Harvard Business School

Baker Library | Bloomberg Center

 

Statistics

Understanding Statistics

Current Index to Statistics
(Harvard users only)
American Statistical Association/Institute for Mathematical Statistics
An academic index of journal articles and books on statistical theory, applications, and methods.

A Dictionary of Statistical Terms
International Statistical Institute, 1990
Ref HA17 .K4 1990
An alphabetical listing of common and unusual terms with definitions and mathematical formulas.

Glossary of Statistical Terms
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
Definitions of data collected by the OECD and key terminology. Descriptions are cited from the International Statistical Institute and other international organizations.

Statistical Analysis for Decision Making
Morris Hamburg
Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1994
Part of the Dryden Press series in management science and quantitative methods.

Statistical Techniques in Business and Economics
McGraw-Hill, 2002
Methods and tools presented and explained using illustrated step-by-step examples. Includes CD.

Statistics

General Resources

Bureau of Economic Analysis
As part of the U.S. Department of Commerce, this agency collects data and also conducts research and produces working papers that are available on the site. Produces Survey of Current Business.

Business Statistics of the United States
Bernan Press, published annually
Ref HC101 .B87
A time series for economic trends and patterns covering the U.S. economy, industry profiles, and some historical data since WWII.

FedStats
Gives access to the full range of statistics and information produced by more than 100 agencies of the U.S. government.

Global Data Locator
Bernan Press, 1997
Ref HA 36.K87
A user's guide for finding resources for statistical information organized by topic including a description of the resource and its table of contents.

Lexis/Nexis Statistical
(Harvard users only)
Indexes and abstracts from selected U.S. and state government publications, international governments and organizations, trade publications, associations, and research organizations.

Standard & Poor's Statistical Service Current Statistics
Standard and Poor's, published monthly
Ref HG4921 .S751
Recent statistics on economics, and industries. A twelve-month record of data is indexed over the last decade. Most recent issues on reserve.

Statistical Resources on the Web
University of Michigan Documents Center
International, federal, state, and local government data on comprehensive topics such as agriculture, health, housing, education, business, and industry.

U.S. Census Bureau
Includes mapping and data extraction tools for social, demographic, and economic statistics mainly for the U.S.
Tip: The Economics Programs page offers a wide range of statistics on the economy, companies, and specific industries. There is also a hyperlinked listing of International Statistical Agencies.

Statistics

Labor & Trade

Bureau of Labor Statistics
U.S. Department of Labor
From the most recent census data. Covers employment, compensation, living and working conditions, as well as a listing of additional regional resources. Allows creation of customized tables.

Comtrade
(Harvard users only)
United Nations
Global annual data presented by commodity and partner country from the U.N.'s Statistics Division.

International Trade Statistics Yearbook
United Nations, published annually
Ref HF91 .I46
Volume I covers trade by country, by commodities traded, and by major trading partners. Imports by category, exports by industrial origin, and percent share by trading partners are summarized in tables. Volume II covers trade by commodity with tables of total world trade by region and country.

Yearbook of Labour Statistics
International Labour Office, published annually
Ref HD 4826 .I36
Employment data with time series arranged by topic such as works hours, employment, labor cost, and injuries by country or regions. Includes CD.

Statistics

Domestic Government Data

FedStats
Gives access to the full range of statistics and information produced by more than 70 agencies of the U.S. government.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
U.S. Dept. of Commerce, published annually
Statistics for the U.S. with selected data for regions, divisions, states, metropolitan areas, cities, and foreign countries from reports and records of government and private agencies.
Tip: Print version of the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book and County and City Data Book available in the library.

Kurian, George Thomas and Chernow, Barbara A (editors) Datapedia of the United States: American History in Numbers
Reference HA 202 .K87 2007 In print in Baker Library.
Contains indicators of social, economic, political, and cultural developments of the United States.

LexisNexis Statistical
(HU PIN)
Indexes data from U.S. and state government publications, international governments and organizations, trade publications, associations, and research organizations.

Statistics

Global Market & Financial Data

CountryData.com
(Harvard users only)
A variety of financial ratings such as exchange rate stability, and ratings for characteristics such as corruption, external and internal conflict, government stability, investment profile, and observance of law and order. Covers countries worldwide.
Tip: Data can be downloaded.

Economist Intelligence Unit Country Data
(Harvard users only)
Source of economic indicators and forecasts providing data series on economic structure, foreign payments, external debt stock, external debt service, external trade, trends in foreign trade, and quarterly indicators.

Global Market Information Database
(Harvard users only)
Quantitative data and forecasts on consumer lifestyles, retailing, countries, and consumer markets for the global marketplace.
Tip: Select the Statistics category.

International Financial Statistics
(Harvard users only)
International Monetary Fund, updated monthly
Ref. HG3881 .I612
Macroeconomic country data covering exchange rates, interest rates, balance of payments, money and banking, prices, production, international transactions, and government and national accounts for 200 countries and 32,000 series back to 1945.
Tip: Annual print edition of International Financial Statistics Yearbook is available in the library.

International Yearbook of Industrial Statistics
United Nations Industrial Development, published annually
Ref HA155 .I68
Worldwide performance and trend data for the manufacturing sector; compares and analyzes growth patterns and structural changes within industries.

Source OECD
(Harvard users only)
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
Country studies, forecasting publications, journals, and socio-economic statistical databases. Search for or browse statistics that sometimes can be downloaded and may include data on non-OECD countries.
Tip: Select the "Statistics" tab to access this section of the main site.

TableBase
(Harvard users only)
Tabular information on companies, industries, products, countries, and markets drawn from statistical annuals, trade associations, research groups, government agencies, international organizations, and trade and business publications.

World Development Indicators
(Harvard users only)
Time series data from 1960 to 2000 on social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

Statistics

Historical Data

Global Financial Data
(Harvard users only)
Historical financial database of long-term total return data on stocks, bonds, and bills from every major market in the world dating back to 1900.

International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, Oceana
Palgrave Macmillan, 2003
Ref. HA4675 .M552
Economic growth and development in Africa, Asia, and Oceana for population, labor force, agricultural and industrial output, exports and imports, transport, communications, and finance.

International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-2000
Palgrave Macmillan, 2003
Ref. HA1107 .M5
Economic growth and development in eastern and western Europe, Russia, and the U.K. for population, labor force, agricultural and industrial output, exports and imports, transport, communications, and finance.

International Historical Statistics: the Americas, 1750-2000
Palgrave Macmillan, 2003
Ref. HA175 .M55
Economic growth and development in North, South, and Central America for population, labor force, agricultural and industrial output, exports and imports, transport, communications, and finance.

Stocks, Bonds, Bills, and Inflation Yearbook
Ibbotson Associates, published annually
Ref HG4915 .S68
The history of returns on U.S. capital markets from 1926 to the present described in overviews, tables, and graphs.


Baker Library | Bloomberg Center, Harvard Business School, Soldiers Field, Boston, MA 02163, 617-495-6040