Real Estate Industry
Company Directories & Rankings
Directory of Real Estate Centers
List of real estate centers compiled by the University of Cincinnati.
The Directory for the Relocation Marketplace
Worldwide ERC, published annually. In print in Baker Library.
Ref. HD 255 .W67
Directory of appraisers and real estate brokers serving the relocation marketplace listed by the locations they have offices in and serve. Primarily United States and Canada.
Pensions and Investments Online Real Estate Manager
Ranks real estate asset managers by various criteria.
Real Estate: The Local Global Economy
Ernst and Young, 2003. In print in Baker Library.
Ref. HD 1382.5 .R33
A guide to selected Real Estate Markets around the World organized by country.
Rebuz
Commercial real estate directory, real estate research, jobs, and news.
SIOR Membership Directory
Society of Industrial and Office Realtors, published annually. In print in Baker Library
Ref. HD251.S6
Listings are grouped geographically and include associate and retired members.
U.S. Real Estate Register
Barry, published annually. In print in Baker Library
Ref. HD1361.U52
Lists managers of real estate, company profiles, a property digest section, and a general classification section. Also see their Web site
Real Estate Industry
Trade Journals
Buildings.com
An online magazine with articles on people in the industry, trends, and transactions.
Globe Street
Provides daily reports on transactions, developments, and people in the news in all aspects of the real estate industry.
Journal of Property Management
Institute of Real Estate Management, published bimonthly
Covers management, leasing, and renovation of some of the nation's largest commercial and multifamily properties.
National Real Estate Investor
Communication Channels, Inc., published monthly
The publication covers news and articles in the areas of construction, development, finance, investment, and management.
Real Estate Issues
American Society of Real Estate Counselors, published quarterly
For practitioners in commercial real estate; editorial focuses on practical applications and applied theory.
Real Estate Portfolio
National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts (NAREIT), published bimonthly
Analysis and commentary on development and the capital markets for REITs and the publicly traded real estate industry. Their Web site has most recent issue and back issues.
Real Estate Industry
Associations & Organizations
American Real Estate Society (ARES)
For real estate professionals, researchers, and professors. Site has access to online versions of their publications.
International Real Estate Federation
Site provides information on the international real estate market.
National Association of Industrial and Office Properties (NAIOP)
For developers and owners of industrial, office, and related commercial real estate throughout North America. Has comprehensive information on careers, the industry, government affairs, forums, and conferences.
National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts (NAREIT)
Produces the global and domestic indices for publicly owned real estate. The national trade association for REITs and publicly traded real estate companies.
National Association of Realtors (NAR)
Topical sections include government affairs, research, law and policy, technology, and education.
National Council of Real Estate Fiduciaries (NCREIF)
Produces the NCREIF Property Index (NPI), used as an industry benchmark to compare an investor's own returns against the industry average. Members include investment managers, plan sponsors, academics, consultants, appraisers, and CPAs.
Society of Industrial and Office Realtors
Information on the global activities of professionals in industrial and office real estate.
Urban Land Institute (ULI)
Initiates research and proposes solutions on emerging land use trends and issues.
Real Estate Industry
Statistics & Analysis
Bloomberg Financial Markets
(Dedicated library workstation)
To access the Real Estate page select the yellow Equity key, then #6 Real Estate from the menu screen. To access mortgage information, select the yellow MTGE key.
Tip:
For additional instruction use the Bloomberg Help Sheet.
CB Richard Ellis Research Centre
Briefings and reviews of real estate markets worldwide.
Tip:Free registration that includes an email confirmation is required before reports can be viewed.
Economic Census
U.S. Census Bureau
The most recent government statistics and reports on construction, and housing.
Tip:
Scan the Subjects A-Z Index for comprehensive data on a variety of topics.
Emerging Trends in Real Estate
The Urban Land Institute (ULI) and PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, published annually. In print in Baker Library.
Ref. HD1361.E44
Review of emerging real estate trends.
Ernst & Young: Real Estate, Hospitality & Construction
Includes reports on trends in housing and real estate markets.
Global Real Estate Forecast
Grubb & Ellis/Knight Frank, published annually. Also in print in Baker Library.
Ref. HD1390.G56
Provides an overview of the worlds major property markets. Regional tables rank the strength of local markets, taking into account economic, demographic and property information.
International Real Estate Finance Yearbook
Euromoney Institutional Investor, published annually. In print in Baker Library.
Ref. HD1361.I58
Survey of international real estate trends.
The Mortgage Market Statistical Annual
Financial World Publications, published annually. In print in Baker Library.
Ref. HG4655.M67
Statistical data on the mortgage and asset securities marketplace. Volume I covers the primary market on originations, purchases, and sales. Volume II covers mortgage-related securities markets.
Shorter Encyclopedia of Real Estate Terms
Delta Alpha, 2004. In print in Baker Library.
Ref. HD1365.A233
Comprehensive reference book on real estate that includes a dictionary, thesaurus, and encyclopedia. Coverage of all aspects of real estate and areas related to real estate such as appraisal, finance, law, surveying, valuation, and zoning.
Real Estate Industry
Careers & Networking
MBA Career Services—Real Estate
Harvard Business School
Resources specially designed for HBS students to help conduct effective career research.
Real-Jobs
For commercial real estate positions in sales, management, and communications. Free registration allows user to search the jobs database and post a job or resume.
Vault Guide to Real Estate Careers
Vault Online Career Library
Select the Download Guides or Industry Research tabs, and then choose Real Estate.
WetFeet Insider Guide to Careers in Real Estate
Wet Feet, published irregularly. In print in Baker Library.
Career HD1375 .W42
Designed to provide current and comprehensive information from the job seeker's perspective on the realities of working in real estate.