General Guidance

Using Sources Responsibly

Aimed at MBA students, this short deck provides an overview and tips/tricks for thinking about using and citing sources in papers, projects and exams.

Harvard Guide to Using Sources

Developed by the Harvard Writing Center, this guide outlines how to use, integrate, and cite sources responsibly and reviews how to avoid plagiarism.

Citation Style Guides

HBS

HBS Citation Guide

Guidelines for citing sources for written work at HBS. 

HBS Citation Guide (PDF, 359.6 kB)

APA

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association

Complete handbook to American Psychological Association style, often referred to as APA.  APA is commonly used in the social sciences.

Purdue Owl: APA Formatting & Style Guide

Developed by Purdue's Online Writing Lab. Contains resources on in-text citation and the references page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the APA classroom poster.

CHICAGO

Chicago Manual of Style

Fully searchable online version of the 15th and 16th editions of the Chicago Manual of Style.  The Chicago style is a popular citation style within the social sciences.

Purdue Owl: Chicago Manual Formatting & Style Guidelines

Developed by the Purdue Online Writing Lab.  Detailed information on The Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation. 

MLA

MLA Handbook

Guidelines and recommendations from the Modern Language Association on citing sources using MLA style.

Purdue Owl: MLA Formatting & Style Guide

Developed by the Purdue Online Writing Lab.  MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

Citation Management Tools

Below are commonly used tools to help you manage your research. For more information on using these tools, visit the Harvard Library's Research Management & Citation Tools.

Endnote

EndNote is a desktop program that helps researchers quickly collect and organize references from online sources (or elsewhere), create a searchable personal database, find and cite these references while writing, and create bibliographies formatted in their style of choice.

Refworks

Use the RefWorks citation management tool to organize citations, create bibliographies and store all of your important research documentation.

Zotero

Zotero is a free, open-source, web and browser-based citation tool. It works best with Firefox, though standalone versions are available for use with Safari and Chrome.