Harvard Business School

Baker Library | Bloomberg Center

 

Social Enterprise


The pages of this guide were compiled by librarians at the Harvard Business School to facilitate research into social entrepreneurship and related areas. Use the menu at the left to browse resources on social enterprise related topics.

Social Enterprise Search

Google Custom Search

Find information from the free websites mentioned in these pages:

HOLLIS Catalog

Find books and other material in the Harvard Libraries:

Search individual databases with social enterprise related content.

These databases are available either to the Harvard University (HU PIN) or Harvard Business School (HBS Intranet) communities.

Database Content
ABI/Proquest (HU PIN) Articles
Business Source Complete (HU PIN)Articles
Conference Board (HU PIN)Reports on key issues in business management and economics
BoardEx (HBS Intranet)Board members
GDF Online - Global Development Finance (HU PIN)Country statistics
GuideStar Premium (HU PIN) Public charities and private foundations
Handbook of the Economics of Giving, Altruism and Reciprocity (HU PIN) Theories of altruism, taxation and policy, and international aid.
SourceOECD (HU PIN)Documents and statistics from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development
Socrates (HBS Intranet)Companies' social responsibility ratings

Social Enterprise

Corporate Responsibility

Research and Publications

Social Enterprise Initiative: Corporate Responsibility
Harvard Business School
A list of HBS faculty books, articles, and cases.

Business Ethics Quarterly
Society for Business Ethics, published quarterly
Peer reviewed articles on internal ethics of business organizations, the role of business organizations in larger social, political and cultural frameworks, and the ethical quality of market-based societies and market-based relationships.

Center for Responsible Business
Haas School of Business, University of California Berkeley
This Web site includes working papers, information on conferences and a blog on socially responsible investing (SRI).

Conference Board
(HU PIN and authorized Baker visitors)
A database of reports in the areas of corporate contributions, business and education, sustainability and community relations.

CRO: Corporate Responsibility Officer
CRO Corp, published monthly
Trade journal that covers business ethics, communications, compliance and governance, environment, socially responsible investing and other related topics. Includes Ranking of Best Corporate Citizens.

Forbes.com Special Report: Corporate Social Responsibility October 16, 2008
Special report includes several articles representing different points of view of CSR.

Fuqua/Coach K Center of Leadership & Ethics (COLE)
Fuqua School of Business. Duke University.
The center "strives to influence the way students, academics, corporations, governments, and non-profits think about and practice business leadership and ethics in the 21st century." The web site includes syllabi, descriptions of cases, white papers and links to other resources.

Journal of Corporate Citizenship
Greenleaf Publishing, published monthly
Articles that integrate the theory & practice of corporate responsibility.

Company Information and Socially Conscious Investing

Socrates (HBS Intranet)
KDL
Rates companies for strengths and concerns regarding the issues of community (charitable donations), corporate governance, diversity, employee relations, environment, human rights, and products.

Corporate Watch
AFL-CIO
Specific company information is available on executive pay and proxy issues. Also provides background information on labor related issues.

Social Investment Forum
Provides background information on socially conscious investing and gives information on the performance of socially conscious mutual funds.

ResponsibleInvesting.org
Natural Capital Institute
Screen for socially conscious investment funds and the companies in which they invest.

Current Issues

There are many organizations that focus on one or more issues related to corporate responsibility. Several are listed here. Refer also to the Environmental Sustainability section of this guide and the separate guide on Corporate Governance.

BSR: Business for Social Responsibility
Membership organization that promotes corporate social responsibility. Detailed reports on a variety of issues are available

Caux Round Table
An "international network of principled business leaders working to promote a moral capitalism." The Web site includes publications and white papers on ethical capitalism.

CEOs for Cities
Fosters partnerships among city leaders, business, and academic and cultural institutions. Research reports are available.

International Business Leaders Forum
Works with business, governments and civil society to enhance the contribution that companies can make to sustainable development. The Web site includes publications about their initiative areas as well as examples of public-private partnerships.

Social Venture Network(SVN)
A nonprofit network committed to building a just and sustainable world through business, SVN's web site contains suggested books related to socially responsible business, tools and best practices, a survey to help businesses asses their performance in the areas of environment, employees, consumers, community and leadership and a list of web sites for job seekers and employers interested in "mission driven organizations."

Social Enterprise

Education (Management & Leadership)

Research and Publications

Social Enterprise Initiative: Education
Harvard Business School
A list of HBS faculty books, articles, and cases.

CASE: Council for Advancement and Support of Education
Includes a browsable library of articles, conference presentations, award-winning practices, and available books and e-media resources, as well as resources for career development and the latest issue of the Case newsletter, "Currents".

FSG - Ideas
The "Ideas" section has a category for education and includes a paper from Ernst & Young on how corporations can help transform public education.

Education & the Workforce
Business Roundtable Includes white papers on improving the education system in order to increase the skill level of the American workforce.

Education Management Administration & Leadership
Sage Publications, published quarterly
British academic journal.

Public Education Leadership Project at Harvard University
A joint program between Harvard Business School and Harvard Graduate School of Education to create and disseminate knowledge about how to manage urban school districts. Includes a description of the PELP coherence framework and a list of HBS cases associated with the program.

U.S. Charter Schools
Provides a wide range of information and links to resources to guide charter schools in every phase of their development from start-up, to expansion, to renewal.

Directory Information

GuideStar
Offers brief reports on charities. Form 990s are available to doners, grantmakers and businesses with free registration.

Search for Public Schools
U.S. Department of Education
Provides a directory of public schools in the U.S. that is searchable by name, location, school type and grade span.

Search for Private Schools
U.S. Dept. of Education
Provides a directory of private schools in the U.S. that is searchable by name, location, school type, religious affiliation, association membership, number of students and grade span.

Statistics

Digest of Education Statistics
U.S. Department of Education
Compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school.

Public Elementary-Secondary Education Finance Data
U.S. Census Bureau
Links to education finance data including revenues, expenditures, debt, and assets (cash and security holdings) of elementary and secondary public school systems. Statistics cover all states, including the District of Columbia, and are available on an annual basis. File formats for downloadable data may vary by year.

UNESCO
Initiatives and information with themes including early childhood, primary education, secondary, technical & science education, higher education, and literacy etc.

SchoolDataDirect
Detailed education information and analysis for public schools, school districts, and state education systems, including: student proficiency on statewide reading and math tests, financial data, revenue streams, new fund allocations, staff compensation, and long-term debt. Provides student and community demographic data such as income levels, property values, educational attainment levels, and population information.

Technology

Gartner Online Information Resources
Offers information technology-related research, news, analysis, and trends. Includes analysis of how technology affects education with an emphasis on education policy, education regulation, higher education systems, K-12 education systems.

Digital Directions
Education Week, September 12, 2007
Newsletter from Education Week focusing on how technology affects education.

Social Enterprise

Environmental Sustainability


The resources on this page focus on how enterprises and markets can contribute to environmental sustainability.

News and Articles

SustainableBusiness.com
Features news on sustainable business, a jobs board and database of companies.

Energy and Environment Daily
(HU PIN or authorized Baker visitor)
Attempts to cover everything that happens on Capitol Hill that relates to environmental and energy policy, including: hearings, schedules, appropriations, legislative status, and related documents. Includes a searchable archive of stories since 1996.

Greenwire
(HU PIN or authorized Baker visitor)
Published weekdays, synthesizes news from a variety of sources on environmental issues.

SSRN: Journal of Environmental Impacts of Business
(HU PIN or authorized Baker visitor)
Working papers from many institutions.

Technology

Centre for Science and Environment
Aims to increase public awareness on science, technology, environment and development; a good source for information on sustainable business and environment issues in India.

Industrial Technologies Program
U.S. Department of Energy. Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
The Industrial Technologies Program works with U.S. industry to improve industrial energy efficiency and environmental performance. The website includes information on different technologies, especially for energy intensive industries such as metals, chemicals and petroleum refining, and information on programs.

SciDevNet
Science and Development Network
Provides information on how technology can aid economic development. Among the portfolios are climate change and biodiversity, as well as information targeted to specific regions.

Organizations

Aspen Institute Business and Society program (BSP)
BSP promotes dialogues and path-breaking research ultimately creating opportunities for executives and educators to explore new pathways to sustainability and values-based leadership. BSP's websites, www.CasePlace.org and www.beyondgreypinstripes.org, are the leading sources of innovative curriculum in top business schools around the world.

Pew Center on Global Climate Change
Good analysis on climate change and reports on corporate strategies that address climate change.

Division of Technology, Industry, and Economics
United Nations Environment Programme
Offers reports and tools in the areas of sustainable consumption and production, energy, ozone depletion, chemicals, environmental technology, business partnerships, and urban environments.

Green Business Network
Co-op America
Membership organization of "green businesses." Offers information on environmentally conscious consumers.

Ceres: Investors and Environmentalists for Sustainable Prosperity
A national network of investors, environmental organizations and other public interest groups working with companies and investors to address sustainability challenges such as global climate change. Includes news and reports on various issues.

International Institute for Sustainable Development
Promotes sustainable development through partnerships and research. Provides news, reports, and free downloadable publications covering various themes. RSS subscription is available.

World Business Council for Sustainable Development
Case studies and reports in the areas of Energy & Climate, Development, Business Role, Ecosystems. Includes a database of patents that have been donated to enable the world community to reduce waste, pollution, global warming, and energy demands.

World Resources Institute
Seeks to "find practical ways to protect the earth and improve people's lives." Features free reports in the areas of climate/energy/transport, governance and access, markets and enterprise, and people and ecosystems.

Academic Centers

Social Enterprise Initiative: Environmental Sustainability.
Harvard Business School.
A list of HBS faculty authored books, articles, cases and courses related to environmental sustainability.

Center for Sustainable Enterprise
University of North Carolina. Kenan-Flagler Business School.
Free registration is required to view MBA white papers, faculty articles and the center's newsletter.

Erb Institute for Global Sustainable Enterprise
University of Michigan.
Articles and working papers are available on the site

Consultants

Environment and Sustainability.
GBN: Global Business Network
This consulting company offers environment related papers.

Climate Change Special Initiative
McKinsey & Company
Several reports are available including analysis of costs of reducing emissions.

SustainAbility
A consulting firm providing many reports and articles.

Social Enterprise

Nonprofit Board Governance

Social Enterprise Initiative: Nonprofit Board Governance
Harvard Business School
A list of HBS faculty books, articles, and cases.

Business Source Complete (HBS intranet and authorized Baker visitors)
Find articles on leadership, functions, strategies, and other areas related to nonprofit board governance. Select a link below to view sample search result:

Directors Database (HBS intranet)
Identify directors of corporations and the boards on which they serve. Use the Search Tool tab to create lists of directors based on board membership.
Tip: In the Select By column choose Director's Private & Non-Profit Boards then type in a name or organization, e.g., Red Cross.

GuideStar Premium (HU PIN and Authorized Baker Visitors)
Information about the missions, programs, and finances of IRS-recognized non-profit organizations. One can search by the organization to see a list of board members or search by person.

Websites

boardnetUSA
Enables organizations to identify potential board members and individuals to identify leadership opportunities. Free registration required.

Boardsource - Knowledge Center
A gateway to a variety of sources of information addressing nonprofit governance including papers, articles, and Q&As. Some content is for members only.
For items published by BoardSource see HOLLIS Catalog search results for publisher = boardsource.

Nonprofit Boards and Governance Review
A monthly publication by Charity Cannel.com. Provides articles on key issues, challenges, strategies and practices of nonprofit board of governance, such as "Partnering for High Impact." and "Highlights from the BoardSource Report: The Nonprofit Governance 2007 Index."

Social Enterprise

Nonprofit Strategy, Management, and Performance

Research and Publications

Social Enterprise Initiative: Nonprofit Strategy, Management, and Performance
Harvard Business School
List of HBS faculty books, articles, and cases.

Hauser Center for Nonprofit Organizations - Publications
Harvard Kennedy School of Government
Working papers, teaching cases, newsletters, and book recommendations. Also, links to related resources and events calendar.

Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly
Jossey-Bass, published quarterly
Research, discussion, and analysis for understanding the impact the nonprofit sector has on society.

Nonprofit Management & Leadership
Jossey-Bass, published quarterly
Articles to educate managers and leaders of nonprofit organizations.

The NonProfit Times
Davis Information Group, published 22 times annually
In print in Baker Library. Stamps Reading Room -- Current Periodicals
The web site includes some articles on nonprofit management issues, the current issue of Exempt Magazine a jobs board, Resource Directory for businesses that sell to the nonprofit sector, free eNewletters, and the current NPT Top 100, an annual ranking of America's largest nonprofits.

Stanford Social Innovation Review
Stanford Graduate School of Business, published quarterly
Articles for leaders in nonprofit management, corporate social responsibility, social entrepreneurship, and philanthropy. The www.ssireview.org website includes a blog, Ask an Expert Q & A, and podcasts.

How To... Resources

MCN - Info Central
Minnesota Council of Nonprofits
Management, fundraising, and legal resources. Topics include starting a nonprofit, governance, transparency and accountability, fundraising, financial management, human resources, civic engagement and public policy, evaluation, information technology, and mission and values.

Center for What Works
Benchmarking tools and documents on improving and measuring nonprofit performance.

CharityChannel
Discussion lists, eNewsletters, file sharing, book reviews, and continuing education opportunities for professionals in the nonprofit sector. Subscription fee suggested for extensive users.

Free Management Library
Articles on nonprofit management from Authenticity Consulting LLC. Topics include boards of directors, finances, leadership, and evaluation. Citations for recommended reading are included.

Nonprofit Manager's Resource Directory
In print in Baker Library. Stamps Reading Room -- Ref. AS911.A2 L36 2002
Directory of management resources. Includes searchable database of resource providers on CD-ROM.

Organizations

Urban Institute - Nonprofits
Research and data analysis aimed at improving social, civic, and economic well-being. Browse publications on nonprofits or search for keywords - e.g., nonprofit almanac (for the annual statistical profile) or nonprofit governance.

The Bridgespan Group - Knowledge
Freely available selection of this consulting group's research and links to other nonprofit research resources.

Center for Effective Philanthropy
Research publications and assesment tools for improving management and governance.

CompassPoint - Research & Publications
Free research on nonprofit management and strategy.

Social Enterprise

Social Entrepreneurship

Social Enterprise Initiative: Social Entrepreneurship
Harvard Business School
A list of HBS faculty books, articles, and cases.

Definition

"Changing the world on a shoestring: The concept of social entrepreneurship."
(HU PIN and authorized Baker visitors)
Roberts, Dave; Woods, Christine. University of Auckland Business Review, Autumn 2005, Vol. 7 Issue 1, p45-51, 7p.

"Social entrepreneurship: a different model?"
(HU PIN and authorized Baker visitors)
Spear, Roger. International Journal of Social Economics, 2006, Vol. 33 Issue 5/6, p399-410, 12p.

Business models

Business Source Complete (HU PIN and authorized Baker visitors)
Find surveys and articles on the development and trend of social entrepreneurship from academic and trade publications.
Tip: Use keywords such as: trend, strategy, business models, financing, funding, etc. You may combine any of those keywords with the phrase: social entrepreneurship, social entrepreneur, or social enterprise.

For more resources, use the Business Plans section in Entrepreneurship research guide.

Investors, partners, and competitors

OneSource Global Business Browser (HBS intranet and authorized Baker visitors)
Find company and industry information including profiles, financials, M&A deals, latest developments, analyst reports, and more.
Tip: To start a search, select Advanced under the Companies tag.

VentureXpert Web (HBS intranet)
Screening for potential investors.
Tip: See "How can I use VentureXpert to create a list of firms investing in an industry or sector?" for search instruction.

Directories
This Web page of the Social Enterprise Alliance provides searchable directory of social enterprises.

Venture Philanthropy
This Web page of the National Venture Capital Association provides list of venture capital resources.

Websites

Acumen Fund
A non-profit global venture fund that supports entrepreneurial approaches to solving the problems of health, housing, and water.

America Forward
Organized by New Profit Inc., includes more than 60 results-oriented, entrepreneurial nonprofit organizations with programs operating in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

Ashoka
Invests in and supports social entrepreneurs financially and professionally.

Draper Richards Foundation
Provides funding and business mentoring to social entrepreneurs.

New Profit Inc.
Provides multi-year financial and strategic support to a portfolio of social entrepreneurs working in education, youth development, workforce development, and other areas. The web site includes field-building publications, case studies and other information to support the efforts of social entrepreneurs.

Pop!Tech
Poptech is a conference, a community of remarkable people, and an ongoing conversation about science, technology and the future of ideas. It is led by curator, Andrew Zolli, an expert in global foresight and innovation. Zolli studies the complex trends at the intersection of technology, sustainability and global society that are shaping our future. He is widely recognized as a writer, thinker, commentator and speaker on futures-related topics.

The Schwab Foundation for Social Entrepreneurship
Supports social entrepreneurs through events, research, and work with academic institutions. Free reports are available.

Social Enterprise

Strategic Philanthropy and Social Capital Markets

Directories of Nonprofits

GuideStar Premium
(HU PIN and Authorized Baker Visitors)
Information about the missions, programs, and finances of IRS-recognized non-profit organizations, including public charities, private foundations and nonprofit trade associations. Grant activity, Form 990S, lists of board members and executives are available. The premium version has enhanced search options and descriptions compared to the free web version.

Great Nonprofits
Highlights local and lesser known nonprofits. Published by former editors of the Stanford Social Innovation Review. Features reviews by people who are served by, or volunteer for, the nonprofits.

Charity Navigator
Evaluates the financial health of America's largest charities.

Research

Handbook of the Economics of Giving, Altruism and Reciprocity
(HU PIN or authorized Baker Visitor)
Elsevier, 2006
Gives theoretical grounding in areas such as altruism, taxation and policy, and international aid.

Nonprofit Academic Centers Council
A membership association comprised of academic centers or programs at accredited colleges and universities that focus on the study of nonprofit organizations, voluntarism and/or philanthropy. The Web site includes a directory of member organizations.

Social Enterprise Initiative: Strategic Philanthropy and Social Capital Markets
Harvard Business School
A list of HBS faculty books, articles, working papers and cases.

The Center on Philanthropy at Indiana University
One of the best known academic centers on philanthropy. Includes research reports and statistics on giving.

Publications

Chronicle of Philanthropy
Published biweekly
News and analysis of developments in the area of philanthropy.

Business Week: Philanthropy Table of Contents
November 26, 2007
A special section on philanthropy including articles on corporate and individual giving.

Global Giving Matters
A newsletter on best practices and innovations in philanthropy and social investment. It is produced jointly by Synergos and the World Economic Forum for members of WEF and the Global Philanthropists Circle.

Global Philanthropy
Financial Times and King Baudouin Foundation, December 10, 2007
Articles, reports and case studies from the Financial Times.

Philanthropy Journal
A. J. Fletcher Foundation
A free eZine on philanthropy issues.

The Slate 60: Analysis of The Year's Biggest Philanthropists.
Slate, February 11, 2008
Several articles on big ticket donations, plus an interactive database of the largest donors and recipients.

The Wealth Report - Philanthropy
Wall Street Journal
A blog devoted to philanthropy by Robert Frank or the Journal staff.

Affinity Organizations and Consultants

American Institute of Philanthropy
An organization that is involved with accountability of charities. Information on its rating system and articles on effective philanthropy are available for free on the Web site, but the actual ratings and descriptions are only available to members.

Center for an Effective Philanthropy
Publications, tools and conferences aimed at improving foundation performance.

Foundation Center
The organization serves foundations and those seeking funding. It includes articles on philanthropy and a search engine that retrieves links to foundations' form 990s.

FSG Social Impact Advisors
A nonprofit organization dedicated to accelerating social progress by advancing the practice of philanthropy and corporate social responsibility. In the Ideas section, see the categories of "Corporate Philanthropy" and "Mission Investment".

Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors
Nonprofit consultants to donors. Site includes numerous articles on making donations effective.

Committee Encouraging Corporate Philanthropy
The Web site has aggregate data on corporate giving plus several newsletters.

Statistics on Philanthropy

Giving USA
American Association of Fund-Raising Counsel, published annually
Ref. AS 911 .G45 In print in Baker Library
Compendium of statistics on various aspects of American philanthropy.

Chronicle of Philanthropy: Facts & Figures
Includes data on donors, charities & foundations, corporate donations and CEO compenation.

National Center for Charitable Statistics
Urban Institute
Includes statistics on the nonprofit sector, a database of nonprofits, and help for nonprofits on filing 990s. Registration is necessary to access the most detailed data.


Baker Library | Bloomberg Center, Harvard Business School, Soldiers Field, Boston, MA 02163, 617-495-6040