Real Estate
- Design
-
HU Graduate School of Design - Architecture Guide
This guide by the Frances Loeb Library has an extensive list of resources on the business/development side of design.The Great Buildings Collection
Browse for images of buildings by building type (e.g., factories, air ports, commercial buildings) or styles (e.g., art nouveau, high-tech, post modern). Gives brief information about the building, and resources for further study.The Whole Building Design Guide
This Web site from the National Institute of Building Sciences has a wealth of information on design criteria, as well as tools and references from public and private sources. The tour of the site is highly recommended. - Investment, Finance and Capital Markets
-
General
Korpacz Real Estate Investor Survey
Check Harvard availability
Stamps Reading Room - current periodicals
Quarterly analysis of various sectors of the real estate market (e.g., retail, warehouse, apartment) and markets in major U.S. cities based on investor surveys.National Council of Real Estate Fiduciaries
Produces the NCREIF Property Index (NPI), used as an industry benchmark to compare an investor's own returns against the industry average. Includes indexes of returns by region and property type.National Real Estate Investor
Check Harvard availability
Covers office, industrial, retail, multi-family, hotel, mixed-use and senior sectors as well as brokerage, property management, the environment and international. The Web site has full-text of articles and current news.Pensions and Investments Online Real Estate Investment Managers
Ranks real estate asset managers by various criteria.Real Estate Finance & Investment
Check Harvard availability
Weekly trade magazine for institutional investors.See also How can I get real estate information in Bloomberg?.
CMBS
CMBS.com
Contains a free securitization search. Other features require registration; read the conditions carefully.Commercial Mortgage Securities Association
Site includes industry statistics, research and news.Mortgages
Mortgage Bankers Association
Includes research, reports and insight on the real estate finance industry. Although some information is for members only, most of their Research and Forecasts section is available to the public.The Mortgage Market Statistical Annual
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HG 4655.M67 in the Stamps Reading Room
Statistical data on the mortgage and asset securities marketplace. Volume I covers the primary market on originations, purchases, and sales. Volume II covers mortgage-related securities markets.More sites selected by HBS librarians and shared on Delicious.
REITs
National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts
Produces the global and domestic indices for publicly-owned real estate, the national trade association for REITs, and publicly-traded real estate companies.Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
See REITs for a good overview of real estate investment trusts.More sites selected by HBS librarians and shared on Delicious.
See also How can I find out about REITs?
- Construction and Development
-
BuildingGreen Suite
Helps building industry professionals design and build construction projects that minimizes ecological impact and maximizes economic performance. Includes access to Environmental Building News articles, lists for GreenSpec products, and detailed project case studies.Buildings.com
Online magazine of trends, transactions, and people in the construction industry.Lincoln Institute of Land Policy
The tools section has data on land and property values, property taxation, and university development. Also includes information on land trusts, and visual tools for planning population density.McGraw Hill Construction
Aggregates news and information from Architectural Record, Engineering News Record, GreenSource, and other McGraw Hill publications. Some parts of site are not free.Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
See Homebuilding for a good overview of the residential construction industry.Urban Land Institute
Publishes reports on emerging land use trends and issues. Many of the reports are available at Harvard.More sites on construction selected by HBS librarians and shared on Delicious.
More sites on sustainability in construction selected by HBS librarians and shared on Delicious.
- Market Conditions
-
CB Richard Ellis Research Center
Briefings and reviews of real estate markets worldwide. Free registration is required.中国房地产统计年鉴 = China Real Estate Statistical Yearbook
Check Harvard availability
Statistics on Chinese real estate in Chinese and English at the Fung and Yenching libraries.Emerging Trends in Real Estate: The Americas
Check Harvard availability
Emerging Trends in Real Estate: Asia Pacific
Check Harvard availability
Emerging Trends in Real Estate: Europe
Check Harvard availability
Annual publications that assess real estate conditions. The current editions are available online from the Urban Land Institute (in the page for the specific edition).Expectations & Market Realities in Real Estate
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HD 251 .E97 in the Stamps Reading Room
Annual publication that analyzes conditions in real estate markets.Knight Frank Research Reports
Reports on specific residential and commercial markets as well as some global reports.Jones Lang Lasalle Research
Brief reports on market conditions around the globe.Torto Wheaton Research
Includes About Real Estate, weekly commentary on real estate markets, and an archive of reports. Free registration is required to view these sections.More sites selected by HBS librarians and shared on Delicious.
- Commercial and Industrial
-
Commercial Property Executive
The Web site from the publisher of Commercial Property News Check Harvard availability. Although the print stories are not part of the site, it does feature news and analysis by property type, region, investment type, and other topics. Weekly email newsletters are available.National Association of Industrial and Office Properties (NAIOP)
For developers and owners of industrial, office, and related commercial real estate throughout North America. The Research Foundation features reports on topics such as the economy, immigration, and green building.Society of Industrial and Office Realtors
Information on the global activities of professionals in industrial and office real estate.More sites selected by HBS librarians and shared on Delicious.
- Residential
-
Harvard University's Joint Center for Housing Studies
Studies and data on domestic housing.HUD User
Extensive data and reports including local U.S. residential real estate market conditions.RAC Report
A survey for relocation appraisers and consultants of residential market conditions in major markets across the country.More sites on housing and residential properties selected by HBS librarians and shared on Delicious.
See also Where do I find statistics on existing home sales and prices?
- Careers, Associations and Events
-
Careers
HBS MBA students please see MBA Career & Professional Development.
HBS Alumni please see Alumni Career & Professional Development.From MBA Career Services (HBS only):
-
Real Estate 101 Presentation
Real Estate 101 Video
Beyond the Job Bank Presentation
Beyond the Job Bank HandoutMcGraw-Hill Construction Career Center
A place where job seekers can post resumes and search for jobs.BOMA International Career Center
From the Building Owners and Managers Association. Search for jobs by keyword and/or location.REAL-JOBS
A jobs site tailored to commercial real estate professionals.See also What resources can I use for identifying and networking with company employees and other people?
Associations
American Real Estate Society (ARES)
For real estate professionals, researchers, and academics. Site has access to online versions of their publications. Also includes a jobs page geared to academics.National Association of Realtors
Topical sections include government affairs, research, law and policy, technology, and education. The Research section has data and reports on commercial, residential, international sectors as well as on the business and technology of realtors.See also Where can I find associations for an industry or profession? Or, visit the other sections of this guide for more industry-specific associations.
Events
American Real Estate and Urban Economics Association
AREUEA organizes three conferences a year, which are designed to provide an open forum for the exchange of ideas and the dissemination of research relevant to applied decision making in real estate finance and urban economics.REALTORS Conference and Expo
Annual meeting of the National Association of RealtorsSee also How can I find conferences and trade shows for a given industry?
- News and Journals
-
Applied Science and Technology Index
Search for articles in this index as well as in the databases listed in Find articles.Commercial Investment Real Estate
Check Harvard availability
Market conditions and trends in the commercial real estate area.Real Estate Issues
Check Harvard availability
Semi-annual publication of the Counselors of Real Estate examines issues and trends in the current real estate environment.Real Estate Finance Journal
Check Harvard availability
Focuses on financing, liability, investments, taxes, and asset management.See also Find articles for databases to search on the topic.
More news sources selected by HBS librarians and shared on Delicious.
HBS Resources
Related Guides
Custom Search
Search Web sites selected by HBS librarians:
News
