Social Enterprise
Strategic Philanthropy and Social Capital Markets
Directories of Nonprofits
GuideStar Premium
(HU PIN and Authorized Baker Visitors)
Information about the missions, programs, and finances of IRS-recognized non-profit organizations,
including public charities, private foundations and nonprofit trade associations. Grant activity, Form 990S, lists of board members and executives are available. The premium version has enhanced search options and descriptions compared to the free web version.
Great Nonprofits
Highlights local and lesser known nonprofits. Published by former editors of the Stanford Social Innovation Review. Features reviews by people who are served by, or volunteer for, the nonprofits.
Charity Navigator
Evaluates the financial health of America's largest charities.
Research
Handbook of the Economics of Giving, Altruism and Reciprocity
(HU PIN or authorized Baker Visitor)
Elsevier, 2006
Gives theoretical grounding in areas such as altruism, taxation and policy, and international aid.
Nonprofit Academic Centers Council
A membership association comprised of academic centers or programs at accredited colleges and universities that focus on the study of nonprofit organizations, voluntarism and/or philanthropy. The Web site includes a directory of member organizations.
Social Enterprise Initiative:
Strategic Philanthropy and Social Capital Markets
Harvard Business School
A list of HBS faculty books, articles, working papers and cases.
The Center on Philanthropy at Indiana University
One of the best known academic centers on philanthropy. Includes research reports and statistics on giving.
Publications
Chronicle of Philanthropy
Published biweekly
News and analysis of developments in the area of philanthropy.
Business Week: Philanthropy Table of Contents
November 26, 2007
A special section on philanthropy including articles on corporate and individual giving.
Global Giving Matters
A newsletter on best practices and innovations in philanthropy and social investment. It is produced jointly by Synergos and the World Economic Forum for members of WEF and the Global Philanthropists Circle.
Global Philanthropy
Financial Times and King Baudouin Foundation, December 10, 2007
Articles, reports and case studies from the Financial Times.
Philanthropy Journal
A. J. Fletcher Foundation
A free eZine on philanthropy issues.
The Slate 60: Analysis of The Year's Biggest Philanthropists.
Slate, February 11, 2008
Several articles on big ticket donations, plus an interactive database of the largest donors and recipients.
The Wealth Report - Philanthropy
Wall Street Journal
A blog devoted to philanthropy by Robert Frank or the Journal staff.
Affinity Organizations and Consultants
American Institute of Philanthropy
An organization that is involved with accountability of charities. Information on its rating system and articles on effective philanthropy are available for free on the Web site, but the actual ratings and descriptions are only available to members.
Center for an Effective Philanthropy
Publications, tools and conferences aimed at improving foundation performance.
Foundation Center
The organization serves foundations and those seeking funding. It includes articles on philanthropy and a search engine that retrieves links to foundations' form 990s.
FSG Social Impact Advisors
A nonprofit organization dedicated to accelerating social progress by advancing the practice of philanthropy and corporate social responsibility. In the Ideas section, see the categories of "Corporate Philanthropy" and "Mission Investment".
Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors
Nonprofit consultants to donors. Site includes numerous articles on making donations effective.
Committee Encouraging Corporate Philanthropy
The Web site has aggregate data on corporate giving plus several newsletters.
Statistics on Philanthropy
Giving USA
American Association of Fund-Raising Counsel, published annually
Ref. AS 911 .G45 In print in Baker Library
Compendium of statistics on various aspects of American philanthropy.
Chronicle of Philanthropy: Facts & Figures
Includes data on donors, charities & foundations, corporate donations and CEO compenation.
National Center for Charitable Statistics
Urban Institute
Includes statistics on the nonprofit sector, a database of nonprofits, and help for nonprofits on filing 990s. Registration is necessary to access the most detailed data.
