A great starting place for research on social enterprise; this guide points to the best resources available to the HBS community.Expand/Collapse All
- Overviews and Analysis
Provides CSR ratings and enables benchmarking on approximately 5000 companies across 65 countries and 135 industries.
Doeringer, Mathew F. Fostering Social Enterprise: A Historical and International Analysis," Duke Journal of Comparative & International Law, Vol. 20, No. 2, pp. 291-329, 2010
Stanford Social Innovation Review
Check Harvard availability
Journal targets leaders in nonprofit management, corporate social responsibility, social entrepreneurship, and philanthropy.
- Governance and Leadership
Social Enterprise Initiative: Corporate Responsibility
A list of HBS faculty books, articles, and cases that focus on corporate responsibility.
Boardsource- Knowledge Center
A gateway to a variety of sources of information addressing nonprofit governance including papers, articles, and Q&As. Some content is for members only. Check Harvard availability of BoardSource publications.
CRO: Corporate Responsibility Officer
Check Harvard availability
Trade journal covers business ethics, communications, compliance and governance, environment, socially responsible investing and other related topics. Web site includes Ranking of Best Corporate Citizens.
Leader to Leader Institute
A foundation whose goal is to provide support and resources to leaders in the social sector. The Knowledge Center features research and recent publications from the institute.
More sites selected by HBS librarians and shared on Diigo.
- Management and Performance
Social Enterprise Initiative: Nonprofit Strategy, Management, and Performance
List of HBS faculty books, articles, and cases that focus on nonprofit management and performance measurement.
Hauser Center for Nonprofit Organizations at Harvard University
Working papers, teaching cases, newsletters, and book recommendations. Also, includes links to related resources and an events calendar.
Monitoring and Evaluation News
Specific to international development organizations with a social development focus, this resource provides access to news on measuring and evaluating the performance of an organization.
Urban Institute's Outcome Indicators Project
This resource provides nonprofits with resources to assist in developing and improving performance measurement systems within their organizations.
- Social Entrepreneurship
Social Enterprise Initiative: Social Entrepreneurship
A list of HBS faculty books, articles, and cases on social entrepreneurship.
The Schwab Foundation for Social Entrepreneurship
Supports social entrepreneurs through events, research, and work with academic institutions. Free reports are available.
Social Enterprise Alliance
Provides links to news, events and resources. The site also includes directories of social enterprise cases, organizations, and speakers.
National Venture Capital Association provides list of venture capital resources, news and statistics.
- Social Investing
Global Impact Investing Network
Dedicated to increasing the effectiveness of impact investing, the web site provides research reports, news and job postings related to topics involving impact investing.
Described in the tag line as "the largest personal finance site devoted to socially responsible investing," the web site provides guides on mutual funds and community investing, as well as news, book reviews, and interviews related to social investing.
The Forum for Sustainable and Responsible Investment (US SIF)
A membership association for professionals, firms, institutions and organizations engaged in socially responsible and sustainable investing. Site includes analysis of trends in socially responsible investing and comparisons of the finanical performance of socially responsible mutual funds.
sam Sustainability Investing
An asset management company that specializes in sustainability, publishes the SAM Investment Yearbook, and studies on clean tech and water.
- Strategic Philanthropy
Chronicle of Philanthropy
Our subscription to the online product includes access to articles, a jobs section, and interactive features. A Facts and Figures section includes data on donors, charities & foundations, corporate donations and CEO compensation.
Check Harvard availability
Ref. AS 911 .G45 in Stamps Reading Room
Compendium of statistics on various aspects of American philanthropy.
Information about the mission, programs, leadership and finances of IRS-recognized non-profit organizations. One can search by the field of endeavor, organization, and people.
National Center for Charitable Statistics
Includes statistics on the nonprofit sector, a database of nonprofits, and help for nonprofits on filing 990s. Registration is necessary to access the most detailed data.
Social Enterprise Initiative: Philanthropy and Funding
A list of HBS faculty books, articles, working papers and cases that focus on strategic philanthropy and social capital markets.
The Slate 60: Analysis of The Year's Biggest Philanthropists.
Several articles on big ticket donations, plus an interactive database of the largest donors and recipients.
- Careers, Associations and Events
HBS MBA students please see MBA Career & Professional Development.
HBS Alumni please see Alumni Career & Professional Development.
HBS Social Enterprise Initiative- Careers and Recruiting
A list of resources to help identify career and internship opportunities.
Alliance for Nonprofit Management
A professional association that helps to develop and improve management and governance of nonprofit organizations. The Resource Library has resources on topics such as capacity building, diversity, cultural competency, and business planning.