Getting Started

Faculty research collections contain research and teaching files of Harvard Business School faculty.  They often include case research, drafts of publications, lecture and seminar notes, correspondence and related subject files.  They give evidence to the development of research and teaching areas of focus at HBS over time. 

The list of collections below is sorted alphabetically by faculty last name.

A-B

Francis J. Aguilar Papers: Finding Aid

Subject files, teaching records, research and writings, and records of the professional activities of Harvard Business School professor Francis J. Aguilar. The collection also contains records of the Management Education Alliance, which Aguilar served as Executive Director for many years.

Kenneth R. Andrews Papers: Finding Aid

Teaching, consulting, research and administrative papers of Harvard Business School professor Kenneth Andrews.

Henry B. Arthur Papers: Finding Aid

The papers of Henry B. Arthur include correspondence, research, writings, administrative material, and early professional and outside consultant work before and during his tenure as a professor at Harvard Business School.

George P. Baker Papers: Finding Aid

This collection documents the professional and personal activities of Harvard Business School Dean George P. Baker. Types of materials include consulting records; speeches; writings; teaching files; photographs; research materials; and transportation timetables.

John Calhoun Baker Papers: Finding Aid

The papers of Harvard Business School professor John Baker Calhoun consist of correspondence, subject files, research and writings, course material, and work done outside HBS.

George E. Bates Papers: Finding Aid

Research, writing, teaching and consulting records of Harvard Business School professor George E. Bates. The collection contains background material relating to case development for Business Policy, Finance, Investment Management and other HBS cases.

Raymond A. Bauer Papers: Finding Aid

The collection consists of Raymond A. Bauer’s business correspondence, research and notes, speeches and presentations.

Charles A. Bliss Papers: Finding Aid

The collection consists of the teaching and administrative records of Harvard Business School professor Charles A. Bliss, including his work relating to Management Control courses, the Middle Management program and the doctoral program.

Andrew F. Brimmer Papers: Finding Aid

The collection documents the career and research of Andrew F. Brimmer, Harvard Business School professor and first African-American appointed to serve as a member of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System.

Edward C. Bursk Papers: Finding Aid

The collection documents Harvard Business School professor Edward C. Bursk's time as a faculty member at Harvard Business School and his work as editor of the Harvard Business Review.

C

Philip Cabot Papers: Finding Aid

Correspondence, teaching, speeches, writing and administrative papers of Harvard Business School professor Philip Cabot.

John G. Callan Papers: Finding Aid

Research, writing, teaching, correspondence, and outside consultant work of Harvard Business School professor John G. Callan.

Alfred D. Chandler Papers: Finding Aid

The collection includes papers of Professor Alfred D. Chandler documenting his research, teaching, and other professional activities.

Paul T. Cherington Papers: Finding Aid

The Paul T. Cherington papers document his work as a professor of marketing at Harvard Business School.

C. Roland Christensen Papers: Finding Aid

Research, teaching materials, writings, speeches, administrative records, audio recordings and other papers of Harvard Business School professor C. Roland Christensen.

Arthur Harrison Cole Papers: Finding Aid

Speeches, writings, and research material of Harvard Business School professor and librarian Arthur Harrison Cole.

Melvin T. Copeland Papers: Finding Aid

This collection consists of HBS professor Melvin Thomas Copeland's correspondence, teaching notes, research materials and notes and drafts of his book Problems in Marketing.

William J. Cunningham Papers: Finding Aid

The William J. Cunningham papers contain materials relating to railroad history and teaching at Harvard Business School.

D-F

Donald K. David Papers: Finding Aid

Consulting records, subject files, and correspondence of Donald K. David, Harvard Business School professor and Dean.

Arch R. Dooley Papers: Finding Aid

The papers of Harvard Business School professor Arch R. Dooley contain correspondence and subject files, teaching files, research and writing, consulting, outside HBS work, administrative files, and audiovisual material.

Georges F. Doriot Papers: Finding Aid

This collection consists of personal papers and annual reports for American Research and Development as well as other venture capital companies including Canadian Enterprise Development Corporation, European Enterprise Development Company and North Atlantic Capital Corporation.

Henry Farquhar Papers: Finding Aid

Correspondence, research, writing, and teaching materials of Harvard Business School professor Henry Hallowell Farquhar.

Cecil E. Fraser Papers: Finding Aid

Research, writing, administrative, and teaching records of Harvard Business School professor Cecil E. Fraser.

G-H

Lincoln Gordon Papers: Finding Aid

Teaching and administrative records of Harvard Business School professor Lincoln Gordon.

Norman S.B. Gras Papers: Finding Aid

Correspondence, professional activities, teaching material, and writings of Harvard Business School professor Norman Scott Brien Gras.

Harry L. Hansen Papers: Finding Aid

This collection documents Harvard Business School professor Harry L. Hansen's work while at HBS and his continuing work in management education after he retired. Items in the collection include subject files, correspondence, teaching records, research, writings, speeches and lectures, and yearbooks.

Russell H. Hassler Papers: Finding Aid

Company reports, budgets proposals, correspondence and notes relating to Harvard Business School Professor Russell H. Hassler's consulting work.

Robert H. Hayes Papers: Finding Aid

This collection includes papers of Professor Robert H. Hayes documenting his teaching, research, and administrative activities at Harvard Business School.

Lawrence J. Henderson Papers: Finding Aid

This collection documents the career of Lawrence J. Henderson, Professor of Biological Chemistry at Harvard University. Types of materials include correspondence, speeches, writings, and materials that document his work at the Fatigue Laboratory, the National Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the National Research Council.

Ralph Willard Hidy Papers: Finding Aid

Correspondence, research, writing, subject files, course development, and administrative material of Ralph Willard Hidy while teaching at Harvard Business School.

Ralph M. Hower Papers: Finding Aid

The papers of Ralph M. Hower contain correspondence, writings, records from outside consulting work, and teaching materials while a professor at Harvard Business School.

Pearson Hunt Papers: Finding Aid

Course work, lecture notes, reports, correspondence, articles, lectures, reviews, speeches, and news clippings of Professor Pearson Hunt while both a student and faculty member at Harvard Business School.

I-K

Nathan Isaacs Papers: Finding Aid

The collection documents the work of Professor Nathan Isaacs while teaching business law at the University of Cincinnati and Harvard Business School. The collection contains speeches, writings, correspondence, research notes and course materials.

Arthur Menzies Johnson Papers: Finding Aid

The papers of Harvard Business School professor Arthur M. Johnson consist of writing and research and HBS administrative material.

L

Henrietta Larson Papers: Finding Aid

This collections contains correspondence and teaching records of Henrietta Larson.

Paul R. Lawrence Papers: Finding Aid

The papers of Harvard Business School professor Paul R. Lawrence consist of correspondence, research, writing, teaching, administrative records, and materials pertaining to his outside activities.

Edmund P. Learned Papers: Finding Aid

Writings, speeches, correspondence and consulting records of Harvard Business School Professor Edmund P. Learned.

Dorothy A. Leonard Papers: Finding Aid

This collection includes papers of Harvard Business School professor Dorothy A. Leonard documenting her research, teaching, and professional activities.

Theodore Levitt Papers: Finding Aid

The collection includes course work, administrative material, speeches, and writings of Theodore Levitt, Edward W. Carter Professor of Business Administration and Head of Marketing Area at Harvard Business School.

John V. Lintner Papers: Finding Aid

Consulting records, correspondence, research, speeches and writings, and teaching materials of Harvard Business School professor John V. Lintner, as well as notes taken while a student at HBS. Professor Lintner’s major fields of interest were economics and business conditions, capital markets, and corporation finance.

George C. Lodge Papers: Finding Aid

This collection includes papers of Harvard Business School professor George Cabot Lodge documenting his research, teaching, and professional activities.

George F. F. Lombard Papers: Finding Aid

This collection includes the teaching and research materials of Harvard Business School professor George F.F. Lombard. Types of materials contained in the collection are correspondence, conference papers, administrative records, and teaching and research materials.

Osgood S. Lovekin Papers: Finding Aid

The collection consists of course notebooks, copies of cases, and exams kept by HBS professor Osgood S. Lovekin while a student at Harvard Business School, University of California, and Stanford University during 1921-1933. The courses include statistics, public utilities, economics, trade union policies, and physics.

M

Myles L. Mace Papers: Finding Aid

The papers of HBS professor Myles L. Mace consist of correspondence, writings, outside consulting work, biographical materials, and course work while a student at Harvard Business School.

Deane W. Malott Papers: Finding Aid

Case development files, teaching materials, correspondence, writings and photographs of Harvard Business School Professor Deane Waldo Malott.

Elton Mayo Papers: Finding Aid

Psychologist Elton Mayo was a professor and Head of the Department of Industrial Research at Harvard Business School. Types of materials included in this collection are professional and personal correspondence, research and teaching materials from HBS and abroad, writings and speeches.

F. Warren McFarlan Papers: Finding Aid

This collection documents Harvard Business School professor F. Warren McFarlan documenting his research, teaching, and professional activities. Included in the collection are biographical and publicity material, articles, book chapters, and cases, and subject files.

John G. McLean Papers: Finding Aid

The collection contains papers of Harvard Business School professor John G. McLean documenting his research and teaching in the oil industry.

Malcolm P. McNair Papers: Finding Aid

The collection consists of teaching, administrative, consulting, and business records of Malcolm P. McNair, a pioneer in retailing and in predicting trends.

R-S

Fritz J. Roethlisberger Papers: Finding Aid

This collection includes Fritz J. Roethlisberger's teaching and research materials kept by Fritz J. Roethlisberger while at Harvard Business School and his research materials relating to the Hawthorne Studies at the Western Electric Company. Types of materials include speeches, writings, correspondence, interviews, administrative files and student notes.

George B. Roorbach Papers: Finding Aid

The papers of George B. Roorbach consist of teaching materials, writings, general files, and research notes.

Clyde O. Ruggles Papers: Finding Aid

The papers of Harvard Business School professor Clyde Orval Ruggles consist of personal and professional correspondence, teaching materials, research and writings, outside activities, and administrative records.

Thomas H. Sanders Papers: Finding Aid

Course materials, speeches, articles and correspondence of HBS Professor of Accounting Thomas H. Sanders.

Dan Throop Smith Papers: Finding Aid

The teaching and research records of HBS professor Dan Throop Smith.

George A. Smith Papers: Finding Aid

The collection consists of professional papers of Harvard Business School professor, George Albert Smith kept, 1935-1969. Includes teaching, consulting and administrative records, as well as writings and speeches.

Howard H. Stevenson Papers: Finding Aid

The collection documents the career of Howard H. Stevenson, Sarofim-Rock Professor of Business Administration, Emeritus, including his teaching and administrative roles at Harvard Business School, external consulting activities, and work in the private sector.

T-W

Stanley F. Teele Papers: Finding Aid

The collection consists of records pertaining to Stanley F. Teele’s activities on the Board of Directors of S.H. Kress & Co., along with other activities outside of Harvard Business School. Also included are notes and reports prepared while a student at HBS in the MBA and Doctor of Commercial Science (DCS) programs, along with speeches and writings from his tenure as Dean.

David A. Thomas Papers: Finding Aid

This collection reflects the work of David A. Thomas as a professor of Business Administration, researcher, corporate consultant, and administrative leader at Harvard Business School.

Harry R. Tosdal Papers: Finding Aids

The papers of Harry R. Tosdal contain correspondence, administrative materials and research materials while a professor at Harvard Business School.

Andrew R. Towl Papers

The papers of Harvard Business School professor Andrew R. Towl include correspondence, teaching materials, research and writing, and administrative records.

Ross G. Walker Papers: Finding Aid

Correspondence, teaching materials, consulting records and administrative records of HBS professor Ross G. Walker.

Richard E. Walton Papers: Finding Aid

This collection consists of teaching records, research material and writings of Harvard Business School professor Richard E. Walton.  Much of Walton's research material focuses on innovation of labor-management practices of the steel industry in the United States.

Charles M. Williams Papers: Finding Aid

Case research and teaching records of Charles Williams. Materials include correspondence, newspaper and magazine clippings, research notes, and compiled data pertaining to cases researched and written by Williams. HBS cases are both rough drafts and published versions. Also included are Program for Management Development executive education teaching files from the 1980s.

Arthur V. Woodworth Papers

This collection documents the teaching career of Harvard Business School professor, Arthur Vernon Woodworth, and contains lectures, correspondence, student records, research materials, notes and other course materials.

D. Daryl Wyckoff Papers: Finding Aid

The papers of D. Daryl Wycokff contain subject files and correspondence related to his research in transportation and service industry, writings and book contracts and administrative records related to Executive Education while teaching at Harvard Business School.