Baker Library | Bloomberg Center

Browse Database A-Z Listing

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

A

Access

ABI/ProQuest

Summaries and citations from over 1,000 academic management, marketing, and general business journals.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors
  • HBS intranet (alternative to HU PIN; does not include "Find It @ Harvard" for locating full-text)

Amadeus

A database of public and private companies in European countries, including much of Eastern Europe.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Audit Bureau of Circulation - ABC

Audited circulation reports and publishers' statements for newspapers, consumer magazines, and B2B publications from the United States, Canada, and other countries back to 1996.
  • HBS intranet
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Back to top

B

Access

Balance of Payment Statistics

Time series for balance of payments and international investments from the International Monetary Fund.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Bank Scope

Information on public and private banks throughout the world.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Bankruptcy Insider

Provides extensive proprietary bankruptcy data.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Bankruptcy Law360

A database of proprietary news stories in bankruptcy litigation, law and policy.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Best's Insurance Reports

Company profiles of property, casualty, life and health insurance companies in the United States and Canada.
  • Current HBS faculty, students, and staff in Baker
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Bloomberg Academic

Current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures for both international and domestic markets.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff in Baker
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Bloomberg Professional

Current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures for both international and domestic markets.
  • Current HBS faculty, students, and staff in the Exchange

Boston Census Research Data Center

Provides restricted access to a wide range of non-public, longitudinal micro-data for economic, demographic, and healthcare censuses and surveys.
  • Current Harvard University faculty and doctoral student researchers.

Business Periodicals Index

Indexes business magazines, and trade and research journals 1983-.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Business Periodicals Index Retrospective

Indexes more than 1,000 business journals, trade publications, and magazines, 1913 through 1982.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Business Source Complete

Citations, summaries, and full text of articles from academic journals, magazines, and trade publications. Also includes current company, industry and region reports.
  • HBS intranet
  • Authorized Baker visitors
  • HU PIN (alternative to HBS intranet access)

Back to top

C

Access

Capital IQ

Data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people.
  • Current HBS faculty, students, and staff

CareerSearch

Provides information on over 3.5 million public and private companies in the U.S. and more than 600,000 international firms to aid in finding job leads.
  • HBS intranet
  • Authorized Baker visitors

CCH Internet Research Network

Covers aspects of business law and corporate organization.
  • HBS intranet on HBS campus
  • Authorized Baker visitors

CCH Tax Research Network

Contains federal and state individual, estate and corporate tax information.
  • HBS intranet on HBS campus
  • Authorized Baker visitors

CEIC Data

Macroeconomic, industrial and financial time series for China and other countries.
  • HBS intranet
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Center for Research in Security Prices - CRSP

Contains security-level historical pricing, returns, and volume data on more than 20,000 stocks (inactive and active companies) from the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ markets.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

Compact Disclosure

Selected financial information found in the SEC filings of U.S. publicly traded companies.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff in Baker
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Compustat

Standard & Poor's Compustat, Global Vantage, Research Insight, and Emerging Markets Database (EMDB).
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

Conference Board

Reports on key issues in business management and economics.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

CountryData.com

Political risk data from the PRS Group is drawn from two risk methodologies: Political Risk Services and the International Country Risk Guide.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

CSMAR

Provides Chinese financial market information.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

CUSIP/ISID Plus Access

CUSIP numbers and ISID global identifiers for over 525,000 issuers and over 7 million securities, including both active and inactive instruments.
  • HBS intranet

Back to top

D

Access

Datastream

Historical, global coverage of equities, stock markets, commodities, futures, currencies, options, bond markets, company financials, and economic data.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff in Baker

Deal.com

Provides news coverage and analysis on M&A, private equity, IPOs and bankruptcy.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Direction of Trade Statistics

Value of merchandise exports and imports between each country and its trading partners from 1980 to the present.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Directors Database

Allows screening and reporting on directors and select officers.
  • HBS intranet

Back to top

E

Access

EconLit/CSA

A comprehensive indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Economatica

Equity analysis tool providing stock, commodity, currency, and inflation data for Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Mexico, Peru, and Venezuela back to 1986.
  • Current HBS faculty, doctoral students, and staff via Research Services

EIU Data Services: City Data

Contains pricing information on more than 160 products and services in 140 cities worldwide.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

EIU Data Services: Country Data

Source of economic indicators and forecasts providing data series on economic structure, foreign payments, external debt stock, external debt service, external trade, trends in foreign trade, and quarterly indicators.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

EIU Data Services: Market Indicators & Forecasts

Industry, demographic and economic data and forecasts.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

EIU.com: Country Commerce

Operating conditions, commercial laws, and business regulations of approximately sixty countries worldwide.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

EIU.com: Country Finance

Comprehensive reports and analysis on the financial systems of developed and major developing countries.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

EIU.com: Country Report

Quarterly analysis and forecasts of the political, economic, and business environment in nearly 200 countries.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

eMarketer

eMarketer provides updated grasp-and-go market data, statistics and analysis on the Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Emerging Markets Database - EMDB (see Compustat)

Eurekahedge Hedge Funds

Profiles of hedge funds and funds of funds in North America, Europe, Latin America, and Asia.
  • Current HBS faculty, students, and staff in Baker
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Euromonitor (see Global Market Information Database)

Execucomp

Tracks executive compensation in S&P 1000 firms.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

Back to top

F

Access

Factiva

News and information on industries, companies, and business and management topics.
  • HBS intranet
  • Authorized Baker visitors
  • HU PIN (alternative to HBS intranet access)

FAITS - Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies

In depth information on IT related topics, companies, and products.
  • HBS intranet
  • Authorized Baker visitors

First Call Historical Database

A history of First Call’s Real-Time Earnings Estimates, including consensus and detail broker estimates, company-reported actuals, and company-issued guidelines going back to 1990.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

First Call Real-Time Earnings Estimates

Real-time delivery of research notes, earnings estimates, equity, and fixed-income ownership information, and corporate news releases.
  • HBS intranet
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Forrester

Research and analysis focusing on new media, computing, software, networking, telecommunications, and the Internet.

Frost & Sullivan

Reports covering technology and market trends in aerospace and defense, energy, biotechnology healthcare, telecom, information technology, transportation, electronics, and semiconductors.
  • HBS intranet

Back to top

G

Access

Galante's Venture Capital & Private Equity Directory

A searchable form of the annual print directory covering firms coordinating and providing private equity funding from seed stage to buyouts.
  • Current HBS faculty, students, and staff in Baker
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Gartner Online Information Resources

Offers information technology-related research, news, analysis, and trends.
  • HU PIN

GDF Online - Global Development Finance

External debt and financial flow data for the 136 countries that report public and publicly guaranteed debt to the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Global Financial Data

Comprehensive economic and financial time-series database covering 150 countries and 6,500 different data series.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Global Insight (formerly DRI)

Comprehensive coverage of U.S. financial, economic, and industry data.
  • HU PIN

Global Market Information Database

Market research reports about various consumer products and industries worldwide.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Global Vantage (see Compustat)

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar from our web site to facilitate access to Harvard licensed material.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

GuideStar Premium

Information about the missions, programs, and finances of more than 1.7 million IRS-recognized organizations.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Back to top

H

Access

Harvard Business Review

Monthly publication of the Harvard Business School.

Health Business Fulltext Elite

Journal articles on all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care management.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Historical Annual Reports (see Proquest Historical Annual Reports)

Historical Wall Street Journal

The complete Wall Street Journal in digital format from 1889-1990.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Hoover's Online

Covers public, private, and international companies. Includes overviews, major industry trends, industry links, and IPO information.
  • HBS intranet
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Back to top

I

Access

I/B/E/S

Historical earnings estimates for nearly 30,000 global companies.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

Icarus/Dun & Bradstreet

Directory of public and private companies in the United States.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

IMD World Competitiveness Online

Screen for countries on criteria related to domestic economy, international trade, international investment, government efficiency, business efficiency and infrastructure.
  • HBS intranet on HBS campus
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Indiastat.com

Statistics from Indian government and industry associations.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

InfoTech Trends

Indexes periodical publications for data on computers, peripherals, software, storage, the Internet, and communications equipment.
  • HBS intranet
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Institute for the Study of Security Markets - ISSM

Tick-by-tick data covering NYSE and AMEX between 1983 and 1992, and NASDAQ between 1987 and 1992.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

Institutional Investor Journals

Full text of current and back issues of quarterly publications covering research on global investment and finance.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Institutional Investor.com

Full text articles and complete backfile from the Americas and International editions, their hedge funds publication Alpha Magazine, and the All-American Research team rankings.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

International Financial Statistics

Statistical database from the International Monetary Fund containing country financial data (exchange rates, foreign exchange, SDRs, money supply, capital supply, commodities, etc.) dating back to 1948.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Investext (see Thomson Research - Investext)

ISI Emerging Markets

Current country and company information from more than 500 sources for emerging markets in Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and the Middle East.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

ISIS

Detailed reports on public and private insurance companies around the world.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Back to top

J

Access

JSTOR

Contains scanned images of journal issues and pages, often going back to the initial issue.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Jupiter Research

Market research reports that provide IT related market analysis, data, and forecasts in industries such as health, retailing, travel, financial services.
  • HBS intranet

Back to top

L

Access

LexisNexis Academic

Access to thousands of news, business, legal, and medical publications and information sources.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Back to top

M

Access

Making of the Modern World

Images from 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

MarketResearch.com Academic

Reports from several market research firms are available covering health care, consumer goods, publishing, manufacturing and other markets and industries.
  • HBS intranet
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Mergent Fixed Income Securities Database

Comprehensive database of publicly-offered U.S. bonds.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

MergerArbAlert.com

Research on risk arbitrage and details of thousands of M&A transactions since 1999.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

MHMG Online.com

Searchable Access to Medical & Healthcare Marketplace Guide
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Mintel Reports

Consumer market studies by Mintel analysts.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Moody's Default Risk Service

Moody's ratings actions since 1970 for all corporate and sovereign, but not municipal, debt.
  • Current HBS faculty, doctoral students, and staff via Research Services

Morningstar Principia

Tracks, rates, and analyzes over 10,000 mutual funds including monthly and annual historical data.
  • Current HBS faculty, students, and staff in Baker
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Back to top

N

Access

Nelson’s Directory of Investment Managers

Allows screening for investment managers. Descriptions include investment strategies, vehicles and products offered.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff in Baker
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Back to top

O

Access

OneSource Global Business Browser

A range of public and private company and industry information worldwide.
  • HBS intranet
  • Authorized Baker visitors

OptionMetrics Ivy DB

Historical price and implied volatility data for the U.S. equity and index options markets.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

Orbis

A global database containing information on millions of companies.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Osiris

Provides income statements, balance sheets, cash flow statements, and ratios.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Back to top

P

Access

Political Risk Service - PRS (see CountryData.com)

ProQuest Historical Annual Reports

Companies' annual reports (1844-current) available through searchable PDF images.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors
  • HBS intranet (alternative to HU PIN; does not include "Find It @ Harvard" for locating full-text)

PsychINFO

Indexes and provides abstracts for the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Back to top

R

Access

Research Insight/Compustat

Research Insight is a front-end to Standard & Poor's Compustat and Global Vantage data.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

RGE Monitor

A news aggregator that focuses on global economic and geo-strategic issues.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Back to top

S

Access

SDC Platinum - Securities Data Company

Provides detailed information on new issues, mergers and acquisitions, syndicated loans, private equity, and more for the global financial marketplace.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff in Baker

Social Science Research Network

Abstracts of scholarly working papers, forthcoming papers, and some downloadable full-text documents.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Socrates

Measures the social and environmental performance of companies in more than 50 global markets.
  • HBS intranet

SourceOECD

Publications and data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Special Issues

Indexes special issues such as league tables, year-in-review, and rankings of trade publications.
  • HBS intranet on HBS campus
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Spectrum Stock Ownership Databases

Data on stock ownership by institutions, other major holders and insiders.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

Sports Business Research Network - SBRNet

Searchable full-text news and market research.
  • HBS intranet
  • Authorized Baker visitors

SRDS Media Solutions

Circulation and advertising rates for print and nonprint media.
  • HU PIN

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Detailed descriptions of companies, industries, and mutual funds.
  • HBS intranet
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Standard & Poor's Ratings Direct

Access to credit research on bond issues from around the world, including public finance and structured finance issues.
  • HBS intranet

Back to top

T

Access

TableBase

Statistics related to market size and share, budget/expenditures, company and brand rankings, and more.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Television and Cable Factbook

Directory of television stations, cable systems, media ownership and media services in the U.S.
  • HBS intranet

Thomson ONE Analytics (see First Call)

Thomson ONE Banker

Features market quotes, earnings estimates, financial fundamentals, press releases, transaction data, corporate filings, ownership profiles and research from Thomson Financial.
  • HBS intranet
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Thomson Research

Full-text SEC filings, U.S. and international company annual reports, and downloadable financial statements for U.S. and international companies.
  • HBS intranet
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Thomson Research - Investext

Brokerage and investment reports, forecasts, statistics, in-depth financial analyses, and assessments of management/marketing strategies on companies and industries worldwide.
  • HBS intranet
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Trades and Quotes - TAQ

Intraday transactions data (trades and quotes) starting in 1993 for all securities listed on the NYSE and AMEX, as well as NASDAQ and Small Cap issues.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

Back to top

V

Access

Value Line

Information and advice on stocks, industries, mutual funds, options, and convertibles.
  • HBS intranet on HBS campus
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Vault Online Career Library

The inside scoop on what it's like to work for the profiled companies.
  • HBS intranet

VentureXpert Web

Information on venture funds, private equity firms, executives, venture-backed companies, and limited partners.
  • HBS intranet

Voting Analytics Data

Institutional investors (Mutual Funds) voting records and proxy guidelines
  • Current HBS faculty, doctoral students, and staff via Research Services

Back to top

W

Access

Wall Street Journal Online

Baker Library does not provide individual Wall Street Journal Online accounts.

Web of Science

Indexes titles and bibliographies of academic articles in the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

World Development Indicators

Statistics from the World Bank for almost 600 development indicators, dating as far back as 1960.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Worldscope

Financial information for non-U.S. public companies, updated monthly.
  • Current HBS faculty, students, and staff in Baker
  • Authorized Baker visitors

WRDS - Wharton Research Data Service

WRDS is a warehouse of financial, accounting, banking, economics, management, marketing, and public policy databases accessible through a single Web-based interface.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

Back to top

Z

Access

Zephyr

Various deal types are covered including M&A activity, IPOs, joint ventures, and private equity deals.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors
 
 
Baker Library | Bloomberg Center, Harvard Business School, Soldiers Field, Boston, MA 02163 , 617-495-6040