Venture Capital & Private Equity
A great starting place for research on the venture capital and private equity industry; this guide points to the best resources available to the HBS community.
Expand/Collapse All- Overviews and Analysis
-
Gilligan, John and Mike Wright. Private Equity Demystified, Second Edition. March, 2010.
Deals with motivations, risks and rewards of private equity players.Global Trends in Venture Capital: 2012 Report
Deloitte report based on survey issued in various parts of the world.Investment Benchmarks Report: Buyouts and other Private Equity, Venture Capital and European Private Equity
Check Harvard availability
Provides aggregate benchmarks on the performance of over 1,000 U.S. venture capital limited partnerships formed from 1969 to recent years. Includes summary, vintage year analysis, composite analysis, asset class comparison, and performance by industy.
Pratt's Guide to Private Equity Sources
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HG64 .P73 in the Stamps Reading Room
The introductory chapters provide a useful overview of the VC industry. The international directory includes locations, list of project preferences, type of financing, minimum investment, preferred investment, and contact person.See also books on venture capital and private equity.
- Companies
-
Capital IQ , Thomson ONE and Preqin are the premier company databases for Venture Capital and Private Equity. For more information see:
- Capital IQ Help Sheet (includes private equity search examples)
- Thomson ONE Help Sheet (includes private equity search examples)
- How can I create a list of start-up or venture capital backed companies in a particular industry?
- How can I screen for private equity or venture capital firms investing in a particular industry, stage of investment, and/or geography?
Asian Private Equity 300
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HG5701 .A853 in the Stamps Reading Room
Details the top venture capital and private equity firms in Asia. Includes industry statistics, top transactions, country overviews, and indexes by fund name, firm name and location.Directory of Alternative Investment Programs
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HG4961 .D5 in the Stamps Reading Room
Information on private equity fund investors and the funds in which they invest. Includes profiles of the private investment programs of 500 of the largest U.S. pension funds (public and corporate), endowments, foundations, banks, finance, and insurance companies.Galante's Venture Capital & Private Equity Directory
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HG4961 .G3 in the Stamps Reading Room
Company entries include name, location, key executives, capital under management, investment criteria, and preferences.Massachusetts Venture Capital and Private Equity Directory
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HG4961 .M37 in the Stamps Reading Room
Directory of venture capital and private equity firms, as well as angels and incubators located in Massachusetts. - Careers, Associations and Events
-
Careers
HBS MBA students please see MBA Career & Professional Development.
HBS Alumni please see Alumni Career & Professional Development.Getting a Job in VC
HBS Venture Capital & Principal Investment Club
Find out about what skills, knowledge, and experience you need to work in venture capital.Korb, Brian. The Glocap Guide to Getting a Job in Private Equity : Behind the scenes insight into how PE funds hire : case studies, insider tips, resumes . New York: Glocap, 2006.
Check Harvard availabilityGlocapSearch.com
Investment professional positions from analyst to general partner in private equity, leveraged buyout, venture capital, hedge fund and asset management firms. Jobs in all parts of the U.S., Canada, and in major cities in Europe and Asia. (Registration required)Dow Jones Private Equity Analyst-Holt Compensation Study
Check Harvard availability
Compensation statistics on salaries and bonuses from over 900 private equity firms. Includes summary findings, overviews, and analysis of compensation by standardized positions or titles.
Private Equity Recruitment Ltd (PER)
A recruitment firm operating in the venture capital and private equity sectors in Europe. Jobs are posted by location.See also What resources can I use for networking?
Associations
European Venture Capital Association (EVCA)
Includes searchable directory of member companies by business type, company name, and location. Also includes listing of other venture capital associations in the region.Small Business Investor Alliance (SBIA)
Includes forums, legislation, regulation, legal issues, and resources for venture capitalists in the small business investment company industry.National Venture Capital Association (NVCA)
The Web site provides links to many major regional venture capital associations around the world. Click on "Resources" to see list. The Venture Capital Institute, co-sponsored by NASBIC and NVCA, offers training courses for professionals in the principles of direct venture investing.See also Where can I find associations for an industry or profession?
Events
NVCA Events
Programs offered throughout the world on various aspects of private equity from the National Venture Capital Association.Private Equity Analyst Conference
Annual private equity conference in New York sponsored by the Dow Jones publication "Private Equity Analyst".See also How can I find conferences and trade shows for a given industry?
- Statistics
-
EVCA Yearbook
Comprehensive survey of the European private equity and venture capital industry. Statistics are listed overall and by country. For earlier copies of basic statistics see EVCA Research: Statistics.National Venture Capital Association Yearbook
Check Harvard availability
HG4961 .N382 in the Stamps Reading Room
Annual statistics on the venture capital industry in the U.S. Includes the number of new firms and funds, disbursements by industry and state, and data on IPOs and M&As. Industry sectors are analyzed individually and in relation to one another. Some annual time series go back 20 years.National Venture Capital Association—Latest Industry Statistics
Brief statistical snapshots, articles, and tables with a variety of venture capital statistics for the latest quarter and year. The articles are helpful in placing the statistics in context; the statistics in the articles go back two to five years.PricewaterhouseCoopers Money Tree Survey
A quarterly survey with overviews of venture capital and private equity in the U.S., and statistics by industry, state, and firm.Private Equity Funds-of-Funds: State of the Market
Global Venture Capital and Private Equity Attractiveness Index
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HG 4751 .P42 in the Stamps Reading Room
Provides statistical data on pricing, funds raised and other trends in the sector.
Created from a research project at the IESE Business School. - Daily News
-
AltAssets: Global Private Equity News and Research *
News and opinion from the United Kingdom. Also features a list of funds and a jobs board.Deal Pipeline (The)
Provides news coverage and company deal analysis in the area of M&A, private equity, VC, business auctions, financings, and bankruptcies.New York Times DealBook *
News on mergers and aquisitions, investment banking, private equity, venture capital, IPOs, and hedge funds. Email notification is available.PE Hub *
News on private equity, venture capital and buyouts. A daily email notification (PE Wire) is available. The MBA Forum section of the site requires a school access code to register. That of HBS is here. Forum registration does not give access to the the archive, which requires a paid subscription.* These sources are combined in the News section to the right.
- Journals
Asia Private Equity Review
Check Harvard availability
Reports on private equity investment activities in Asia.Asian Venture Capital Journal
Check Harvard availability
Venture capital activities in the Asia-Pacific region. Covers fund-raising, investments, exits, and the people behind the deals.Buyouts
Check Harvard availability
A newsletter for managed buyouts, leveraged acquisitions, and special situations.European Venture Capital and Private Equity Journal
Check Harvard availability
Pan-European private equity intelligence. Includes news and data and analysis on investment activities.Journal of Private Equity
Check Harvard availability
Presents research and highlights trends and strategies for private equity investing.The Private Equity Analyst
Check Harvard availability
This is one of the main newsletters serving investors and managers of alternative assets.Private Equity Europe
Check Harvard availability
Trade journal for private equity professionals in Europe.Private Equity Week
Check Harvard availability
Weekly newsletter of deal activity taking place in the private equity market.Venture Capital Journal
Check Harvard availability
News and analysis of private equity markets.See also Find articles for databases to search on the topic.
HBS Resources
- Working Knowledge: Venture Financing
- HBS Faculty Interested in Private Equity
- HBS Faculty Interested in Venture Capital
Related Guides
Custom Search
Search sites selected by HBS librarians.
