Consumer Lifestyle & Buying Power

Granular data on income, purchasing power, and lifestyle of American consumers.

American Incomes: Demographics of Who Has Money

Household income trends by age, household type, race and Hispanic origin, education, region, and work status. Other books and periodicals published by New Strategist Publications contain more data and analysis on "who spends how much on what."

Who We Are: Blacks

Details size and characteristics of blacks in the United States, including attitudes, education, health, housing, income, labor force status, living arrangements, population, spending, time use, and wealth.

Racial and ethnic diversity : Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and whites

Profiles of major racial and ethnic groups in the United States.  Also included is a seventh section on attitudes by race and Hispanic origin. Within chapters, where data are available, identically structured tables appear for each racial group.

RKMA Market Research

Market research reports covering business to business, healthcare, and consumer markets.

Suggested report: Consumer Behavior

Consumer & Business Demographics

US Census Bureau: Survey Data

Demographics of potential target customers including jobs and occupations, educational attainment, employment status, school enrollment, health, housing, and more.

United States Census Bureau

Demographic characteristics, total population, social, and economic census data for the U.S. and international locations. Useful in determining market size. 

American Community Survey

Provides estimates of housing, social, demogranic and economic characteristics of people living in the United States.

United States Census Bureau: Business and Economy

Business and industry economic statistics by geography and by survey/frequency.

United States Census Bureau: County Business Patterns

Annual economic data by industry in small areas of the country.

Mapping Tools

Create tables and maps that include industry-wide or regional statistics, such as the number of companies by employment size and level of specialization, classified by the industry of the establishment.

Business Analyst Online

US demographic and business data by means of an interactive map application. Individual account required. 

Note: The above link provides information for the version of Business Analyst that must be used on-site at Baker Library.  if you would like to register for the web version of Business Analyst Online, please see the instructions at Harvard's Center for Geographic Analysis.  This has more limited functionality but can be used remotely. 

For more details,  see GIS with Business Analyst (.ppt) and Business Analyst Variables (.xls). 

SimplyAnalytics

Generates tables and maps based upon desired United States data, including population, age, race, income, employment, and education.

Social Explorer

Tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change. 

PolicyMap

PolicyMap is a fully web-based online data and mapping application that gives you access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data comes from both public and proprietary sources.

Competitors & Industry Profiles

Identify competitors and locate related industry information.

Capital IQ

Data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. 

Go to Companies->Screening to identify public and private companies and startups by desired industry, location, size, and other specific criteria.

Similar to Capital IQ but also includes analyst reports, market data and industry news & ratios.  Under Companies menu, click Build a List

Also includes "Build a list" feature, but no export option.

Factiva

Factiva aggregates news from national and local newspapers, magazines, trade publications and transcripts.

For information on competitors and their products, search this database of business and news publications, trade journals, newswires (e.g., Dow Jones, Reuters), and media programs. 

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Detailed descriptions of companies, industries, and mutual funds.

NetAdvantage includes surveys on major U.S. industries providing overview, trends, analysis, and major competitor financials.

Market Research

Market and industry reports on consumer-facing sectors.

Mintel Reports

U.S. consumer market studies and primary and secondary data analysis for topics including food, beverage, apparel, beauty, retail, and travel. Demographic specific reports are also available.  

Suggested search strategies:black consumers and/or African Americans or Black Americans and industry 

MarketResearch.com Academic

Reports from market research firms covering health care, consumer goods, publishing, manufacturing, and other markets and industries.

Suggested search strategy: African American

Statista

Statista is a searchable database of statistics, studies, dossiers, infographics and more. HBS alumni version available via eBaker. 

Suggested search strategy: African American