Sign in to Baker Library
DIBAR in Business and Industry
Dive into the literature of research and practice in the diversity, inclusion and belonging space using all or any of the following selected resource. Topical areas include (but not limited to): communication, culture of inclusion, diversity and technology, workforce development, and leadership; these categories intersect with issues of unconscious bias, micro-aggressions, antiracism, and more.
Tip: Using Advanced Search, combine keyword(s) in specific search field.
| ABI/ProQuest | Provides articles on diversity, inclusion, and belonging from academic and industry publications. |
| Business Source Complete | The journal articles included in this database overlap with those in ABI/Proquest; however, each database has some articles that others do not have. For example, Business Source Complete has full-text articles of Harvard Business Review exclusively. |
| PsycINFO | Provides articles and studies on diversity, inclusion, and belonging from psychology and related disciplines. |
| HOLLIS | Contains all of Harvard's print and electronic materials, including articles pulled from selected databases on DIBAR related topics. Tip: Narrow your search with the filters on the right-hand side or a search result page. |
| Faculty Research | Find HBS Faculty research on diversity, inclusion, and belonging, including cases featuring underrepresented protagonists. Current MBA, PhD, and Cross-Registered students can request via our case request form. |
TOPICAL FEATURES
Racial Gaps Across the Economy
Research from McKinsey provides a fact base to document the racial gaps that exist in the US economy today and offer a vision of what could be gained if they were closed.
Current Awareness
News
Identify recent news, learning opportunities, and research related to diversity, inclusion, belonging, and anti-racism.
| Factiva | Use subject filters to screen for news on minority-owned businesses, gender equality, affirmative action, LGBTQ rights, etc. For more instruction, please refer to our Fast Answer on Factiva Advanced Searching. |
| Nexis Uni | Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis. Tip: Use keywords such as race OR diversity OR LGBTQ OR gender and limit to news. |
| Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Info Blast | A monthly newsletter published by Baker Library that provides the HBS community a resource to stay engaged with current diversity, inclusion, and equity topics. |
Learning and Awareness
Below are selected research centers that provide information and studies related to diversity suggested by Race, Gender and Equity Initiative and Baker Library.
- Diversity and Inclusion Research Centers
Babson College Center for Women's Entrepreneurial Leadership
Boston College Center for Work & Family
Boston University Center for Antiracist Research
Bentley Center for Women and Business
Berkley Haas Center for Equity Gender & Leadership
Rutgers Center for Women and Work (CWW)
Simmons University Center for Gender in Organizations
Stanford VMware Women’s Leadership Innovation Lab
UMASS Lowell Center for Women and Work
University of California Hastings College of the Law
UToronto Rotman Institute for Gender and the Economy
Notre Dame Initiative on Race and Resilience
NYU School of Law Center for Diversity, Inclusion, and Belonging
Data Sources
| Job Patterns for Minorities and Women in Private Industry | The US Equal Opportunity Commission's “Job Patterns For Minorities And Women In Private Industry” are data from periodic reports from public and private employers, and unions and labor organizations which indicate the composition of their work forces by sex and by race/ethnic category. You can find information by industry and job category. |
| Bloomberg | Access Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) data via the Bloomberg terminal in the Stamps Reading Room. Information is available for public companies only, but includes % of minority and women employees and managers. |
| BoardEx | BoardEx provides full details on public company boards and senior management from companies around the globe. It allows you to search board members and senior management by gender, and also by affiliation with six ethnicity association networks of Asian, Black, Latino, Middle East, Native American and Multiple Associations (a person belongs to more than one ethnicity association network). |
| Preqin | You can create a list of Minority-Owned or Women-Owned Venture Capital and Private Equity firms via Preqin. Go to Fund Managers>Advanced Search> More Filters> Firm Details. |
| Statista | Use keywords to find information on employment trends, industry statistics, consumer demographics and more. |
| Fast Answers: Workplace Diversity Resources | Find additional sources of data and information regarding workplace diversity. |
Careers
Use these resources to build target lists of companies and firms. For example, filters are available to screen for minority owned and women owned firms.
| Preqin | You can create a list of Minority-Owned or Women-Owned Venture Capital and Private Equity firms via Preqin. Go to Fund Managers>Advanced Search> More Filters> Firm Details. |
| Orbis | Includes filter for companies owned or managed by women or by minorities. Found under the company filter options. |
| Fast Answers: Companies: Rankings | Various resources for company rankings by topic (diversity, working mothers, etc.) |