Telecommunications
- Overviews and Analysis
-
Forrester
Reports and briefs with statistics, graphs, and charts analyzing the effects of technology on new media, computing, software, networking, telecommunications, and the Internet. Strong in networks and enterprise telecommunications.Frost & Sullivan Online
Provides in-depth analysis monitoring all aspects of the global telecommunications market.Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Best for a broad overview. Click on "Industries" on the blue banner and select from the "Industry Surveys" drop-down menu (starting with "Communications Equipment" or "Telecommunications:").Telecommunications Market Review and Forecast
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HD9696.T443 U5719 in the Stamps Reading Room
Analyzes wireless, international, landline and enterprise markets.More reports selected by HBS librarians and shared on Delicious.
- Companies
-
International Telecommunication Union (ITU) Global Directory
Search for national regulatory bodies (member states) and telecom companies (sector members or associates).RCR Wireless Online Directory
Search for companies or browse by categories including associations, infrastructure, service provider/wireless carriers, and wireless applications.See also How can I create a list of companies by industry, location, and/or size? and Where can I get lists of fast growing companies?
NAICS Codes
Knowing the NAICS codes will facilitate searching for companies in the industry from our databases.3342 Communications Equipment Manufacturing 5171 Wired Telecommunications Carriers 5172 Wireless Communications Carriers except Satellite 5173 Telecommunications Resellers 5174 Satellite Telecommunications 5179 Other Telecommunications - Careers, Associations and Events
-
Careers
HBS MBA students please see MBA Career & Professional Development.
HBS Alumni please see Alumni Career & Professional Development.Dice
Search jobs with high tech companies by metropolitan area, job type, salary range, and keywords. Registration is required to search the jobs database.TelecomCareers.net
Technology-oriented online telecom employment center and networking tool. Comprehensive resources on career advice, associations, training, calendars, and publications are listed on the left navigation bar.USTelecom Career Center
Search job postings or post a resume.See also What resources can I use for identifying and networking with company employees and other people?
More career sites selected by HBS librarians and shared on Delicious.
Associations
Cellular Telecommunications Industry Association (CTIA)
Dedicated to promoting the wireless industry by covering government affairs, regulatory and legal issues, consumer information, and policy and research.Satellite Industry Association (SIA)
Offers an overview and history of the satellite industry as well as recent news and events.Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA)
Members are providers of communications and information technology products and services for the global marketplace. Activities include standards development, domestic and international advocacy, market development, and trade promotion programs.United States Telecom Association (USTA)
Serves as an advocate for the interests of service providers in the telecommunications industry.See also Where can I find associations for an industry or profession?
Events
Comex IT and Telecom Conference
A major event attended by industry leaders and customers.See also How can I find conferences and trade shows for a given industry?.
- Statistics
-
FCC Statistical Reports
Reports on U.S. telecommunications, cable and satellite industries.International Telecommunications Union Links to National Data
Links to statistics agency of national telecommunications regulators.Statistics of Communications Common Carriers
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HD 9696 .T44 S83 in the Stamps Reading Room
Balance sheet, income statements and operating plant statistics of regulated carriers. Also available online.Yearbook of Statistics : Telecommunication Services
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HE 7601 .Y43 in the Stamps Reading Room
Gives national statistics on telecommunications services. A list of tables is available on the Internet. - News and Journals
Network World
Check Harvard availability
Includes technology and company news. The Web site includes a career center.RCR Wireless News
Check Harvard availability
News source for the wireless communications industry. The Web site includes current news and news feeds, a careers section, and free reports.Telecommunications Online
News in the aras of mobile, carrier services, broadband, network, and infrastructure.Telephony
Check Harvard availability
Covers various aspects of the business including 3G/4G, mobile applications, and fixed mobiled convergence. The Web site includes news, news feeds and analysis.See also Find articles for databases to search on the topic.
More news sources selected by HBS librarians and shared on Delicious.
HBS Resources
- HBS Working Knowledge: Internet & Telecommunications
- HBS Working Knowledge: Telecommunications
- HBS Faculty Books on Telecommunications
- HBS Faculty Interested in Telecommunications
Related Guides
Custom Search
Search Web sites selected by HBS librarians:
