Social Enterprise
Corporate Responsibility
Research and Publications
Social Enterprise Initiative: Corporate Responsibility
Harvard Business School
A list of HBS faculty books, articles, and cases.
Business Ethics Quarterly
Society for Business Ethics, published quarterly
Peer reviewed articles on internal ethics of business organizations, the role of business organizations in larger social, political and cultural frameworks, and the ethical quality of market-based societies and market-based relationships.
Center for Responsible Business
Haas School of Business, University of California Berkeley
This Web site includes working papers, information on conferences and a blog on socially responsible investing (SRI).
Conference Board
(HU PIN and authorized Baker visitors)
A database of reports in the areas of corporate contributions, business and education, sustainability and community relations.
CRO: Corporate Responsibility Officer
CRO Corp, published monthly
Trade journal that covers business ethics, communications, compliance and governance, environment, socially responsible investing and other related topics. Includes Ranking of Best Corporate Citizens.
Forbes.com Special Report: Corporate Social Responsibility October 16, 2008
Special report includes several articles representing different points of view of CSR.
Fuqua/Coach K Center of Leadership & Ethics (COLE)
Fuqua School of Business. Duke University.
The center "strives to influence the way students, academics, corporations, governments, and non-profits think about and practice business leadership and ethics in the 21st century." The web site includes syllabi, descriptions of cases, white papers and links to other resources.
Journal of Corporate Citizenship
Greenleaf Publishing, published monthly
Articles that integrate the theory & practice of corporate responsibility.
Company Information and Socially Conscious Investing
Socrates (HBS Intranet)
KDL
Rates companies for strengths and concerns regarding the issues of community (charitable donations), corporate governance, diversity, employee relations, environment, human rights, and products.
Corporate Watch
AFL-CIO
Specific company information is available on executive pay and proxy issues. Also provides background information on labor related issues.
Social Investment Forum
Provides background information on socially conscious investing and gives information on the performance of socially conscious mutual funds.
ResponsibleInvesting.org
Natural Capital Institute
Screen for socially conscious investment funds and the companies in which they invest.
Current Issues
There are many organizations that focus on one or more issues related to corporate responsibility. Several are listed here. Refer also to the Environmental Sustainability section of this guide and the separate guide on Corporate Governance.
BSR: Business for Social Responsibility
Membership organization that promotes corporate social responsibility. Detailed reports on a variety of issues are available
Caux Round Table
An "international network of principled business leaders working to promote a moral capitalism." The Web site includes publications and white papers on ethical capitalism.
CEOs for Cities
Fosters partnerships among city leaders, business, and academic and cultural institutions. Research reports are available.
International Business Leaders Forum
Works with business, governments and civil society to enhance the contribution that companies can make to sustainable development. The Web site includes publications about their initiative areas as well as examples of public-private partnerships.
Social Venture Network(SVN)
A nonprofit network committed to building a just and sustainable world through business, SVN's web site contains suggested books related to socially responsible business, tools and best practices, a survey to help businesses asses their performance in the areas of environment, employees, consumers, community and leadership and a list of web sites for job seekers and employers interested in "mission driven organizations."
