining on a country-by-country basis, as well as key industry statistics and industry updates.

Oil: Crude and Petroleum Basics

Introduction to oil energy products and how they function. Provides a road map for EIA data and additional industry statistics. Also includes information about other types of energy.

OPEC

Provides reports and data such as prices, production and oil reserves.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Detailed descriptions of companies, industries, and mutual funds.

Includes useful background information and trends on the Oil, Gas & Consumable Fuels; Energy Equipment & Services; and Gas Utilities industries.

Renewable Resources

General

Alternative Fuels Data Center: Alternative Fuels and Advanced Vehicles

US Department of Energy page covers fuels such as biodiesel, biomass to liquids, coal to liquids, ethanol, hydrogen, natural gas and more. Also provides information about fueling stations.

Greentech Media

Good source for news, brief market research reports, and focused industry events.

National Renewable Energy Laboratory

The lab, which isdedicated to the commercialization and deployment of renewable energy and energy efficiency technologies, offers developments in science and technology, and technology transfer on their site.

Renewable Energy World

Includes news, events, products, and technology overviews.

Renewable Energy Focus

Covers variety of sources such as fuel cells, geothermal, hydroelectricity, and photovoltaic.

Biofuels

Biotechnology Innovation Organization: Industrial & Environment

Covers industrial-related biotechnology, including biofuels and biomass.

Solar

International Solar Energy Society

Provides industry events and conference proceedings.

National Renewable Energy Laboratory: Solar Resource Information

Provides links to useful resources including solar maps.

Solar Energy Industries Association (SEIA)

A program of the U.S. Department of Energy. Provides information about technology, markets, and funding opportunities in the areas of photovoltaics, concentrating solar power, market transformation, and systems integration.

Wind

American Wind Energy Association (AWEA)

Includes industry outlooks, news, events, legislation, policy, resource library, and career center.

National Renewable Energy Laboratory: Wind Resources Information

Links to useful resources including wind maps.

North American Wind Power

News, and discussion of the latest trends affecting the industry.

World Wind Energy Association (WWEA)

Introduction and industry reports on technology, operation and management, and grid integration and storage.

Policy and Regulation

FERC: Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Includes news, legal resources, reports, and analysis on energy related industries.

ICLEI - Local Governments for Sustainability

An international association of local, national, and regional government organizations that have made a commitment to sustainable development. Provides news, events, and discussions on policy & regulatory issues.

LexisNexis Academic

Contains news, business, legal, and medical publications and sources, including newspapers, newsletters, magazines, trade journals, wire services, and broadcast transcripts.  

The legal component of this database includes federal and state case law, statutes, secondary sources such as law reviews, and state legal materials.

Database of State Incentives for Renewables and Efficiency (DSIRE)

A comprehensive source of information on state, local, utility, and federal incentives that promote renewable energy and energy efficiency.

Regulatory Information for the Petroleum Sector

From the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, offers regulation text, history, statutory authority, supporting analysis, compliance information, and related guidance.

World Energy Council (WEC)

News, events, regional reports, and publications focusing on policy and regulatory issues in Europe, Latin America, and North America.

Statistics

U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)

Statistics on conventional energy and major renewable energy sources, for example, Petroleum Supply Annual and Annual Energy Review.

International Energy Agency: Statistics

Provides worldwide statistics and reports on various energy related topics including renewable energy.

United Nations Energy Statistics Database

Contains basic statistics for more than 220 countries/territories. Currently, the database provides time series for the period 1950-2013 and is updated annually.

U.S. Department of Energy: Prices and Trends

Includes historical, current, and forecast pricing data for all major forms of energy. Also daily wholesale and retail prices of selected energy products, updated typically by 8:30 am.

Electricity Supply & Demand for ... for the Regional Reliability Councils of the North American Electric Reliability Council

Spreadsheet that details aggregated 10-year projections of electricity demand, electric generating capacity, and transmission line mileage. Requires login from staff in the Stamps Reading Room.

BP: Statistical Review of World Energy

These statistics cover both conventional and renewable energy, providing a world energy review.

Careers, Associations, and Events

Careers

MBA Career & Professional Development (CPD)

Career resources for HBS MBA students.

Alumni Career & Professional Development (CPD)

Career resources for HBS Alumni.

See also What resources can I use for networking?

Associations

See Where can I find associations for an industry or profession? Or, visit the other sections of this guide for more industry-specifics associations.

Events

See also How can I find conferences and trade shows for a given industry?