Venture Capital and Private Equity Industry
Company Directories & Rankings
Asian Private Equity 300
AVCJ Group Ltd , published annually
Ref. HG5701 .A853
Details the top Venture Capital and Private Equity firms in Asia. Includes Venture Capital industry statistics, top transactions, country overviews, and indexes by fund name, firm name and location.
Capital IQ
Capital IQ features data on public and private companies, investment firms, M&A, private equity and capital transactions, as well as extensive information on people. Sophisticated retrieval and personalization tools permit the ability to screen and analyze data in a variety of ways.
Tip: Click here for private equity search examples in Capital IQ.
Dow Jones Directory of Alternative Investment Programs
Dow Jones, Inc., published annually
Ref. HG4961 .D5
Information on private equity fund investors and the funds they invest in.
Includes profiles of the private investment programs of 500 of the largest
U.S. pension funds (public and corporate), endowments, foundations, banks,
finance, and insurance companies.
Tip: Search CD (available on reserve) by type of institution, location, type
of program (example buyouts, mezzanine).
Dow Jones Galante's Venture Capital & Private Equity Directory
Dow Jones, Inc., published annually
Ref. HG4961 .G3
Company entries include: name, location, key executives, capital under management,
investment criteria and preferences. Available on CD in library.
Tip: Indexing is a strong feature of Galante's, with the ability to search
by firm location (country and city), funding stage preference (R&D, seed,
bridge, LBO, distressed debt, etc.), industry stage preference, size, and assets
under management.
50 Largest Private Equity firms in the
World
Annual ranking from the magazine Private Equity International.
Massachusetts Venture Capital and Private Equity Directory
Massachusetts Investor's Digest, annual
Ref. HG4961 .M37
Pratt's Guide to Private Equity Sources
Thomson Financial/Venture Economics, published annually
Ref. HG64 .P73
International directory includes locations, list of project preferences, type
of financing, minimum investment, preferred investment, and contact person.
The introductory chapters provide a useful overview of the VC industry with
chapters on "Background on Venture Capital," "How to Raise Venture Capital," and "Sources of Business Development Financing.”
Venture Capital Report Directory
Venture Capital Report, published annually
Detailed information on how to prepare business plans. Profiles include firm
history, sources of funds, fees, decision-making processes, key management,
and profiles of investments. One volume is about the U.K. and second volume
about the rest of Europe.
Thomson ONE Banker
Information on venture funds, private equity firms, executives, venture-backed
companies, and limited partners. Includes an analytics feature to search for
fund commitments, disbursements, statistics, and performance data. Also includes market quotes, company financial fundamentals, transaction data, and ownership profiles.
Tip: To access private equity information in database click on "Private Equity" from the left navigation bar. Click here for private equity search examples in Thomson ONE Banker.
Zephyr
This database from Bureau Van Dijk offers information on various deal types including private equity, M&A and joint ventures.
