Professional Associations and Research Organizations

John L. Weinberg Center for Corporate Governance

Academic center devoted to corporate governance providing freely accessible research and news. Serves as a forum for all stakeholders interested in corporate governance.

Conference Board

The Conference Board's Governance Center provides research and news on governance processes, the general market environment and facilitation of capital formation. Research from the Governance Center is available from the "Services" tab on the Conference Board home page.

National Association of Corporate Directors

Provides studies, white papers and books covering a wide range of board related topics including but not limited to: audit & finance;board advisors; board composition; evaluation & director succession; board leadership and structure.The website provides some freely available content including current and archived issues of their magazine, NACD Directorship. Find selected research from NACD available at Baker in print here.

Harvard Law School Program on Corporate Governance

Devoted to bridging the gap between academia and practice in the area of corporate governance, the website provides free access to working papers, news, blog posts, information on conferences, relevant courses at Harvard.

Corporate Governance Network

Network within the Social Science Research Network (SSRN) that provides access to working papers and conference proceedings related to corporate governance.

Women Corporate Directors Foundation (WCD)

Global membership organization for women corporate directors. Members have access to a database that includes white papers, interviews and speeches, publications, surveys and open blogs on corporate governance.

Professional Service Firms

Deloitte: Center for Corporate Governance

Provides resources pertaining to current boardroom issues and governance trends. For example, results from The 2014 Board Practices Report: Perspectives from the Boardroom is freely available for downloading.

EY Center for Board Matters

Find insight, advice and analysis on board related matters. For current news on board and governance issues, consult Bloomberg Board Directors' Forum, sponsored by the EY Center for Board Matters.

PwC Governance Insights Center

Find freely available reports and studies on key issues for consideration for the board and audit committee, such as PwC's Annual Corporate Directors Survey. For current news and trends on boardroom issues, consult the Governance Insights biweekly newsletter.

McKinsey & Company

Find articles and research published by McKinsey on corporate governance by searching Insights and Publications on their website. For example, results from The McKinsey global survey on governance is available at no cost by registering.

Heidrick & Struggles

Provides freely available research, analysis and trends on board leadership in the Knowledge Center. Find results from Board Monitor, which tracks and analyzes trends in non-executive director appointments to Fortune 500 boards.

Books and Periodicals

Director Compensation Survey

Annual study published by the National Association of Corporate Directors.

Directors & Boards

Quarterly journal dedicated to the topics of leadership and corporate governance.

Public Company Governance Survey

The report details the 1,034 public company responses from NACD annual questionnaire with additional data compiled by Equilar, a provider of executive compensation data. Some findings include: boards are unprepared to respond to activist investors, M&A is a leading board priority, director turnover has increased, the rise in gender diversity is slow but steady and directors’ comprehension of cyber risk is low.

Responsibilities of Corporate Officers & Directors under Federal Securities Laws

Examines management and board member duties and liabilities under federal securities laws, including important areas of state law. Baker Library holds the latest edition only. Older issues are available via Harvard Depository for checkout.

Corporate Board

Contains articles written by directors of major corporations, chairmen, chief executives, legal and financial advisors.

HOLLIS+

Use HOLLIS+ to search for books and articles together in one interface or HOLLIS to search for books and periodical titles primarily. Sometimes one gets better search results in specific databases such as ABI/Proquest or Business Source Complete.

NACD Private Company Governance Survey

Check Harvard availability

Boards of Directors Annual Study

Each edition examines a different aspect of Boards. The 2014 study, for example, examines the performance of companies that have changed their governance structure. Note: More recent editions of the study and other publications on boards and governance are available from the Korn Ferry Institute.

Company Boards and Governance Issues

Finding Institutional Holdings Using Thomson Reuters in WRDS

Sources and instructions for finding institutional holdings from Thomson Reuters in WRDS.

Finding Stock Ownership

Sources and instructions for finding out who owns a particular stock, currently or historically.

Finding Data on Takeover Defenses

Sources and instructions for finding out which companies have instituted takeover defenses.

Identifying Companies with Mutiple Classes of Stock

Instructions on how to identify companies with multiple classes of stock using Bloomberg or Capital IQ.

Identifying Board Members and Executives

Instructions for putting together a list of executives or company board members.

Companies: Social Responsibility Ratings

A list of resources that provide background information on social responsibility issues and companies or rate or rank their social responsibility.

Corporate Social Responsibility Reports

Information on where to get copies of companies' social responsibility reports in Thomson ONE.