Social Enterprise
Nonprofit Strategy, Management, and Performance
Research and Publications
Social Enterprise Initiative: Nonprofit Strategy, Management, and Performance
Harvard Business School
List of HBS faculty books, articles, and cases.
Hauser Center for Nonprofit Organizations - Publications
Harvard Kennedy School of Government
Working papers, teaching cases, newsletters, and book recommendations. Also, links to related resources and events calendar.
Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly
Jossey-Bass, published quarterly
Research, discussion, and analysis for understanding the impact the nonprofit sector has on society.
Nonprofit Management & Leadership
Jossey-Bass, published quarterly
Articles to educate managers and leaders of nonprofit organizations.
The NonProfit Times
Davis Information Group, published 22 times annually
In print in Baker Library. Stamps Reading Room -- Current Periodicals
The web site includes some articles on nonprofit management issues, the current issue of Exempt Magazine a jobs board, Resource Directory for businesses that sell to the nonprofit sector, free eNewletters, and the current NPT Top 100, an annual ranking of America's largest nonprofits.
Stanford Social Innovation Review
Stanford Graduate School of Business, published quarterly
Articles for leaders in nonprofit management, corporate social responsibility, social entrepreneurship, and philanthropy. The www.ssireview.org website includes a blog, Ask an Expert Q & A, and podcasts.
How To... Resources
MCN - Info Central
Minnesota Council of Nonprofits
Management, fundraising, and legal resources. Topics include starting a nonprofit, governance, transparency and accountability, fundraising, financial management, human resources, civic engagement and public policy, evaluation, information technology, and mission and values.
Center for What Works
Benchmarking tools and documents on improving and measuring nonprofit performance.
CharityChannel
Discussion lists, eNewsletters, file sharing, book reviews, and continuing education opportunities for professionals in the nonprofit sector. Subscription fee suggested for extensive users.
Free Management Library
Articles on nonprofit management from Authenticity Consulting LLC. Topics include boards of directors, finances, leadership, and evaluation. Citations for recommended reading are included.
Nonprofit Manager's Resource Directory
In print in Baker Library. Stamps Reading Room -- Ref. AS911.A2 L36 2002
Directory of management resources. Includes searchable database of resource providers on CD-ROM.
Organizations
Urban Institute - Nonprofits
Research and data analysis aimed at improving social, civic, and economic well-being. Browse publications on nonprofits or search for keywords - e.g., nonprofit almanac (for the annual statistical profile) or nonprofit governance.
The Bridgespan Group - Knowledge
Freely available selection of this consulting group's research and links to other nonprofit research resources.
Center for Effective Philanthropy
Research publications and assesment tools for improving management and governance.
CompassPoint - Research & Publications
Free research on nonprofit management and strategy.
