Overview

Differences Between Mutual Funds and Hedge Funds

Overview provided by the Investment Company Institute.

Guide to the Language of the Futures Industry

Many of the terms included in this glossary by the Commodity Futures Trading Commission are used in the hedge fund sector.

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission Fast Answers: Hedge Funds

A primer from the SEC on hedge funds for the investor considering this type of investment.

Hedge Fund Essentials

History, strategy definitions, and additional details from Greenwich Alternative Investments, a hedge fund related investment products and services firm.

Analysis, Funds and Indexes

FactSet

Platform used to analyze financial data from global equity and fixed income markets. Individual account required. 

Includes some data on hedge funds.

Preqin

Information on private equity and venture capital companies, funds, and deals.

Preqin's hedge fund products and services provide a complete 360 degree view of the industry, including institutional investors' plans for hedge fund investments, fund performance, fund strategies, fund managers and fund terms.

U.S. Offshore Funds Directory

Ref. HG4530 .U24 in the Stamps Reading Room
Annual publication profiling offshore hedge funds.

Bloomberg

Current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures for both international and domestic markets.

For hedge fund information, type "HFND," then press the green GO key.

Hedge Fund Index

The Hedge Fund Marketing Alliance provides a list of indexes following different hedging strategies and methodologies in tracking the market. Many sites require free registration to view and/or download data. Links to other resources also are provided.

Morningstar Direct

Multi-currency research platform that provides performance and holdings analyses of investments.

Screen for hedge funds by strategy, performance, size, and other criteria. From the menu, choose "New," then "Advanced Search," then "Hedge Fund." To screen by strategy, search by "Morningstar Category."

Careers, Associations and Events

Vault Online Career Library

In-depth industry guides including internship information, career advice and user-generated content on companies and career issues. HBS alumni version available via eBaker. 

Hedge Funds: see the Vault Career Guide to Hedge Funds section in the Vault database.

Bloomberg

Current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures for both international and domestic markets.

Search for jobs in the financial sector by title and geographic location. Type "JOBS" and hit GO.

Hedge Fund Association

International nonprofit association of hedge fund managers, service providers, and investors. Web site includes articles and information on the hedge fund industry.

Managed Funds Association

Association for investment managers in hedge funds, futures, and other alternative investments. Provides information about hedge funds, regulations and the industry response to them, and events. Some information is restricted to members.

Glocap

Investment professional positions in hedge funds, private equity, leveraged buyout, venture capital, and asset management firms at all levels. Jobs in the U.S., Canada, and major cities in Europe and Asia.

Hedge Fund Compensation Report

HG173 .H43 in Stamps Reading Room - Service Desk
Glocap's compensation information for the hedge fund industry.

Hedge Fund Jobs Digest

This resource which requires an individual subscription maintains a database of current hedge fund job opportunities. HBS students who are first-time registrants using their HBS email address will get a 75% discount off the standard charge ($99/qtr; $300/yr) which includes access to their Hedge Fund Careers Guide and Compensation Report.

Hedge Me: Insider's Guide: U.S. Hedge Fund Job Opportunities

HG 4530 .S39 in the Stamps Reading Room - Service Desk
Information on careers and compensation in the hedge fund industry.

Hedge Fund Conferences

Information on events worldwide.

News and Journals

Institutional Investor.com

International finance research and information, including team rankings, league tables, rankings on deals, hedge funds, asset management, and securities firms.

Includes rankings such as The Hedge Fund 100, Hedge Fund Compensation Report, Hedge Fund Top Analysts, The Fund of Hedge Funds 50, Hedge Fund All America (and All Europe) Research Team. Follow the "Publications" link for American or International editions, then scroll down for link to "Rankings Archive."

Institutional Investor Journals

Full-text issues (current and archival) of quarterly publications covering research on global investment and finance.

Includes Journal of Alternative Investments, the official publication of the Chartered Alternative Investment Analyst Association (CAIA), and a leading source of new research and analysis in the field of alternative investments. Follow the "Journals" link.

AR: Absolute Return + Alpha

Monthly coverage of what's happening in the hedge funds sector. Charts, such as the Asia Hedge Fund 25, are available online at Institutional Investor.com in the Rankings Archive, but are nicely formatted in the print version.

Futures

Often includes coverage of recent trends in the hedge fund sector.