Overviews and Analysis

OECD iLibrary

Country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Alumni version available via eBaker. 

Online access to the OECD-FAO Agricultural Outlook, OECD in Figures, and the OECD Factbook, all of which include agribusiness-related data. Also provides access to reports, analysis, and data on countries, and topics such as health, education, demographics, and energy.

United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)

Provides access to news, reports, analysis, and statistics focusing on national and international agricultural issues. The USDA publishes the Census of Agriculture(conducted every 5 years), which is a rich source of data about agriculture in the United States.

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations

The FAO provides an information portal that allows researchers to search publications, reports, and data by title, topic, country, or statistics. The statistics portal provides access to analysis, reports, and databases focusing on issues such as agricultural production, trade, consumption, food security, prices, and resources.

Market Research

Passport

Market research reports on consumer products and industries worldwide from Euromonitor International.

 Industries of interest to agribusiness researchers will include "Consumer foodservice", "Impulse Food and Drink Channels" and "Packaged Food".

MarketResearch.com Academic

Reports from market research firms covering health care, consumer goods, publishing, manufacturing, and other markets and industries.

Sections include demographics, food and beverage, consumer goods, and service industries.

Mintel Reports

U.S. consumer market studies and primary and secondary data analysis for topics including food, beverage, apparel, beauty, retail, and travel. Demographic specific reports are also available.  

Reports of interest to agribusiness researchers include those within the "drinks," "food and foodservice," and "lifestyles" sections.

Statista

Statista is a searchable database of statistics, studies, dossiers, infographics and more. HBS alumni version available via eBaker. 

Industrial & Environmental

From the Biotechnology Industry Organization, contains current research on biofuels and biomass.

 

 

Commodities

CME Group

Features information on agricultural trading. Includes news and prices on corn, ethanol, soybeans, oats, and wheat.

United Nations Conference on Trade and Development

This section of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) site features news, analysis, research, and data relating to commodities trade and economic development.

USDA Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS)

A comprehensive source for news, analysis and data on commodities in the United States. 

USDA Office of the Chief Economist: World Agricultural Outlook Board

This U.S. Department of Agriculture Web site provides agricultural commodity data collected and disseminated by the World Agricultural Outlook Board (WAOB). See also the USDA Foreign Agricultural Service for non-U.S. national statistical data.

Wall Street Journal: Commodities and Futures

The WSJ Market Data Center includes intraday futures prices, spot prices, settlement prices and futures options.

Geography

FAO Country Profiles

From the Food and Agriculture Organization, provide access to maps, data, news, and information on countries around the world. The site also provides featured profiles and a list of low-income, food-deficit countries.

FAOSTAT

Provides data on a wide range of agricultural topics, including prices, production, food security, food safety, inputs and investments. 

Policy and Regulation

OECD: Agricultural Policy Monitoring and Support Evaluation

This OECD Web site provides access to reports on agricultural policies for countries worldwide.

World Trade Organization: Agriculture

The World Trade Organization publishes this site dedicated to the WTO's Agricultural Agreement. The site is updated with news and analysis related to the Agreement.

Science.gov

Science.gov provides direct links to all U.S. federal agency Web sites dedicated to agricultural or food research. Links include access to agricultural publications, agriculture-related patents, and attache reports.

EPA: Agriculture Laws

This Environmental Protection Agency Web site provides analysis on major statutes affecting the agricultural community in the United States, including the Clean Air Act, the Food Quality Protection Act, and the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act.

FAOLEX: Legislative and Policy Database

A collection of international food, agriculture, and renewable resource laws and regulations from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.

USDA: Regulations and Directives

This USDA Web site focuses specifically on federal laws and regulations. Topics include food distribution, food safety, food and nutrition, and crop and livestock insurance regulations.

ProQuest Congressional Legislative & Executive Publications

Find Congressional hearings, legislative histories and testimony. Limit your search to CRS (Congressional Research Service) reports to locate in-depth analysis on a wide range of public policy issues.

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations

The FAO provides an information portal that allows researchers to search publications, reports, and data by title, topic, country, or statistics. The statistics portal provides access to analysis, reports, and databases focusing on issues such as agricultural production, trade, consumption, food security, prices, and resources.