Overviews and Analysis

Operating Ratios for Management Consulting Firms

Ref. HD 69 .C6 O64 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Annual reports of industry norms such as fee arrangements, financial operating results, employee recruiting, compensation and benefits, billing procedures, and other key management information.

Consulting Industry Almanac

Profiles consulting firms across functional areas, tracks the latest industry trends, and provides information on additional sources. Available in print and online.

Companies

Pensions & Investments: Consultants

Focuses on investment consulting firms. Resources include rankings, firm profiles, and a report on the industry.

Vault: The Best Consulting Firms

Scroll down to the "Management & Strategy Consulting Firms Rankings." Find Vault rankings including: Vault Consulting 50, Most Prestigious Consulting Firms, Best Boutique Consulting Firms, Best Consulting Firms in Each Practice Area, Best Consulting Firms to Work For and Best Consulting Firms for Diversity. For complete access to Vault content use individual Vault login.

Consulting Magazine: Rankings

Includes several rankings on topics ranging from "Top 25 Consultants," "Best Firms to Work For," Small Jewels," and "Women in Consulting."

Gale Directory Library

Online access to directories of associations, broadcast media, brands, business information, consultants, and publications.

"Companies & Consultancies" is one of the directories that can be searched by specialty and geographic location.

Careers, Associations and Events

Association of Management Consulting Firms (AMCF)

Lists member firms, association publications, a calendar of events, press releases, and also provides a referral service.

Institute of Management Consultants USA

Geared to consultants interested in careers as sole practitioners. Provides a directory of consultants, workshops, conference information, articles, and papers. Includes the current issue of IMC Times, which highlights events sponsored by the IMC and information on IMC certification.

Vault Online Career Library

In-depth industry guides including internship information, career advice and user-generated content on companies and career issues.

 Covers information on case interviewing, a description of the industry, and profiles of the top 50 consulting firms.

Career & Professional Development

HBS MBA students, please see MBA Career & Professional Development.
HBS Alumni, please see Alumni Career & Professional Development.

Institute of Management Consultants USA Annual Conference

Annual conference sponsored by the Institute of Management Consultants USA.

Management Consultancies Association (MCA)

The primary professional association for consultants in the U.K. Includes a statement of best practices for the profession, a career guide, and back issues of a report on the industry; current issue is available for a fee.

The Consulting Summit

A bi-annual event sponsored by Consulting Magazine.

Management Consulting: A Complete Guide to the Industry

Biswas, Sugata and Daryl Twitchell Management Consulting: A Complete Guide to the Industry. New York: John Wiley, 2002.

News and Journals

Outlook

A publication of Accenture.

Strategy+Business

A publication of PwC Strategy& LLC, the website includes the full text of articles and special features such as RSS feeds.

Consultants News

Newsletter tracks the management consulting industry. Contains valuable rankings and trends in the profession.

Consulting Magazine

Geared toward management consultants; articles cover innovative ideas, business strategies, client performance, career options, and guidance.

McKinsey Quarterly

Topics include business strategy, technology, finance, and management. Articles are written by current and former McKinsey consultants and draw from contemporary client research. The journal publishes four standard issues and two themed feature issues per year.