Hedge Funds
- Overview
-
A Guide to the Language of the Futures Industry
Many of the terms included in this glossary by the Commodity Futures Trading Commission are used in the hedge fund sector.Hedge Fund Essentials
History, strategy definitions, and additional details from Greenwich Alternative Investments, a hedge fund related investment products and services firm.Hedging Your Bets: A Heads Up on Hedge Funds and Funds of Hedge Funds
A primer from the SEC on hedge funds for the investor considering this type of investment.The Differences Between Mutual Funds and Hedge Funds
Overview provided by the Investment Company Institute. - Analysis, Funds and Indexes
-
Bloomberg Academic and Bloomberg Professional
- For Hedge Fund information type "HFND", then press the green GO key
- See also How do I screen for or find performance and rankings of hedge funds in Bloomberg?
Hedge Fund Index
The Hedge Fund Marketing Alliance provides a list of indexes following different hedging strategies and methodologies in tracking the market. Many sites require free registration to view and/or download data. Links to other resources also are provided.Morningstar Direct
Screen for hedge funds by strategy, performance, size, and other criteria. From the menu choose "New," then "Advanced Search," then "Hedge Fund". To screen by strategy search by "Morningstar Category."The U.S. Offshore Funds Directory
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HG4530 .U24 in the Stamps Reading Room
Annual publication profiling offshore hedge funds. - Careers, Associations and Events
-
Careers
HBS MBA students please see MBA Career & Professional Development.
HBS Alumni please see Alumni Career & Professional Development.From MBA Career Services (HBS only):
-
Salary Data (In Statistics files see data for Financial Services - Hedge Funds.)
Bloomberg Academic and Bloomberg Professional
Search for jobs in the financial sector by title and geographic location. Type "JOBS" and hit GO.Glocap Search
Investment professional positions in hedge funds, private equity, leveraged buyout, venture capital, and asset management firms at all levels. Jobs in the U.S., Canada, and major cities in Europe and Asia.Hedge Me: Insider's Guide: U.S. Hedge Fund Job Opportunities
Check Harvard availability
HG 4530 .S39 in the Stamps Reading Room - Service Desk
Information on careers and compensation in the hedge fund industry.Hedge Fund Compensation Report
Check Harvard availability
HG173 .H43 in Stamps Reading Room - Service Desk
Glocap's compensation information for the hedge fund industry.Vault Online Career Library
See the Vault Career Guide to Hedge Funds.Hedge Fund Jobs Digest
This resource which requires an individual subscription maintains a database of current hedge fund job opportunities. HBS students who are first time registrants using their HBS email address will get a 75% discount off the standard charge ($79/qtr; $197/yr) which includes access to their Hedge Fund Careers Guide and Compensation Report. Click on this link to do so.See also What resources can I use for networking?
Associations
Asia Hedge Fund Association
The Asia chapter of the Hedge Fund Association.Hedge Fund Association
International nonprofit association of hedge fund managers, service providers, and investors. Web site includes articles and information on the hedge fund industry.Managed Funds Association (MFA)
Association for investment managers in hedge funds, futures, and other alternative investments. Provides information about hedge funds, regulations and the industry response to them, and events. Some information is restricted to members.See also Where can I find associations for an industry or profession?
Events
HedgeFundConferences.com
Information on events worldwide.See also How can I find conferences and trade shows for a given industry?
- News and Journals
-
AR: Absolute Return + Alpha
Check Harvard availability
Monthly coverage of what's happening in the hedge funds sector. Charts, such as the Asia Hedge Fund 25, are available online at Institutional Investor.com in the Rankings Archive, but are nicely formatted in the print version.Futures: News, Analysis and Strategies for Futures, Options, Forex and Stock Traders
Check Harvard availability
Often includes coverage of recent trends in the hedge fund sector.Institutional Investor.com
Includes rankings such as The Hedge Fund 100, Hedge Fund Compensation Report, Hedge Fund Top Analysts, The Fund of Hedge Funds 50, Hedge Fund All America (and All Europe) Research Team. Follow the "Publications" link for American or International editions then scroll down for link to "Rankings Archive."Journal of Alternative Investments
Available via Institutional Investor Journals. The official publication of the Chartered Alternative Investment Analyst Association (CAIA), and a leading source of new research and analysis in the field of alternative investments. Follow the "Journals" link.See also Find articles for databases to search on the topic. Factiva includes numerous major financial publications; search using the "Industry" index term "Hedge Funds."
A great starting place for research on hedge funds; this guide points to the best resources available to the HBS community.
