Baker Library | Bloomberg Center

Social Enterprise

Environmental Sustainability


The resources on this page focus on how enterprises and markets can contribute to environmental sustainability.

News and Articles

SustainableBusiness.com
Features news on sustainable business, a jobs board and database of companies.

Energy and Environment Daily
(HU PIN or authorized Baker visitor)
Attempts to cover everything that happens on Capitol Hill that relates to environmental and energy policy, including: hearings, schedules, appropriations, legislative status, and related documents. Includes a searchable archive of stories since 1996.

Greenwire
(HU PIN or authorized Baker visitor)
Published weekdays, synthesizes news from a variety of sources on environmental issues.

SSRN: Journal of Environmental Impacts of Business
(HU PIN or authorized Baker visitor)
Working papers from many institutions.

Technology

Centre for Science and Environment
Aims to increase public awareness on science, technology, environment and development; a good source for information on sustainable business and environment issues in India.

Industrial Technologies Program
U.S. Department of Energy. Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
The Industrial Technologies Program works with U.S. industry to improve industrial energy efficiency and environmental performance. The website includes information on different technologies, especially for energy intensive industries such as metals, chemicals and petroleum refining, and information on programs.

SciDevNet
Science and Development Network
Provides information on how technology can aid economic development. Among the portfolios are climate change and biodiversity, as well as information targeted to specific regions.

Organizations

Aspen Institute Business and Society program (BSP)
BSP promotes dialogues and path-breaking research ultimately creating opportunities for executives and educators to explore new pathways to sustainability and values-based leadership. BSP's websites, www.CasePlace.org and www.beyondgreypinstripes.org, are the leading sources of innovative curriculum in top business schools around the world.

Pew Center on Global Climate Change
Good analysis on climate change and reports on corporate strategies that address climate change.

Division of Technology, Industry, and Economics
United Nations Environment Programme
Offers reports and tools in the areas of sustainable consumption and production, energy, ozone depletion, chemicals, environmental technology, business partnerships, and urban environments.

Green Business Network
Co-op America
Membership organization of "green businesses." Offers information on environmentally conscious consumers.

Ceres: Investors and Environmentalists for Sustainable Prosperity
A national network of investors, environmental organizations and other public interest groups working with companies and investors to address sustainability challenges such as global climate change. Includes news and reports on various issues.

International Institute for Sustainable Development
Promotes sustainable development through partnerships and research. Provides news, reports, and free downloadable publications covering various themes. RSS subscription is available.

World Business Council for Sustainable Development
Case studies and reports in the areas of Energy & Climate, Development, Business Role, Ecosystems. Includes a database of patents that have been donated to enable the world community to reduce waste, pollution, global warming, and energy demands.

World Resources Institute
Seeks to "find practical ways to protect the earth and improve people's lives." Features free reports in the areas of climate/energy/transport, governance and access, markets and enterprise, and people and ecosystems.

Academic Centers

Social Enterprise Initiative: Environmental Sustainability.
Harvard Business School.
A list of HBS faculty authored books, articles, cases and courses related to environmental sustainability.

Center for Sustainable Enterprise
University of North Carolina. Kenan-Flagler Business School.
Free registration is required to view MBA white papers, faculty articles and the center's newsletter.

Erb Institute for Global Sustainable Enterprise
University of Michigan.
Articles and working papers are available on the site

Consultants

Environment and Sustainability.
GBN: Global Business Network
This consulting company offers environment related papers.

Climate Change Special Initiative
McKinsey & Company
Several reports are available including analysis of costs of reducing emissions.

SustainAbility
A consulting firm providing many reports and articles.


Baker Library | Bloomberg Center, Harvard Business School, Soldiers Field, Boston, MA 02163, 617-495-6040