Emerging Market Country Profiles

Economist Intelligence Unit

In-depth country and selected industry analysis and data

Provides detailed analysis on the business environment, regulatory framework and key economic indicators of countries around the world.

EMIS (Emerging Markets Information System)

Country and company information on Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and the Middle East.

Arranged by country, this resource includes country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, and analysis; reports on financial markets, companies, and industries; exchange rates; analyst reports; and business news.

Oxford Business Group Country Reports

In-depth reports for frontier market countries and sectors.

The site also includes economic news, economic updates (by sector), videos, and interviews with government and business leaders.

Country Studies

Published by the Library of Congress, these country studies are an excellent source for country histories.

Business Source Complete

Articles from academic journals, magazines, and trade publications, as well as current company, industry and region reports.

Business Source Complete features country reports from publishers such as Business Monitor International, IHS Global, and Marketline (formerly DataMonitor). Enter the country name in the search box and scroll down to Publication Type. Select "Country Report". Click "Search".

Companies

OneSource Global Business Browser

Public and private company and industry information including company profiles, news, business and trade articles, analyst reports, executive profiles, industry intelligence, and financial data.

Thomson ONE

Features market quotes, earnings estimates, financial fundamentals, press releases, transaction data, corporate filings, ownership profiles and research from Thomson Financial.

Also provides access to analyst reports from firms such as JP Morgan, Credit Suisse and Morgan Stanley and Deutsche Bank.

Capital IQ

Data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. 

Use the "Screening and Analytics" tab to build company lists.

Commodities Data & News

DATA

Bloomberg

Current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures for both international and domestic markets.

To access Commodities data, select the yellow CMDTY button

CRB Commodity Yearbook

Features historical commodity prices and a brief analysis of various commodities.

Global Financial Data

Comprehensive economic and financial time-series database covering 150 countries and 6,500 different data series

Commodity prices back to the 19th century. Use the "Data Series" drop-down to find Commodity Indices or Commodity Prices.

See also: How do I find data on futures, options, and commodities?

NEWS

Bloomerg News placeholder

Financial Times

The Financial Times is one of the leading international business dailies. Individual account required. 

Once registered for an FT account, see the FT Commodities section for the most recent commodity news and analysis. 

Reuters

Recent news coverage of the commodities pricing in markets around the globe.

Historical Statistics/Analysis

International Historical Statistics

In print at Baker Library: Ref HA175 .M55 2003.
Three volume collection of statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. Volumes: International Historical Statistics: The Americas 1750-2000; International Historical Statistics: Europe 1750-2000; International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia and Oceania 1750-2000.

IMF eLibrary

Statistical data and reports from the International Monetary Fund.

Contains country financial data (exchange rates, foreign exchange, SDRs, money supply, capital supply, commodities, etc.). IMF databases include Balance of Payments Statistics (1948--), International Financial Statistics (1948--), Direction of Trade Statistics (1980--), and Government Finance Statistics.

World Development Indicators

Statistics from the World Bank for almost 600 development indicators, dating as far back as 1960.

Includes development indicators for public health, environment, education, and labor force.

Global Financial Data

Comprehensive economic and financial time-series database covering 150 countries and 6,500 different data series

Making of the Modern World

Images from 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850.

Industry Analysis

ABI/ProQuest

Articles from over 1,000 academic management, marketing, and general business journals. Alumni version available via eBaker. 

Well recognized as a comprehensive source for news and articles, ABI is also a great source for Business Monitor International (BMI) industry analysis for countries around the globe. From within the ABI database, select "Browse" at the top of the page. Select "Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry Reports". Browse by report subject, geography or title.

EMIS (Emerging Markets Information System)

Country and company information on Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and the Middle East.

Comprehensive collection of industry news, research, analysis and statistics. Also provides a list of top companies within an industry which can be sorted by assets or by revenue.

Passport

Market research reports on consumer products and industries worldwide from Euromonitor International.

Includes "strategy briefings," in-depth, forward-looking analysis of global trends predicted to influence consumer markets in the future.

Global Consumption Database

Data on household consumption patterns in developing countries. Select data by country and sector.

CEIC Data

Macroeconomic, industrial, and financial time series for China and other countries.

HBS currently subscribes to CEIC's Global and Chinese Premium databases,

Infrastructure

ABI/ProQuest

Articles from over 1,000 academic management, marketing, and general business journals. Alumni version available via eBaker. 

Business Monitor International (BMI) infrastructure reports are available in ABI. Updated quarterly, these reports are available for countries around the globe. From within the ABI database, select the "Browse" tab. Select "BMI Industry Reports".

Private Participation in Infrastructure Database

Data on more than 4000 infrastructure projects for 137 developing countries. Select the "Get Data" tab in the center of the page to view pre-defined reports or build custom reports by country and sector.

Transport Data & Indicators

Data and analysis on railway & private concessions and private participation in transport infrastructure. Also provides access to the Logisitics Performance Index which monitors the trade logistics performance of countries around the globe.

Macroeconomic Analysis

IMF eLibrary

Statistical data and reports from the International Monetary Fund.

Contains country financial data (exchange rates, foreign exchange, SDRs, money supply, capital supply, commodities, etc.). IMF databases include Balance of Payments Statistics, International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, and Government Finance Statistics.

Bloomberg

Current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures for both international and domestic markets.

Bloomberg is a great source for bond data.

CEIC Data

Macroeconomic, industrial, and financial time series for China and other countries.

Be sure to select the "Global" link on the left hand side of the page and then select your country from the list. Mainly covering macroeconomic time series data, CEIC also provides country-level data covering population, education, health, income, and labor indicators.

China Data Online

Data from the National Bureau of Statistics of the People's Republic of China. (Data provided in English.)

Population, education, health, income, and labor at the province, city, county, and national level. Also includes statistical yearbooks, census data, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China. The Statistical Yearbook is also freely available.

Provides external debt and financial flow data for the 136 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System.

Global Financial Data

Comprehensive economic and financial time-series database covering 150 countries and 6,500 different data series

Regulation/Risk/Sovereign Debt

Economist Intelligence Unit

In-depth country and selected industry analysis and data

Provides analysis, forecasts, alerts and background data covering risk factors in 150 major markets. Select a country, next select the "Risk" tab from the top of the page.

Standard & Poor's Global Credit Portal

Formerly known as Standard & Poor's Ratings Direct. Research on bond issues from around the world, including public finance and structured finance issues.

Provides access to the S&P Global Credit Portal, with news articles, analyses, commentaries, and reports from S&P's global networks of over 1,250 analysts. More than 14 years of ratings history and research are available.

Handbook of Country Risk: A Guide to International Business and Trade

Provides analysis on risks involved in trading in countries worldwide and assigns a rating to each country. Provides key economic indicators and performance by industry sector. There is a companion site, Coface.

Global Financial Stability Report

Assessment of global financial markets, including emerging market financing from the IMF. Focuses on current conditions and highlights financial imbalances and other issues that could jeopardize financial market stability and sustained market access by emerging market borrowers.

Worldwide Governance Indicators

A World Bank resource that measures six dimensions of governance: Voice and Accountability, Political Stability and Absence of Violence, Government Effectiveness, Regulatory Quality, Rule of Law, Control of Corruption. Data are available from 1996 - present for over 200 countries.

Corruption Perceptions Index

First published in 1995 by Transparency International, the Corruption Perceptions Index measures observed levels of corruption within a country. To view corruption/transparency data at the country level, see this link.

CountryData.com

Political risk data with over 75 country risk-related variables including political, social, economic, financial, and government stability.

Also includes domestic and international economic indicators, social indicators, ICRG Risk Ratings, and Coplin-O'Leary Forecasts.

Doing Business: Measuring Business Regulations

Data and analysis that measure the business environment of more than 180 countries and selected cities around the globe.

Handbook of Country Risk: A Guide to International Business and Trade

Provides analysis on risks involved in trading in countries worldwide and assigns a rating to each country. Provides key economic indicators and performance by industry sector. There is a companion site, Coface.

Socioeconomic Analysis

Human Development Reports

Thematic reports published annually by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). Recent themes have included; The Real Wealth of Nations, human mobility and development, climate change, and the global water crisis. The site also provides access to thematic regional reports.

OECD iLibrary

Country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Alumni version available via eBaker. 

Data and reports from OECD and non-OECD countries. Topics covered include agricu

lture, developing economies, education, employment, energy, environment, migration, social issues, and sustainable development. Also includes comprehensive data from the International Energy Agency.

World Development Indicators

Statistics from the World Bank for almost 600 development indicators, dating as far back as 1960.

Development indicators include public health, environment, education, and labor force.

Emerging Markets Research @ HBS

HBS Business History Initiative- Creating Emerging Markets

Creating Emerging Markets is an oral history project that includes over 100 interviews with business leaders throughout Africa, Asia and Latin America. Hear directly from global business leaders on a variety of topics including entrepreneurship, leadership, globalization, innovation and government regulations and how firms can create value for their immediate and extended communities. 

HBS Faculty Research

Search the HBS Faculty & Research (F&R) website by faculty name, research topic or academic unit to find books, cases, working papers and articles.

HBS Working Knowledge

Since 1999, Harvard Business School Working Knowledge has connected the School’s leading edge research and ideas on business management with practitioners, thought-leaders, and academics. Readers are introduced to the newest thinking on more than 100 business topics and industries long before they make their way into mainstream practice. In addition to our website, Working Knowledge publishes on social media and through a variety of content-sharing partnerships.