Baker Library | Bloomberg Center

Social Enterprise

Education (Management & Leadership)

Research and Publications

Social Enterprise Initiative: Education
Harvard Business School
A list of HBS faculty books, articles, and cases.

CASE: Council for Advancement and Support of Education
Includes a browsable library of articles, conference presentations, award-winning practices, and available books and e-media resources, as well as resources for career development and the latest issue of the Case newsletter, "Currents".

FSG - Ideas
The "Ideas" section has a category for education and includes a paper from Ernst & Young on how corporations can help transform public education.

Education & the Workforce
Business Roundtable Includes white papers on improving the education system in order to increase the skill level of the American workforce.

Education Management Administration & Leadership
Sage Publications, published quarterly
British academic journal.

Public Education Leadership Project at Harvard University
A joint program between Harvard Business School and Harvard Graduate School of Education to create and disseminate knowledge about how to manage urban school districts. Includes a description of the PELP coherence framework and a list of HBS cases associated with the program.

U.S. Charter Schools
Provides a wide range of information and links to resources to guide charter schools in every phase of their development from start-up, to expansion, to renewal.

Directory Information

GuideStar
Offers brief reports on charities. Form 990s are available to doners, grantmakers and businesses with free registration.

Search for Public Schools
U.S. Department of Education
Provides a directory of public schools in the U.S. that is searchable by name, location, school type and grade span.

Search for Private Schools
U.S. Dept. of Education
Provides a directory of private schools in the U.S. that is searchable by name, location, school type, religious affiliation, association membership, number of students and grade span.

Statistics

Digest of Education Statistics
U.S. Department of Education
Compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school.

Public Elementary-Secondary Education Finance Data
U.S. Census Bureau
Links to education finance data including revenues, expenditures, debt, and assets (cash and security holdings) of elementary and secondary public school systems. Statistics cover all states, including the District of Columbia, and are available on an annual basis. File formats for downloadable data may vary by year.

UNESCO
Initiatives and information with themes including early childhood, primary education, secondary, technical & science education, higher education, and literacy etc.

SchoolDataDirect
Detailed education information and analysis for public schools, school districts, and state education systems, including: student proficiency on statewide reading and math tests, financial data, revenue streams, new fund allocations, staff compensation, and long-term debt. Provides student and community demographic data such as income levels, property values, educational attainment levels, and population information.

Technology

Gartner Online Information Resources
Offers information technology-related research, news, analysis, and trends. Includes analysis of how technology affects education with an emphasis on education policy, education regulation, higher education systems, K-12 education systems.

Digital Directions
Education Week, September 12, 2007
Newsletter from Education Week focusing on how technology affects education.


Baker Library | Bloomberg Center, Harvard Business School, Soldiers Field, Boston, MA 02163, 617-495-6040