Overviews and Analysis

Useful for understanding the growth and impact of digital technology on industries, especially multi-channel retail.

Passport

Market research reports on consumer products and industries worldwide from Euromonitor International.

Excellent global coverage of consumer industries, including retail.  To navigate to retail-related content, select "Industries," then "Services - Retailing."

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Detailed descriptions of companies, industries, and mutual funds.

Provides thorough U.S. industry overviews on Multi-line Retail; Specialty Retail; Textiles, Apparel & Luxury Goods; and Food & Staples Retailing.

Business Insider Intelligence

Technology-related news and reports. Individual account required. 

Good coverage of e-commerce and industries/issues adjacent to retail, including payments, delivery & logistics.

Companies

To created a targeted list of retail/luxury goods companies, see: How do I create a list of companies by industry, location, and/or size?

Top 500 Guide

Ranking of the top 500 ecommerce sites based on annual sales. Published by Internet Retailer, the guide also includes analysis and additional market data.

National Retail Federation Annual Retailer Lists

Features Top 100 Retailers, 100 Fastest Growing Retailers, Top 250 Global Retailers.

Plunkett's Retail Industry Almanac

Ref. HF 5429.3 .P57 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Annual publication with industry trends and statistics, and company profiles. Available online, but much easier to navigate in print.

Statistics

Passport

Market research reports on consumer products and industries worldwide from Euromonitor International.

All of Passport's related retail reports contain comprehensive statistics covering market share, channel distribution & category sales distribution, etc.  Strong international coverage.

Statista

Statista is a searchable database of statistics, studies, dossiers, infographics and more. HBS alumni version available via eBaker. 

eMarketer

Market data, statistics, and analysis on the Internet, e-business, online marketing, media, and emerging technologies.

United States Census Bureau: Retail Trade

Provides the industry monthly sales and inventory data, annual survey data from the past ten-plus years, and detailed county-by-county data for every state in the U.S.

Luxury Goods

Passport

Market research reports on consumer products and industries worldwide from Euromonitor International.

Select "Luxury Goods" from the Industries menu. Then filter by country, type of report, or subcategory.

Thomson ONE

Features market quotes, earnings estimates, financial fundamentals, press releases, transaction data, corporate filings, ownership profiles and research from Thomson Financial.

Find industry analyst reports on the luxury market. Go to Screenings & Analysis, then Research. Search "luxury" in the title of the report. Expand date beyond Last 90 Days, and make sure you are searching Industry rather than Company analyst reports.

Financial Times

The Financial Times is one of the leading international business dailies. Individual account required. 

FT.com's Luxury 360 covers news and developments in the luxury goods industry.

Bain's Luxury Goods Worldwide Market Study

Annual report from Bain & Co.

Mintel Reports

Consumer market studies and primary and secondary data analysis (primarily for European and US countries) for topics including food, beverage, apparel, beauty, retail, and travel. Demographic specific reports are also available.  

Search using "luxury" and "affluent" for reports covering the U.S., U.K., and Canada.

Business of Fashion

 Business intelligence and news on emerging designers, disruptive technologies and global brands in the fashion and luxury goods industries.

News and Journals

Business of Fashion

 Business intelligence and news on emerging designers, disruptive technologies and global brands in the fashion and luxury goods industries.

Chain Store Age

A leading trade journal of the retail industry.  Produces annual State of the Industry Report and Chain Store Age Top 100.  Current content and past two years is available freely online; for back issues, check Harvard availability.

Factiva

News from national and local newspapers, magazines,  trade publications and transcripts.

Journal of Retailing

Theoretical and empirical research on retailing. Focus is on operations management and technology. Coverage from 1964-present is available online.  For issues prior to 1964, use the print holdings.

MMR: The Newspaper for Drug, Discount, and Supermarket Chains

News, opinion, features, financial highlights, profiles, and statistics on the industry. Available online from 2009-present.  For back issues, use the print holdings.

Women's Wear Daily

Provides access to Women's Wear Daily Current and The Women's Wear Daily Archive, covering the United States and international fashion and beauty businesses. Both current access and archive include advertising images.

Careers, Associations and Events

Careers

MBA Career & Professional Development (CPD)

Career resources for HBS MBA students.

Alumni Career & Professional Development (CPD)

Career resources for HBS Alumni.

Business of Fashion

 Business intelligence and news on emerging designers, disruptive technologies and global brands in the fashion and luxury goods industries.

BoF's Careers site is searchable by function, level, and  location. 

Vault Online Career Library

In-depth industry guides including internship information, career advice and user-generated content on companies and career issues. HBS alumni version available via eBaker. 

Associations & Events

Convenience Distribution Association (CDA)

Lists the organization contacts, activities, and publications such as state of the industry reports (free for members).

National Retail Federation

Represents state and national associations as well as large and small corporate members. Its site offers industry news, trends and statistics, directories, event listings, information on hot topics and government affairs.

Retail Industry Leaders Association (RILA)

Gives position papers and research in the areas of asset protection, finance, human resources, supply chain, sustainability and government affairs.