Selected HBS Resources on African Americans in Business

Provides full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes nearly 200 journals and 100 books, selective indexing for over 1,700 journals, and abstracts in English of foreign language articles.

Provides full text coverage of the history and culture a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more.  It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.

Provides full text coverage of the history and culture a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more.  It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.

Provides an introduction to the significant people, events, sociopolitical movements, and ideas that have shaped African American life from the earliest contact between African peoples and Europeans through the early 21st century.

Focusing on the making of African American society in early America from 1619 to 1830, this text traces the transition from Africa to America and the role Africans played in shaping the development of American society.

Explores the history of African American business, providing an image of the economic power of black people throughout their existence in the United States. It continues the historical account of developments in the African American business community and its leaders, describing the period from 18th-century America to the present day.

Andrew F. Brimmer was one of the nation's leading authorities on economics. His papers document the full breadth of his career as an academic, government official, and economic consultant. Dr. Brimmer's research focused on international monetary policy, capital markets, central banking, and economic issues in the African American community. This work is reflected in his extensive archives.

David A. Thomas is a recognized thought leader in the field of strategic human resource management. His papers document his research on issues relating to executive development, cultural diversity in organizations, leadership, and organizational change. Materials include correspondence, teaching notes, classroom materials, and drafts of writings and speeches.

The African-American Student Union Records document the early years and founding of this student organization at Harvard Business School. The collection contains correspondence, program records, and publications among other materials. 

Films documenting the history of the African-American Student Union, including: 
•    The African-American Student Union of HBS: A Salute to the Past a Challenge to the Future, 1994
•    AASU: Transformation Featuring Lillian Lincoln, Jeff Humber, Shaka Rashee and Pamela Thomas-Graham, 2001
•    Unite, Serve, Lead: African Americans at Harvard Business School, 2018