Social Enterprise
Social Entrepreneurship
Social Enterprise Initiative: Social Entrepreneurship
Harvard Business School
A list of HBS faculty books, articles, and cases.
Definition
"Changing the world on a shoestring: The concept of social entrepreneurship."
(HU PIN and authorized Baker visitors)
Roberts, Dave; Woods, Christine. University of Auckland Business Review, Autumn 2005, Vol. 7 Issue 1, p45-51, 7p.
"Social entrepreneurship: a different model?"
(HU PIN and authorized Baker visitors)
Spear, Roger. International Journal of Social Economics, 2006, Vol. 33 Issue 5/6, p399-410, 12p.
Business models
Business Source Complete (HU PIN and authorized Baker visitors)
Find surveys and articles on the development and trend of social entrepreneurship from academic and trade publications.
Tip: Use keywords such as: trend, strategy, business models, financing, funding, etc. You may combine any of those keywords with the phrase: social entrepreneurship, social entrepreneur, or social enterprise.
For more resources, use the Business Plans section in Entrepreneurship research guide.
Investors, partners, and competitors
OneSource Global Business Browser (HBS intranet and authorized Baker visitors)
Find company and industry information including profiles, financials, M&A deals, latest developments, analyst reports, and more.
Tip: To start a search, select Advanced under the Companies tag.
VentureXpert Web (HBS intranet)
Screening for potential investors.
Tip: See "How can I use VentureXpert to create a list of firms investing in an industry or sector?" for search instruction.
Directories
This Web page of the Social Enterprise Alliance provides searchable directory of social enterprises.
Venture Philanthropy
This Web page of the National Venture Capital Association provides list of venture capital resources.
Websites
Acumen Fund
A non-profit global venture fund that supports entrepreneurial approaches to solving the problems of health, housing, and water.
America Forward
Organized by New Profit Inc., includes more than 60 results-oriented, entrepreneurial nonprofit organizations with programs operating in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.
Ashoka
Invests in and supports social entrepreneurs financially and professionally.
Draper Richards Foundation
Provides funding and business mentoring to social entrepreneurs.
New Profit Inc.
Provides multi-year financial and strategic support to a portfolio of social entrepreneurs working in education, youth development, workforce development, and other areas. The web site includes field-building publications, case studies and other information to support the efforts of social entrepreneurs.
Pop!Tech
Poptech is a conference, a community of remarkable people, and an ongoing conversation about science, technology and the future of ideas. It is led by curator, Andrew Zolli, an expert in global foresight and innovation. Zolli studies the complex trends at the intersection of technology, sustainability and global society that are shaping our future. He is widely recognized as a writer, thinker, commentator and speaker on futures-related topics.
The Schwab Foundation for Social Entrepreneurship
Supports social entrepreneurs through events, research, and work with academic institutions. Free reports are available.
