A great starting place for research on the retail industry; this guide points to the best resources available to the HBS community.Expand/Collapse All
- Overviews and Analysis
Research from Deloitte's Retail & Consumer practice.
Includes the annual State Of Retailing.
Provides statistics, market reports, and demographic & consumer data relevant to retail. To navigate to retail, select "Industries" then "Services - Retailing."
Comprehensive market research reports covering retailing & apparel.
Provides data useful for understanding the growth and impact of the Internet on industries, especially multichannel retail.
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
S&P provides both a "Retailing - General" and a "Retailing - Special" industry overview from the Industry Survey drop-down menu.
Retail Business Market Research Handbook
Provides a market overview, market summary and market leaders as well as consumer demographics and retail sector analysis.
Directory of Department Stores
Ref. HF 5465.U4 D47 in the Stamps Reading Room
Lists department store chains, plus single stores and mail order firms with annual sales over $250,000. Provides contact information, key personnel, store information, and sales and operating details. Includes some statistical breakdowns of sales and rankings of top chains. Main listings are arranged by state, with indexes by product line, catalog, and company name.
Directory of Discount Stores & Specialty Retailers
Ref. HF 5429.215.U6 D58 in the Stamps Reading Room
Directory of discount and specialty stores and key executives.
Plunkett's Retail Industry Almanac
Ref. HF 5429.3 .P57 in the Stamps Reading Room
Annual publication with industry trends and statistics, and company profiles.
STORES Top 100 Lists
Features Top 100 Retailers, 100 Fastest Growing Retailers, Top 250 Global Retailers.
Internet Retailer: Top 500 Guide
Ranking of the top 500 ecommerce sites based on annual sales. Also includes analysis and additional market data.
- Careers, Associations and Events
Not as powerful a search engine as some job sites, but it is focused on retail and is fairly current.
Vault Industry Overviews
Use "Industry Research" to find an overview for retail industry. Use the "Companies" tab to see company snapshots, employer profiles and employee surveys.
American Wholesale Marketers Association (AWMA)
Lists the organization contacts, activities, and publications such as state of the industry reports (free for members).
Retail Industry Leaders Association (RILA)
Gives position papers and research in the areas of asset protection, finance, human resources, supply chain, sustainability and government affairs.
National Retail Federation (NRF)
Represents state and national associations as well as large and small corporate members. Its Web site offers industry news, trends and statistics, directories, links to retailing resources on the Web, information on hot topics and government affairs.
National Retail Federation Calendar of Events
Conferences and committee meetings around the US.
Retail Industry Leaders Association Education and Networking Events
List of conferences and seminars sponsored by RILA.
Retail Trade International
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HF 5429 .R47 in the Stamps Reading Room
Developments, forecasts, labor indicators, and statistics in food and nonfood. Arranged by region then by country. Current reports and data are also in Passport.
Internet Retailer: Top 500 Guide
Profiles and statistics of top ranked ecommerce sites.
U.S. Census Bureau: Retail Trade
Provides the industry monthly sales and inventory data, annual survey data from the past ten-plus years, and detailed county-by-county data for every state in the U.S.
- News and Journals
Chain Store Age
A leading trade journal of the retail industry. Their website includes news, the current issue, industry data, and their annual "State of the Industry" and "Top 100" list. Use the HOLLIS link for back issues.
Journal of Retailing
Theoretical and empirical research on retailing. Focus is on operations management and technology.
MMR: The Newspaper for Drug, Discount, and Supermarket Chains
News, opinion, features, financial highlights, profiles, and statistics on the industry.
The well known apparel trade magazine, also covers retail extensively.
- Luxury Goods
Select "Luxury Goods" from the Industries menu. Then filter by country, type of report, or sub-category.
Search using "luxury" and "affluent" for reports covering the US, UK, and Canada.
Bain's Luxury Goods Worldwide Market Study
Annual report from Bain & Co.
Find industry analyst reports on the luxury market. Go to Screenings & Analysis, then Research. Search "luxury" in the title of the report. Expand date beyond Last 90 Days, and make sure you are searching Industry rather than Company analyst reports.
News in luxury marketing.